Friday, June 29, 2012

Married With Zombies Read-A-Long: Week 5


This weeks questions are by

1.) In Chapter 21, David and Sarah venture into a grocery store to try to find some essentials. Show us a picture of the top three items you consider your essentials when you go shopping.
I must have pop tarts, MUST! 
Coffee... or people will get hurt.
& Lysol wipes.. because I am germ a phobic!! 

2.) Sarah and David travel quite a distance to “visit” a family member. Show us a picture of your most recent family vacation. Who did you visit and where did you go?
Camping. 
& I cannot find the pics on this computer. but just imagine... TREES. NATURE... BUGS! ugh.

3.) Sarah refers to David’s sister as the Martha Stewart type because she likes to make things from scratch. Show us a picture a hobby or home project you get enthusiastic about making/doing.
I am very DIY! Pinterest is my best friend!! 
I have make jewelry, do nails. Paint stuff. 
I made this "necklace" holder from a picture frame and some hooks. I also made the necklaces shown in the first picture.
4.) David and Sarah decide to start up their own Zombie exterminators business, and even come up with a name and slogan for it, “S and D Zombie Extermination. We take care of your undead issues.” If you opened up your own zombie killing business, what would you call it, and what would your slogan be? 
Totally inspired by Rhiannon Frater's 
The Last Bastion of the Living!

5.)  What were your favorite/least favorite parts of Married with Zombies? Aside from David and Sarah, who was your favorite/least favorite character?
“So you killed him with what now?"


"I tried that Dr. Phil book at first"..."And I finished it off with the toilet seat. Just so you know, you left it up again. That drives me crazy.”
I loved Sarah. It was nice to see a marriage come back together during a Zombie Apocalypse.  This book had some many Laugh Out Loud moments. Great read!


6.) What do you think is coming up next for David and Sarah? Which do you think has a better chance of survival, their marriage or their humanity? Will you continue reading this series, and if so, what do you hope to see happen in the next book? 
I am not sure what is to come, as I read Married With Zombies a while back, but it was good to refresh on the book, and I plan on moving on to book #2 soon!! I cannot wait to finish this series and see what other things Dave & Sarah have coming! 


Want to take a look back? Here is the whole thing:
Week1: Chapters 1-5 (June 1st) – Jen @ In the Closet With a Bibliophile
Week2: Chapters 6-10 (June 8th) – Ashley @ The Bookish Brunette
Week3: Chapters 11-15 (June 15th) – Loretta @ Between the Pages
Week4: Chapters 16-20 (June 22nd) – Tina @ Tina’s Book Reviews
Week5: Chapters 21-26 (June 29th) – Missie @ The Unread Reader 


In closing... always be prepared. YOU never know.

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Cover Reveals


Uriel by Aaron Patterson
Series: Ariel #3


All she wanted was to live her own life…

When heroes start to tell lies, even to themselves: Uriel. She’s spent thousands of years fighting against her destiny, fighting against her bereaved father, against El Himself.

“It’s just one letter, but it’s my letter, father…” 

Once more, we see how the evil deeds of the past play out in the following generations, and with grave consequences—and startling revelations. 

Betrayal, deceit, and murder are unavoidable in Uriel, Book 3 of the Airel saga.
This is the 3rd book in the Ariel Saga. All 3 book are gorgeous!!  

More Cover Reveals:


What if you knew exactly when you would die? In the not-too-distant future, genetic engineering has turned every newborn into a ticking time bomb — males only live to age 25 and females only live to age 20.In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out. When 16-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by "the Gatherers" to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Rhine has only one purpose after she has been married to her new husband, Linden: to escape and find her twin brother.But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant to whom she is dangerously attracted, Rhine is desperate to learn the truth and protect those closest to her. But, as her sister wife Cecily keeps insisting, her role may be much bigger than that.In the first two books of the Chemical Garden trilogy, Wither and Fever, Rhine struggles to escape the mansion and then to navigate the brutal world outside. Now in Sever, the third and final book, Rhine uncovers some shattering truths about the past that her parents never had the chance to tell her and the alarming implications regarding her own genes. She may be the one who can save the human race.

Expected Publication: February 12th 2013

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing

*No Blurb Yet*
Expected Publication: January 22nd 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen

Expected Publication: September 1st 2012
Publisher: Harlequin TEEN


Seventeen-year-old Lauren is having visions of girls who have gone missing. And all these girls have just one thing in common—they are 17 and gone without a trace. As Lauren struggles to shake these waking nightmares, impossible questions demand urgent answers: Why are the girls speaking to Lauren? How can she help them? And . . . is she next? As Lauren searches for clues, everything begins to unravel, and when a brush with death lands her in the hospital, a shocking truth emerges, changing everything.


Expected Publication: March 2013

Publisher: Dutton Juvenile


Darcy Jones doesn't remember anything before the day she was abandoned as a child outside a Chicago firehouse. So she isn't surprised that she doesn't recognize Conn, the new boy at her high school, even though he seems to know her—or at least know something about her.What does surprise her is how quickly she comes to trust Conn, and that he makes her feel both desire and desired in a way she hadn't thought possible. But his interest in her is confusing. It doesn't line up with the way he first looked at her.As if she was his enemy.When Conn betrays Darcy and she is arrested, she realizes that she can't rely on anything—not Conn, not herself, and not even the laws of nature. Because this world isn't the only one. Darcy belongs in an alternate world where the Great Chicago Fire never happened, and deadly creatures called Shades terrorize the human population.Darcy needs some answers.And she hates that the person most able to help her get them is Conn. 

Expected Publication: October 30th 2012
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry



Hardcover: 384 pages
Expected Publication: July 31st 2012
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
ISBN: 0373210493 
ISBN13: 9780373210497
Series: Standalone [But there will be a companion, Beth's Story]
Received: eARC from Publisher via Netgalley
Challenges: 2012 YA Contemporary Challenge; 2012 Goodreads Challenge
"I won't tell anyone, Echo. I promise."

Noah tucked a curl behind my ear. It had been so long since someone touched me like he did. Why did it have to be Noah Hutchins? His dark brown eyes shifted to my covered arms. "You didn't do that-did you? It was done to you?" No one ever asked that question. They stared. They whispered. They laughed. But they never asked.So wrong for each other...and yet so right.No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible. Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.
Pushing The Limits was such an amazing story all around. I fell in love with everything about this book. I had so many emotions while reading this book. Following right along with the characters. Pushing The Limits touched my heart. This book was intense. 
In Pushing The Limits you will meet 2 main characters. Echo & Noah. Who are both suffering from so much in their lives. Who each think they know each other, but what they will find out is they were completely wrong. Echo & Noah will be pushed together by the hands of their school counselor Mrs. Collins. From that day on they will be forced to face their demons, overcome their past, and have tough decisions to make they never thought they could make, and possibly fall in love with the one person they never thought they would.
Echo has had it rough lately. Everything in her life has crumbled to a million pieces, and then there is that one night. The one she cannot remember. What happened that night with her mother and her that night? The one that left Echo with scars, and a lost memory it seems she will never recover. Echo's father is so overprotective. To the point Echo just wants out. Her father has re-married, and what makes it worse is that he married her babysitter/nanny, Ashley. Who Echo feels has ruined everything. And now her father & evil step mother is having a baby. A replacement baby? One that will help them forget her brother who died, and Echo who will turn out just like her mother. It's the perfect plan in Echos head. But maybe that isn't it at all. There is something else wrapped up in that memory that she cannot remember, something that involves her father. But will knowing what happened that night help Echo, or leave her broken for the rest of her life?
To everyone Noah is your average Bad Boy. Even Echo believes him to just be the stoner, who cares about nothing, but getting high and being dumb. But what she does not know, Noah is broken, he holds guilt for the fire that took his parents lives. He is in foster care separated from his brothers! He is very alone, and just wants his family to be back together. & Noah will do anything to make that happen. Noah believes he can give his brothers a better life then their foster parents. Then again, Noah may soon find out that what he wants is not best for everyone. He may have to give into the one thing that he never wanted to do. Leaving him alone forever. Did I mention that Noah is a total heart melting, hot, hot, hottie!? Oh yeah. Well he is. Just the things that he did, or said *sigh* Noah has defiantly been added to my list of bad boy, who have captivated my heart!
This girl owned my soul and stole my heart. ~Noah ♥
"Say the word, baby, and I'll rock your world." ~Noah ♥
Mrs. Collins gave Echo the job of tutoring Noah, which she is not too excited about. But Echo & Noah came up with a plan, that will help each other figure out what is going on, and what happened. In the process of working together, they learn more about each other. They learn things about themselves. They grow, as individuals but also they grow together. I loved seeing Echo & Noah learn new things about themselves through out the book. Seeing them open up to each other, the connection, the chemistry between the two was great. Everything is played out perfectly. They do not have insta-love. In fact Echo takes longer then I feel she needed to see what was right there all along. What lied within those chocolate brown eyes that belonged to Noah! After they are finally together, it is not all rainbows & cupcakes. They have to deal with a lot of drama. Between their lives, family & friends Echo & Noah have a lot of things that they have to go through. But in the end, will they get through it all together? Or will the pain of  their lives tear them apart?!
I loved Noah & Echo together. There conversations, the way that Noah wanted so much to help Echo. 
Pushing The Limits was a perfect contemporary!! This book has so much to offer. Katie McGarry wrote a beautiful book about two broken characters. Not only were the Main Characters interesting, but also the side characters were as well. I wanted to know more about Noah's foster siblings. I feel there is so much more to them, especially Beth. After I finished Pushing The Limits, I found out that there is going to be a companion to this book, which will be Beth's story. That made me very happy. I cannot wait to learn more about her. 
Pushing The Limits was breathtakingly beautiful!

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (6/27)


Waiting on Wednesday was created over @ Breaking The Spine
This week I am Waiting On Wednesday:


Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home—and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin—a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.Origin is a beautifully told, shocking new way to look at an age-old desire: to live forever, no matter the cost. This is a supremely compelling debut novel that blends the awakening romance of Matched with the mystery and jungle conspiracy of Lost.
Hardcover: 372 pages
Expected Publication: September 4th 2012
Publisher: Razorbill


Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday: Characters who remind me of myself, or people I know.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish
This weeks topic is:
Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me Of Myself Or Someone I Know In Real Life
This was FREAKING HARD. REALLY. 



1.) I would have to say that this one reminds me of MYSELF & ONE OTHER. Katy from Obsidian.
Angela @ Reading Angel. We both reside in West Virginia. We both are book bloggers, and we have a love for Daemon, that is out of this world ;) BUT, she has literally met him.... *sigh*... and had his lips on her.... *sigh*....!


2.) This next one, has always reminded me, OF well, ME! Jenny from Jenny Pox. I related to her so much, my heart hurt. I mean no I do not have the touch of Death, but.. I know what it is like to be an outcast through out school. To just want to have friends, or someone that you can touch, someone to understand you. & someone to just love you, for you. To not feel toxic. Seth in a sense is my husband. He rescued me. 13 years ago. He saved my heart. 

3.) Patch from Hush, Hush reminds me SO much of my husband. I know a lot of you don't like Patch, hahaha!! Brandon (my hubby) can be such a smart ass. Really. But, he is so sarcastic about it, of course he is not serious, but a lot of people think he's mean. He is not. He is just so sweet. Just like Patch! =D

4.) Jenni from The First Day is SO Ashley @ The Bookish Brunette. I have really got to know Ashley, and she is such a strong person. Everything about Jenni is Ashley. I only hope to one day actually meet Ashley!! & it has Zombies in it, so THE ZOMBIE QUEEN side of Ashley is taken care of too!  

5.) I am, Celaena Sardothien in Throne of Glass, in another life. I have always thought I would have been an assassin! & I would be BAD ASS at it. Celaena is such a fantastic character, and I was just awed by how amazingly strong and fabulous she was. 

6.) Hazel in The Fault in Our Stars reminds me of my grandmother, she died of cancer. & for ME, this book gave me that perspective of the thoughts of someone who was suffering. My grandma at first was so sad yes, but in the end she was the strongest woman suffering from something so horrible. I still can remember MY last moment with her, "Don't cry, everything is ok, & I love you" That was the saddest happiest moment in my life, and this book just idk, made me so happy. Even thought she was dying, she lived, and in this book Hazel did as well!! 

7.) I AM ELISE LANDON. Yes, I am. I mean I could be Charlotte, but, I mean Elise has MY hair =D I DO NOT CARE. I AM HER! AND HARLIN has searched the world for me, to save me, to love me! Oh, and I would just love him right back. These books (A Need So Beautiful & A Want So Wicked) have brought me so much happiness. The characters, everything about them I love, and I have such a connection with them! I will always cherish they way I first felt when I read ANSB, and yes, HARLIN IS MINE!!

8.) Willa from Pretty Crooked really reminds me of Angela @ Reading Angel. Angela is such a great person, she has a big heart and is just such a beautiful person. I love having her in my life. I could totally see her stealing from the Rich to give to the Poor, but totally meaning all good out of it. Because she is just that awesome. Ever need anything, rather to talk, cry, vent, or just hang out?! Angela is there. Always!

9 & 10.) Anna from Sweet Evil is just so right down amazing, and so me! Minus the blonde hair. =D She is just this country girl, who tries to do the right things. Even when the devil just wants her to do bad!!!  But she does her best to stay true to who she is and what she believes in. Also Anna's mother Patti. She reminded me so much of my mom. I love my mom very much, and we have a very great relationship. She always tried to help me make the right decisions in my life, over protective a bit. As a teen I never really understood why she was always wanting to be in my life, and I honestly think until you become a mother, and feel that love between you and your child you cannot understand the overbearing, overprotective tendencies that come a long with it. My mom is such a great supporter of me, and she is always there. 
________________
& one more for your viewing pleasure:

Just call me Rayna. I may not have "cat" eyes. But when I am pissed and about to cut someone, my eyes turn this bright ass green (I love my hazel eyes). Hubby calls it "my warning eyes" because this is the time when you should stop doing what you are doing before you have no head. I am pretty mean, and I will not tolerate you deciding things for me. See, me & Rayna are totally bad ass.

What characters remind you of you!?

Monday, June 25, 2012

The Summer of No Regrets by Katherine Grace Bond


Paperback: 290 pages
Published: May 1st 2012

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402265042 
ISBN13: 9781402265044
Series: Standalone
Received: eARC from publisher via Netgalley
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge, 2012 YA Contemporary Challenge
This was the summer that would change my life.No more being what everyone expected. No more doing what everyone else wanted.
So when Luke came into my life, I decided to keep him a secret. Maybe he as a dead-ringer for notorious Hollywood bad boy Trent Yves. And it was possible that everything he told me was a lie. And yes, I was probably asking for trouble. But all I saw was Luke--sweet, funny, caring--someone who would let me be the real me.
But which was the real him?
 I really wanted to love this book more then I did. Although for me it was not an amazing read, it had it's moments that kept me reading and in the end this was an OK read.
Seeing as how the book is called The Summer of No Regrets, I figured this book would be about a light summery read. Hanging out with your friends on the beach, falling in love and watching the sun set, you know.. doing all of that mushy stuff, that makes summer cheesy reads so addicting. But what I read was way different, in fact there was no beach fun. In fact I feel this cover, and the name does not fit this book.. What.so.ever.
Brigitta had the most strangest parents. Really. Brigitta really had no religion. So when her father decides to be Shaman (in case you was wondering, this is like a magic religion, ummm.. here is the Wikipedia link). He does somethings that are so embarrassing for her, as well as for me as a reader, I would have literally died.
Brigitta is just your average normal girl, with this normal life shared with her crazy family who live in this kind of house that I still am trying to picture. Their house fits the ways of the Shaman, and i just didn't get the mental image. At all. Her family was just really odd. And no I am not just saying that. The one that seemed to be a little normal was her mother. The father & sister just really, wow. No words besides. Embarrassing. 


What saved this book for me was the second half of this book. Even though it still was still not mind blowing, it saved the book and kept me reading. Even though it was still a bit slow, and a tad boring.
Brigitta meets Luke, and that is when for me the story took a whole new turn. If the first half was maybe erased, and added something a little different then yes. But for me the first part was just not needed. 
After a close encounter with a being attacked by Cougar, and then trying to capture & save the Cougar, is is shot, so after going on a walk and finding the cougars babies, they decide to take care of them. Together. But because of their love for animals they bonded more. That was a really great part of the story, and it was nice to see Brigitta and Luke become closer and closer. 
Natalie, Brigitta's friend, really thinks that Luke looks like the movie-star Trent Yves. While plays coy and says no, in the back of her mind she cannot help by thinking that yes, he does look like Trent. The story turned fun being filled with the mystery of "is Luke Trent or Not?" 
So then you get to follow along with the mystery there. 
Near the end of the book I really started enjoying it. I really didn't like the talk about religion. I am not against it, no. But it seemed that the whole beginning had to deal with it, and the weirdness of her father. I mean, really. The talk that filled a lot of the book about her Grandparent who died a year go. I mean I HAVE lost 3 grandparents. I know it's very sad. But to make this character seem as though she had had such a hard life, is rather NOT good with me. Because that does not make you have such a horrible life or whatever... Even though I really liked Luke, as a character, I did not buy their relationship. I just didn't connect to them like that, or Brigitti as a character. I knew nothing about her really after reading this book. 
This just was not the perfect book for me. But do not let me be the judge for you. I just really could not connect. I really liked Luke, and the baby cougars... but that is about it. 






Saturday, June 23, 2012

Stacking The Shelves (3)



Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks.
No video this week, 1.) because I only got a little, 2.) I have a migraine. 

Look, Me & Alexa from Pages of Forbidden Love. I swear they LOOK ALIKE!!

Bought:
Dark Frost by Jennifer Estep
Bared to You by Sylvia Day
Bought eBook:
Thomas & January by Fisher Amelie


What books did you get this week!?

Friday, June 22, 2012

Married With Zombies Read-A-Long: Week 4

Hey guys. Sorry this is a tad late. HECTIC week + I have felt crappy for almost 2 days now. Although I am feeling much better, again sorry this is a little late. At least it is STILL FRIDAY THOUGH! =D
Hope you are enjoying the book.
WEEK 4:

1.) In chapter 16 David and Sarah are attacked by freezer zombies in chef attire. Despite its rotten food and disgusting kitchen, lets think about what it could of been before the attack, give me a picture of your dream kitchen or a pic of you cooking your favorite food in your own kitchen... or both. 
I love the "look" of this kitchen. I am not that great, of a cook, but I think in this Kitchen I would actually do some good ass cooking. haha

2.) In Chapter 16, David winds up killing those freezer zombies with a blank show me your best one....and yes it must be yours.
My house is loaded down with weapons.
**THAT ARE SAFELY LOCKED AWAY FROM KIDS**
Never know, what you may have to do. 
MUST be PREPARED.

3.) In Chapter 17 David and Sarah find themselves with some cult like people and wind up trapped. How would you escape? Ropes? Blankets....show me your best. 
I would throw my bed mattress out the window & HOPED to God I landed on it, because my ass would JUMP.
**Or break the bead posts, and stab them... either way I'm getting the hell away from the freaky ass cult people.

4.) In Chapter 19 David and Sarah find a surprise in the car they stole...in the midst of crazy its a nice welcome. Now whip me up your favorite one and share......you can include recipes!!
I love this. But I also love MILLER LIGHT.
But my FAVORITE mixed drink is simple!
This is SOOOO good w/Vanilla Coke!
  • 1 1/2 oz Captain Morgan® Original spiced rum
  • 4 1/2 oz Coca-Cola® **OR** Vanilla Coke =D
5.) In chapter 20, Sarah gets to kill a zombie with a cash register, bringing back memories of her worst retail job ever....so tell me whats the worst job you've had......if you can include pictures in your uniform I will die laughing.....or a picture of the place you worked.
OMG. 1st JOB. I was 16. I worked in the SHOE department @ Kmart. 
I loved that part. HATED the work part. It being my 1st job, and ME not loving people boss me around,
I hated it. I only wanted to try on shoes, and get paid.
After, ummm 4 months of this whack job, where people were rude, and always bugging me. I quit, on a post-it at that. 
IN BIG.BOLD.LETTERS
I QUIT!!
* I was a bratty-ass BITCHY TEEN *

I hope you all are ENJOYING THE BOOK!!
I KNOW I AM!!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs