Thursday, August 30, 2012

Over You by Emma McLaughin & Nicola Kraus


Hardcover: 304 pages
Published: August 21st 2012

Publisher: HarperTeen 
ISBN13: 9780061720444
Received: ARC from Publisher
Series: Standalone
Challenge: 2012 Goodreads Challenge
After the grand explosion of her relationship, seventeen-year-old Max Scott developed what every girl in the history of the world has been waiting for: a way to get over being dumped. Now Max is the go-to guru for heartbroken high-school girls all over NYC. But when her ex unexpectedly shows up in her neighborhood, Max’s carefully controlled world starts to unravel. With her clients’ hearts hanging in the balance, Max will have to do the seemingly impossible: get over him once and for all.Brilliant at bringing humor to the trials and tribulations of the lovestruck, #1 New York Times bestselling authors Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus have crafted a tale that will resonate with any girl who has ever been in love or had her heart broken. It brims with smart observations, features a pitch-perfect teen voice, and will attract fans of Jenny Han, Sarah Mlynowski, and Lauren Barnholdt. Readers are sure to fall head-over-heels for this sharp spin on breaking up, making up, and getting even.

Monday, August 27, 2012

Q&A With Between The Pages: Featuring Books With Cass

As you all know Between The Pages has decided to start doing Book Blogger Interviews. I ran this by Cassie, and since she was so nice to listen to me ramble about it, I asked her. & I was so shocked she agreed. *hehe*
But here we go guys.  My very first Blogger Interview & It's Virtual. 
If you are interested in being Interviewed go HERE, and fill out this form! 
Starting today, and then every other week I will be featuring one amazing blogger. 
Please know I will be going down the list as people signed up. If you are on the list to be featured I will email you 2 WEEKS before your date, so we can get everything set up. 

Hope you enjoy!

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Speechless by Hannah Harrington


Paperback: 288 pages
Expected Publication: August 28th 2012
Publisher: HarlequinTeen
ISBN: 0373210523 
ISBN13: 9780373210527
Series: Standalone
Received: Via Netgalley for review
Challenge: 2012 Goodreads Challenge, 2012 YA Contemporary Challenge 
Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can't keep a secret Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she's ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.But there's strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she's done. If only she can forgive herself.

Being head over heels in love with Saving June had me wanting, needing, having to have Speechless. This is one of those times where you can't just love a book because you loved another the same author has written. For me, Speechless was not at all what I was expecting, in both good & bad ways. But what I did not expect was to learn do not give up on a book, because it could turn out to be enjoyable!
Characters; This is important to me, and where I could not fully relate to Chelsea that made it more of a problem in me liking the book. She is very hard to like at first. She cannot keep her mouth shut nor keep her nose out of other people's business. She is best friends with a girl who treats her meanly and says nothing about it because this girl is very popular. No go for me. I like characters who break out of their shell, who have their own minds, and can speak for them selves, not just speak and do things to please others. She was a follower, and that is not something I like. Be yourself always. Your mind is a precious place... use it. 
But then again, Chelsea earned back a little bit of my dislike for her throughout the book. The main character likes to tell things, everything she hears or someone tells her she HAS to tell or it's like she will have a freaking fit. But one day, everything changes. The words that comes out of her mouth changes her life, and almost takes the life of another. After that Chelsea decides to stop with all the "secret telling, and rumor passing" and decides to keep her mouth closed. Becoming Speechless
This is where I started liking Chelsea more and more. Because these are kids, they make mistakes, they learn... sometimes. But when I saw that Chelsea really wanted to change, and was looking for that forgiveness within herself that changed me as a reader. She realized that her "friends" were not actually ever her friends, as they turned on her, and she is left alone. But will Chelsea find that forgiveness she wants so bad, and maybe find friends that accept her for who she is? There are a lot of very like-able side characters!! I really liked the friends she made, and I really didn't like her old, mean, NOT-REAL friends!!! 
Speechless has a great outcome. The story builds into an very enjoyable conclusion. One that I was not expecting. Hannah Harrington to me, still has this way of pulling you into a book. To me the point was to maybe NOT like the character, but then see and understand what she was doing. Which was growing. & for me that happened. 
I think this book would be perfect for High School girls, who are having trouble finding their own path. Sometimes it is ok to not go down the same one as others. 

Friday, August 24, 2012

Between Bookish Time Warp (8)

Between Bookish Time Warp is where Ashley @ The Bookish Brunette & I shamelessly flaunt the other’s awesome all over the blogophere, flash any other super awesome posts, giveaways, or random whatever by other bloggers (or authors!) we’ve come across during the week, and possibly talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday (8/21)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish
Today's Tuesday Topic is;
Top Ten Favorite Books You've Read During The Lifespan Of Your Blog
*Seriously? That's 2 years of awesomeness... *sigh*

THE VAMPIRE BRIDE SERIES; New Cover Reveals

Today I am going to be showing you some amazing cover redo's. This was to be "scheduled" yesterday but ... Blogger decided to not I am guessing. But, that's ok. You all love to see amazing covers any day of the week!

Here are the covers before the makeover:

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Stacking The Shelves (9)

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Friday, August 17, 2012

Between Bookish Time Warp (7)

Between Bookish Time Warp is where Ashley @ The Bookish Brunette & I shamelessly flaunt the other’s awesome all over the blogophere, flash any other super awesome posts, giveaways, or random whatever by other bloggers (or authors!) we’ve come across during the week, and possibly talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

eBook Deals

Hey guys. Here are some great eBook deals that you can fill that Kindle up with.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


Hardcover: 416 pages
Published: August 7th 2012
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children's
Recieved: eGalley via Netgalley | ARC via Alexa
Series: Throne of Glass #1
ISBN: 1599906953 

ISBN13: 9781599906959
After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Let's Talk Covers: WTF Edition (8/16)

Let's talk covers is just a little thing I like to do from time to time to show book covers. Sometimes I might have a theme (ex: Zombies, dresses) And then sometimes I might just have covers I'm really loving right now, or new releases. 

Today I am showing WTF covers.
You know, the covers you see that make you think "WTF" is this.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday (8/14)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish

This week's topic is:

Top Ten Book Romances That You Think Would Make It In The Real World 


Sunday, August 12, 2012

Favorite YA Contemporary Books

Today I am going to be showing you some of my favorite Contemporaries. I will also list some of the ones that I want to read that I own. 

Saturday, August 11, 2012

ARCs For You

I have all these arc's, ones I have read that I need out of my way.

Stacking The Shelves (8)

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Friday, August 10, 2012

Between Bookish Time Warp (6)

Between Bookish Time Warp is where Ashley @ The Bookish Brunette & I shamelessly flaunt the other’s awesome all over the blogophere, flash any other super awesome posts, giveaways, or random whatever by other bloggers (or authors!) we’ve come across during the week, and possibly talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

Book Blogger Hop (8/10-8/16)

Book Blogger Hop



The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Jen @ Crazy-For-Books
This weeks question is:
Who is your go-to author when you are in a reading rut?

Happy Birthday to The Man I Love

Today is my husband's birthday! He's 29 today!! It's so crazy to believe so much time has passed. It just seems so unreal when you take a second and look back. 

Thursday, August 9, 2012

Team Human by Justine Larbalesrier & Sarah Rees Brennan

Hardcover: 352 pages
Published: July 3rd 2012

Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: 0062089641 
ISBN13: 9780062089649
Series: Standalone
Received: ARC from Publisher
Challenge: 2012 Goodreads Challenge
Just because Mel lives in New Whitby, a city founded by vampires, doesn't mean she knows any of the blood-drinking undead personally. They stay in their part of town; she says in hers. Until the day a vampire shows up at her high school. Worse yet, her best friend, Cathy, seems to be falling in love with him. It's up to Mel to save Cathy from a mistake she might regret for all eternityOn top of trying to help Cathy (whether she wants it or not), Mel is investigating a mysterious disappearance for another friend and discovering the attractions of a certain vampire wannabe. Combine all this with a cranky vampire cop, a number of unlikely romantic entanglements, and the occasional zombie, and soon Mel is hip-deep in an adventure that is equal parts hilarious and touching.Acclaimed authors Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan team up to create a witty and poignant story of cool vampires, warm friendships, and the changes that test the bonds of love.

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Between Bookish Time Warp (5)

Between Bookish Time Warp is where Ashley @ The Bookish Brunette & I shamelessly flaunt the other’s awesome all over the blogophere, flash any other super awesome posts, giveaways, or random whatever by other bloggers (or authors!) we’ve come across during the week, and possibly talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs