Monday, April 30, 2012

The Bloggers of the Deep Tour: Vicious Deep


I am glad to be apart of The Bloggers Of The Deep Tour for Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova. Today I have a guest post from Zoraida Cordova. 
How Disney’s The Little Mermaid Taught Me English: After Zoraida C√≥rdova moved to the United States from Guayaquil, Ecuador, she learned to speak English by watching Disney’s famous mermaid.

Actually, I learned while still in Ecuador. I was three and my grandmother, already in New York, sent me the VHS as a gift. I watched it every day, making my aunt rewind it over and over again, until I could do it myself. I should get her a sweet gift as a thank you.
Sometimes I wonder what it was about this specific movie that enchanted me as a kid. I was already taking English as a second language, but it wasn’t enough. Repeating foreign words in a classroom didn’t mean anything. When I watched the movie, each word came to life. When I moved to New York at age 6 (maybe 7), I don’t remember the transition. I simply remember having complete understanding of what was being said to me in this new foreign school.
I can’t say I wouldn’t have ever learned without The Little Mermaid as a gateway to language, magic, and mermaids—surely I would’ve gotten there somehow—but I’m very glad that it was. I wouldn't be the person I am without it.



Author Bio:
Zoraida Cordova was left by some merpeople on the coast of Guayaquil, Ecuador, where she learned to speak English by watching Disney’s The Little Mermaid and Michael Jackson’s Moonwalker on repeat. She’s been a New Yorker since she was six, and never forgot about her mermaid lineage. She studied with Jaqueline Woodson, Ann Angel, and the late Norma Fox Mazer at the National Book Foundation writing camps. In 2007 she was awarded the Dennis Lehane scholarship to Pine Manor’s Summer Solstice Writing Conference. She majored in English Literature at the University of Montana and Hunter College in New York City.



For Tristan Hart, everything changes with one crashing wave.

He was gone for three days. Sucked out to sea in a tidal wave and spit back ashore at Coney Island with no memory of what happened. Now his dreams are haunted by a terrifying silver mermaid with razor-sharp teeth.

His best friend Layla is convinced something is wrong. But how can he explain he can sense emotion like never before? How can he explain he’s heir to a kingdom he never knew existed? That he’s suddenly a pawn in a battle as ancient as the gods.

Something happened to him in those three days. He was claimed by the sea…and now it wants him back.

Hardcover: 384 pages
Expected Publication: May 1st 2012
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository | Barnes & Noble 


Where you find Zoraida
TWITTER | FACEBOOK | BLOG

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Review: Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova

Hardcover: 384 pages
Expected Publication: May 1st 2012
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402265107 
ISBN13: 9781402265105
Received: From Publisher via Netgalley 
Series: The Vicious Deep #1
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge, 2012 Debut Author Challenge
For Tristan Hart, everything changes with one crashing wave. He was gone for three days. Sucked out to sea in a tidal wave and spit back ashore at Coney Island with no memory of what happened. Now his dreams are haunted by a terrifying silver mermaid with razor-sharp teeth.
His best friend Layla is convinced something is wrong. But how can he explain he can sense emotion like never before? How can he explain he’s heir to a kingdom he never knew existed? That he’s suddenly a pawn in a battle as ancient as the gods.
Something happened to him in those three days. He was claimed by the sea…and now it wants him back.
My Thoughts:
The Vicious Deep was my 1st "mer" book. This book is about a Merman. Tristan. Which I loved. This being my 1st mermaid book and it being about a boy. That was something that I really liked. The Vicious Deep was a fantastic debut. Tristan Hart was an amazing MC. 
After a horrible storm Tristan is taken out to sea by a riptide. A few days passes and Tristan is found. He is ok, other than being totally freaked out. If that couldn't have been traumatic enough for Tristan he has some how became a Merman. What else can be worse then that? He is a Royal one! That is not the end. After a challenge is made for Tristan & his family. Everything since that day at the water washed him away, has changed. His life is taken a turn and there is not going back.
Zoraida Cordova wrote a fantastic debut. I thought that Tristan was a fun and fresh character. I loved learning everything right along with Tristan. Seeing him grow. He was hilarious but had such genuine emotions about him. He was for me, real. The characters in this book are mysterious, and right down fun. Kurt, Thalia, Layla & The Sea King were such amazing characters with so much life to them. I thought that their interactions with each other and they ways they handled them shelve was beautifully written.
You will want to know what happens from page to page. Cordavo kept you on the edge of your seat. Piecing everything together right along with Tristan. 
I really would have liked to see Tristan act on his feeling for Layla, instead of just doing the whole she loves me.. loves me not thingy. In the next books I hope that there is something between them! I think that Layla is a great character for Tristan. I cannot wait to read book 2. Which is The Savage Blue. I am excited to see what happens to the characters, and where Zoraida takes everything. 

Saturday, April 28, 2012

I GOT MAIL (4/28)

Hey guys. I am going to be showing you the books that I got this week.
Due to recent events I do not wish to speak about.. it's been kinda annoying. BUT I am not participating in IMM or DAC. I am gonna call this thing right here.
iGot Mail



*YOU GUYS. YOU MAKE ME GIGGLE. My hunny = HUSBAND*
You make me feel all giggly.
Boyfriend. hehe.

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Ascend by Amanda Hocking

As I Wake by Elizabeth Scott

Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James {Kindle}
Tempting The Best Man by J. Lynn {Kindle}
Boys, Girls & Other Hazardous Materials by Rosalind Wiseman
Flutter by Erin E. Moulton
Girlwood by Claire Dean
Virals by Kathy Reichs
Goliath by Scott Westerfeld
Reckless Magic by Rachel Higginson {Free Kindle Read}
Elemental by Brigid Kemmerer {Free Kindle Read}
Death Whispers by Tamara Rose Biodgett {Free Kindle Read}

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks {Netgalley}
Dead Time by Anne Cassidy {Netgalley}
The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda {St. Martin's Press}
Wings of Arian by Devri Walls {Author}
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas {Netgalley}
One Moment by Kristina McBride {Netgalley}
Summer of No Regrets by Katherine Grace Bond {Publisher}
Timepiece by Myra McEntire {Publisher}



What did YOU get this week?

Dystopian: My Favorites

Dystopian:
How do you feel about this popular genre?

I have been really loving Dystopian books lately. What about you? I have read a mix of them, and they are seriously books that I just cannot get enough of. Here are some that I have read that I have really enjoyed!


I really just love the beauty in each of these books. 
Here are some that I am really interested in reading soon. 


Have you read any of them? How are they?
What Dystopian books have you read that you really loved? 




Friday, April 27, 2012

Review: Fairy Blues by J. L. Bryan

Paperback: 228 pages
Published: January 20th 2012
Publisher: J. L. Bryan
ISBN 10: 1469958724
ISBN 13: 9781469958729
Series: Songs Of Magic #2
Received: From Author Kindle / Bought paperbacks
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge
With their enchanted instruments charming the crowds, the Assorted Zebras attract interest from record producers, and soon they’re off to cut their first album and music video. Jason and his friends don’t know they've just become pawns in a sinister plot by a cabal of evil fairies... Meanwhile, Aoide and her band pursue a new strategy for regaining their stolen instruments, one that will take them into the most haunted region in Faerie.

My Thoughts:
J. L. Bryan has such great talent when it comes to creating a great story. Every book that I have read from him has pulled me into that world, and made me fall in love with the characters. The Songs Of Magic series has done just that. Fairy Metal Thunder which was the 1st book was so fresh and fun, and I could not wait to continue on with this series.
Fairy Blues was amazing. It for me was so much more then I was expecting. I felt apart of this world. Both of them. But, honestly the faerie world is by far my favorite! Which you get to see more of in Fairy Blues.
After the events that happened in Fairy Metal Thunder the band is still trying to wrap there head around what just happened. After being attacked by a dragon, and being super duper stars. They are still unsure how to deal with all this sudden fame. The fame that the instruments have given them that they stole from the faerie world. The ones that the faeries are searching for.
They think that they are making the right choice by turning down one record deal, and accepting another. Realizing that in fact they should have went the other route.
Jason. Poor, poor Jason. Even after stealing these instruments, and all the things that have happened since then. He just wants to stop. He knows though that in fact if he does say anything, or do anything his band mates will be so pissed.
Erin. Oh my. I think that Erin & Jason are amazing. But there is just something... something that is keeping them from being able to be together. What is Erin's secret? What is it?
I loved Aiode in this book. She decided to hell with the Queen. Although, the Queen has her own plan to get the magical instruments back. But even the Queens plan is not going to happen the way she thinks. Aiode is going to find their instruments, and there is no stopping her. So Aiode and her band member are in search for something. The only thing that would possibly help them in the search. Something better then even the unicorns, when searching for magic. What is it you ask? Banshee- wolves!
There are bad guys, adventure, magic, action, love, enchanted pumpkins (YES!!!!!), & freaking Grizlemor! I love Grizlemor, he is freaking amazing. Hilarious, and just right down nasty little thing. BUT, I don't care. His humor is something that gets me every-time! Everything you could hope for, and more all wrapped up into this one book. This series has something for everyone. Once you start you will be hooked. There is no going back once you step into The Songs of magic Series.
J. L. Bryan is such a talented author. His mind is something of amazingness, and I cannot, CAN NOT wait for more books from him in the future!


Thursday, April 26, 2012

Review: Untouched by Jus Accardo

eBook: Novella
Published: March 28th 2012

Publisher: Entangled Publishing 
Series: Denazen #1.5
Received: Bought
Challenge: 2012 Goodreads Challenge
Until he met Dez, Kale’s days were filled with violence and death. He was used as a weapon of destruction by the power hungry men of Denazen. He’s a Six. A person with an abnormal ability. Some people call them gifts, but not Kale. Kale’s touch means instant death.But now there’s Dez, the girl he can touch, and they’re hunting down Sixes and warning them about Denazen. Kale is learning about the world outside captivity and trying to put his dark past behind him. But they underestimated how badly Denazen wanted him back.When Dez sacrifices herself to save the new Six they’d rescued from falling into the corp’s hands, Kale is lost. Denazen has brought out its best to get the job done. Samsen, a nightmare from Kale’s past—the only person he’s ever truly feared—has come for them, and it soon becomes obvious he has his own twisted agenda.Kale will need all his training to get Dez back and ensure they make it out, free—and alive. But will it be enough?
My thoughts:
Touched was an amazing book. Jus Accardo really wrote such an amazing book that was action packed and full of just the right amount of everything. So I was very excited to see that there was going to be a Novella between books 1 & 2. 
This was a great addition to the Denazen series. Kale is such a great character and I loved getting a peak into his mind. As Untouched is told from Kale's POV. 
Kale and Dez are on the hunt to find Sixes to join them at taking down Denazen. 
After meeting up with a new Six they are out to have some fun. But it seems that the fun will only last for so long.. as trouble is right behind them. 
Someone from Kale's past comes back and things just could not get any worse! Or could they. 
After Dez is captured, Kale has to get her back. He just can not stand to loose Dez again. But will he be able to save her from the dreaded Samsen? 
I absolutely love this series. Kale and Dez are such fantastic characters. 
They are so amazing together. The bond that they have. Kale is so funny. He makes me laugh at the things that he says! How he really don't get certain things. His perception of life & different things is absolutely hilarious.
"Give that boy a cookie!"
Now really wasn't the time to think about food. And where was she keeping them? In her pockets? They'd be all crumbled. 

"I don't want one. Thank you."

Eyebrows raised, she wrinkled her nose - I must have insulted her by not accepting her offer.
I am so excited to read Toxic. Book #2 in the Denazen series. Touched and Untouched in a must read. You will be amazed at the world & characters that Jus Accardo has created. 

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Wendy Higgins Author Interview + Giveaway




After earning a bachelors in Creative Writing from George Mason University and a masters in Curriculum and Instruction from Radford, Wendy taught high school English until becoming a mommy. Writing Young Adult (YA) stories gives her the opportunity to delve into the ambiguities of those pivotal, daunting, and exciting years before adulthood.She lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, daughter, and son. Sweet Evil is her debut novel.


Where you can find Wendy



What if there were teens whose lives depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.
Tenderhearted Southern girl, Anna Whitt, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.
A cross-country trip to meet her father forces Anna to face the reality that hope and love are not options for her kind. When she confronts her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?


Sweet Evil was a fascinating, Debut Novel. Sweet Evil is full of so much amazingness that I think it will appeal to all readers. My review is HERE Here is my Q & A with Wendy Higgins. 

1.) Sweet Evil was such an amazing debut novel. The characters were so amazing. They had so much life to them. Which character was your personal favorite & why?
First of all, thank you so much for saying that, and for having me on your blog!

The characters were definitely alive in my head. Although I adore Anna in that loving, protective big-sister kind of way, Kaidan stole my heart and forced me to push the limits of my writing skills.

2.) When writing Sweet Evil, what did you create 1st? The Characters or the Plot?
Character. The plot was an afterthought. Scenes came to me out of order and I wrote them, not knowing the exact time or setting. To give you an idea, a small piece of chapter ten was what I wrote first. And then chapter four. Then I had to piece it all together with plot points. And then I basically had to start all over. It was madness. I don’t recommend being an ultimate panster.

3.) I personally thought that the information that I learned while reading sweet evil was amazing. What type of research did you do?
I researched details for the road trip, but as far as the story world, its roots are in traditional, Biblical angel lore, so I did look up angel/demon passages, as well as reading different theology and commentary found online. That was all fascinating, but mostly I just made stuff up, lol. My imagination turned out to be vivid and warped enough.

4.) The Dukes were very fascinating /scary characters. Was it hard to create all the names & their jobs?

A lot of the names were found online, but there is not 100% agreement from people about what the names mean, so I kind of took the names I liked and used them however I wanted. I’ll probably tick-off some demon experts somewhere, but it’s all good. In the name of fiction, and all that. J As for the jobs, those changed over and over until I finally narrowed it down to the 12 Dukes.

5.) If you could have a soundtrack to Sweet Evil, what would be your top 2 song picks?

I actually have the soundtrack available as a pdf download on the Amazon Sweet Evil page (under the “More to Explore” section). “Let it Rock” by Kevin Rudolf makes me think of Kai. And “Waiting for the End” by Linkin Park makes me think of how Anna feels.
*Click HERE guys for the song list*

6.) Lights, Camera, Action. If Sweet Evil was to be a movie. Who would you choose to play Anna & Kaidan?

This is so hard for some reason. Maybe Ben Barnes for Kai and Spencer Locke for Anna?

7.) If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you choose? What would you do?
Ireland and England. I’m obsessed with them, and I’ve never been to either place! I would want to do everything--castles, pubs, Canterbury, catching Leprechauns in Ireland. (Okay, maybe not that last one.) LOVE.

8.) What are some things that you love to do when you are not writing?


Read, go on outings with my children, go on dates with my husband, have game nights with my friends (sounds lame, but it usually gets out of hand and we laugh SO hard).

9.) Where is your favorite place to escape to write?

My most productive writing is done in bed, leaning against a pile of pillows with the laptop on my lap. But it must be quiet and I have to be alone.

10.) What is your one bookish pet peeve?
Cliffhangers…even though I’m sort of guilty (sorry!). But I HATE waiting a whole year to find out what’s going to happen! Aaagh!

I am looking forward to many more books from you in the future. Also, I am looking forward to learning a lot more about Kaidan *sigh* & Anna! Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions!

Now for the Giveaway!
One person will win my ARC.
Please fill out the form.
Giveaway will be a fast one. So Enter while you can.
Giveaway will last from:
April 25th UNTIL MAY 1st 2012 11:59p.m (Eastern)
Everything extra on the form is OPTIONAL!
This giveaway is U.S Only
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waiting On Wednesday (4/25)


I am Waiting On

"Love is just the beginning... of the end."Mason Starling is a champion fencer for Gosforth Academy, but she’s never had to fight for her life. Until now. When a ferocious storm rips through Manhattan and unleashes terrifying creatures onto Gosforth’s campus, Mason barely escapes alive. Without help from the mysterious stranger who appeared in the midst of the storm, she might not have made it at all. But now, in the aftermath, Mason’s life begins to spin dramatically, mystically out of control, and the only one who seems able to help her is the stranger who can remember nothing but his name: Fennrys Wolf.As Mason and Fenn uncover more about Fenn’s past and the strange events that surround them, they realize that Mason’s family — and its dark allegiance to the ancient Norse gods — is at the center of everything. A predetermined fate seems to be closing in on Mason, but is it possible to change one’s destiny?Readers who fell in love with Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange trilogy and those who love Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series will be captivated by the sweeping romance and pulse-pounding action of Starling.
Expected Publication: August 15th 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN13: 9780062063076

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Review: Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Paperback: 464 pages
Expected Publication: May 1st 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: 0062085611 
ISBN13: 9780062085610
Series: Sweet Evil #1
Received: ARC from Publisher
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge, 2012 Debut Author Challenge
What if there were teens whose lives depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.
Tenderhearted Southern girl, Anna Whitt, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.
A cross-country trip to meet her father forces Anna to face the reality that hope and love are not options for her kind. When she confronts her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?
My Thoughts:
Sweet Evil was such an amazing Debut Novel. I loved all 464 pages of this book. This book about Angels & Demons had me so wrapped up into the characters and the world!
You meet Anna. She is just a regular southern girl, who is not so regular. She the ability to see the emotions of everyone. Through the the colors that their bodies give off. She doesn't really understand why she has this, and pretty soon that will end. Anna will find out everything she has ever wanted to know. 
Kaidan. The first time Anna spots Kaidan, she cannot help the attraction that she has to him. But there is something different about Kaidan. She cannot see his colors. Why? The way that Kaidan makes Anna feel is not normal. What is it about Kaidan? What is his secret? After Kaidan & Anna have a brief talk she is left with more questions then answers. Anna has no choice but to track him down, and ask him what's going on. But by doing this.. Anna finds out, how totally different she is from everyone else.
Anna for me was a very beautiful character. I connected with her through out the whole book. I thought that she was beautifully created. She was loyal. Strong. Determined. Everything that we want our main characters to be. Anna was that.
The other characters in the book were just as fascinating to me. Even the "Bad Guys" were so interesting. 
Anna's (adopted) mother Patti was beautiful. She had such an amazing heart and soul. She loves Anna so much, and was blessed with such a wonderful blessing of getting Anna. She cherishes her daughter. But when the time comes, she tells Anna everything that she needs to know. No holding back. I felt that was a noble move. 
Jay was Anna's "human" best friend. & best friend he was. I loved the connection that Jay & Anna had. I felt it to be very real. Having a friend like Jay was something Anna needed.
Kaidan. Oh, smart ass, cocky, hot Kaidan. I loved him. What is it with me and these snarky male characters? I cannot help it. Kaidan was the way he was for a reason. Underneath Kaidans hard exterior, he had a heart. But, showing how he "feels"  is something that he will not do. Shielding his colors from everyone around him. Kaidan takes the role of showing Anna how things work. Training her. Helping her. And possibly falling in love with her. 
Boy oh boy was the "sexual" tension in this book... um... *ahem* HOT! My word.
I just kept envisioning Kaidan, stripping down singing some Marvin Gaye's Lets Get It On. *Phew*
There are a bunch of other characters you will meet throughout the book. Some you will love. Some you will not. Some that will leave you utterly speechless. Anna's father comes into the book more, which I really liked him! He is a Demon. Dangerous. But his love for his daughter.. outweighs all of that. He will have to make decisons that he really don't want to. Hurt Anna. But, everything he has to do is for a reason. Kaidan's father was rather ... mean. When I read his name in the book I got insta-freakout-chills. 
The plot was so intriguing. You learn why Anna was adopted. You learn everything that you need to know through out the book, but it leaves you wanting so much more. There is not big cliff hanger. But you are left with the feeling that wow. I want more of that! 
I thought every event played out perfectly. Even if *I* wanted something else. (wink) but, I understand why things happened the way they did. 
I cannot wait for more books in this trilogy. Or any books written by Wendy Higgins. She has an amazing talent in writing. 
This is a debut novel that you do not want to miss out on. 

For me, Sweet Evil deserves way more that 5 Stars.
Amazing.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Cover Reveal: The Evolution of Mara Dyer


Two days after Mara walks into a police station in Miami at the close of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, she is committed for psychiatric treatment for what her parents believe is a mental breakdown. But what seems like a hallucination to everyone else is a chilling reality for Mara. Someone from her past has discovered her strange, disturbing secret and that someone wants her to pay. But she's about to discover that the price is more than she can bear.Dark and thrilling, suspenseful and passionate, The Evolution of Mara Dyer will have readers breathlessly turning pages to find out what will become of Mara Dyer next.

Hardcover: 272 pages

Expected Publication: October 23rd 2012

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing

I am so freaking excited! Wow. I loved! LOVED The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer! 

Happy Birthday to my Prince

Today is my son Landon's birthday! I cannot believe it. 8 years old! 
He is such an amazing son. I am so very blessed to have such a wonderful boy. 

Happy Birthday Landon Scott! We Love you!




Sunday, April 22, 2012

Blog Break

Hey guys. Loretta here. 
I am going to be out of the blogging world for a little bit. I have all kinds of thing scheduled up, and ready to go! So it will be like I am here. But, I will not be. I need a real break. A break from blogging and reading for just a little while. 
Something is up with me lately. And I need to fix it. I have been drained. Emotionally and physically. I am like a lot of you bloggers, a mother. I am also a wife. And at times, I need to be someone for me. I love reading. LOVE IT. But, I need a break. A week? 2 weeks? I don't know. I am not talking forever. NO. I love this tooooo much. I just need to help myself. Because is all reality.. I am not ok. I will not sugar coat it for you. I am in a major depression that I cannot kick. I feel stuck. Not in my life. In my mind. So I really need to do something, anything to help this. 
I am sorry. 
But like I said I have a lot of things scheduled on here for you to read. & I will be back. 
Maybe sooner then later. I hope anyways!

In My Mailbox (The Silent Edition)


Bought:
Nothing

Review:
Nothing

Borrowed:
Nothing

Gifts:
None

Loretta has done it!! I have not bought one thing! NOT EVEN AN EBOOK!
& I am happy about it.
Here is to me knocking out my TBR!

But, I do what to know.. what you got!!!! So I can dream!! 

I hope you have a great week!!

HAPPY READING!

Saturday, April 21, 2012

On My Wishlist ( 4/21)


On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This week On My Wishlist:

Until now, high school junior, John Keats, has only tiptoed near the edges of the vortex that is schoolmate and literary prodigy, Gordon Byron. That is, until their mutual friend, Shelly, drowns in a sailing accident.After stealing Shelly's ashes from her wake at Trinity Catholic High School, the boys set a course for the small Lake Erie island where Shelly's body had washed ashore and to where she wished to be returned. It would be one last "so Shelly" romantic quest. At least that's what they think. As they navigate around the obstacles and resist temptations during their odyssey, Keats and Gordon glue together the shattered pieces of Shelly's and their own pasts while attempting to make sense of her tragic and premature end.
  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Published February 8th 2011
  • Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
I have been wanting to read this one for a while. I have just never got around to getting it. Sounds so good!! 

Friday, April 20, 2012

Review: Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris

Hardcover: 445 pages
Expected Publication: April 24th 2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: 0062103733 
ISBN13: 9780062103734
Series: Standalone (???)
Received: ARC from publisher
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge, 2012 Debut Author Challenge
Two days before the start of her junior year, seventeen-year-old Janelle Tenner is hit by a pickup truck and killed—as in blinding light, scenes of her life flashing before her, and then nothing. Except the next thing she knows, she's opening her eyes to find Ben Michaels, a loner from her high school whom Janelle has never talked to, leaning over her. And even though it isn't possible, she knows—with every fiber of her being—that Ben has somehow brought her back to life.But her revival, and Ben's possible role in it, is only the first of the puzzles that Janelle must solve. While snooping in her FBI agent father's files for clues about her accident, she uncovers a clock that seems to be counting down to something—but to what? And when someone close to Janelle is killed, she can no longer deny what's right in front of her: Everything that's happened—the accident, the murder, the countdown clock, Ben's sudden appearance in her life—points to the end of life as she knows it. And as the clock ticks down, she realizes that if she wants to put a stop to the end of the world, she's going to need to uncover Ben's secrets—and keep from falling in love with him in the process.From debut author Elizabeth Norris comes this shattering novel of one girl's fight to save herself, her world, and the boy she never saw coming.
My Thoughts:
Janelle is a very hard working 17 year old. She basically takes care of her family. Her mother is suffering from a bi-polar disorder and her father is always away working. That leaves Janelle taking care of her brother Jared. Things are not easy for Janelle but she deals with it in a very mature manner. I really liked that about her. She was strong.
Janelle is dating the popular boy in school, but with that comes the evil ex's! After her car got destroyed, Janelle decides to take a run, to pick up her brother. While on this run, she is hit by a car, and dies.
But she does not really die. She is brought back to life somehow. By a boy named Ben. But who is Ben? And what the heck is going on? The doctors and everyone are baffled in the hospital. This girl should be really hurt. If not "Dead". But, she was. Or was she? Janelle is just as confused. And ready for some answers!
Her father is a FBI agent. People have been showing up dead. What is going on. Why are they dying from radiation? Until they find something that no one is sure of how to stop it. Janelle is not sure. But she feels like she knows some how. Some way this is all linked together. And Janelle must figure this out, before the time is over. (tick tock) <-- [ok I totally just did that]
This is one of those action packed books that will hook you at the very 1st page. You will want to know what is going to happen. HAVE to know what is going to happen. All the while in the back of your head you can hear the clock ticking down. Closer & closer to the end.
I really enjoyed all of the characters in the book. Janelle was a very strong. Determined character! Alex was a very amazing friend to Janelle and I really loved that connection! & then there in Ben. The mysterious Ben. He has compassion and is very very smart. The things that happen between Ben and Janelle will have you hoping and then leaving you with your heart in pieces.
This is a very different YA book then any I have read before. The mystery mixed in with the Sci-Fi. You will never really "know" what is going to happen. I loved that, the plot was very strong as well as the characters. I was very glad that I got to review this book. I look forward to more writing from Elizabeth Norris. She wrote an amazing story that had my heart pounding from start to finish! 


Thursday, April 19, 2012

Let's Talk Covers (11)

This week on Let's Talk Covers
Mermaids.
*I read my first "mer" book and I loved it. Now I need to read more*



Fourteen-year-old Luce has had a tough life, but she reaches the depths of despair when she is assaulted and left on the cliffs outside of a grim, gray Alaskan fishing village. She expects to die when she tumbles into the icy waves below, but instead undergoes an astonishing transformation and becomes a mermaid. A tribe of mermaids finds Luce and welcomes her in—all of them, like her, lost girls who surrendered their humanity in the darkest moments of their lives. Luce is thrilled with her new life until she discovers the catch: the mermaids feel an uncontrollable desire to drown seafarers, using their enchanted voices to lure ships into the rocks. Luce possesses an extraordinary singing talent, which makes her important to the tribe—she may even have a shot at becoming their queen. However her struggle to retain her humanity puts her at odds with her new friends. Will Luce be pressured into committing mass murder? The first book in a trilogy, Lost Voices is a captivating and wildly original tale about finding a voice, the healing power of friendship, and the strength it takes to forgive.


Tempest Maguire wants nothing more than to surf the killer waves near her California home; continue her steady relationship with her boyfriend, Mark; and take care of her brothers and surfer dad. But Tempest is half mermaid, and as her seventeenth birthday approaches, she will have to decide whether to remain on land or give herself to the ocean like her mother. The pull of the water becomes as insistent as her attraction to Kai, a gorgeous surfer whose uncanny abilities hint at an otherworldly identity as well. And when Tempest does finally give in to the water's temptation and enters a fantastical underwater world, she finds that a larger destiny awaits her-and that the entire ocean's future hangs in the balance.

Princess Margrethe has been hidden away while her kingdom is at war. One gloomy, windswept morning, as she stands in a convent garden overlooking the icy sea, she witnesses a miracle: a glittering mermaid emerging from the waves, a nearly drowned man in her arms. By the time Margrethe reaches the shore, the mermaid has disappeared into the sea. As Margrethe nurses the handsome stranger back to health, she learns that not only is he a prince, he is also the son of her father's greatest rival. Sure that the mermaid brought this man to her for a reason, Margrethe devises a plan to bring peace to her kingdom.

Meanwhile, the mermaid princess Lenia longs to return to the human man she carried to safety. She is willing to trade her home, her voice, and even her health for legs and the chance to win his heart...

A surprising take on the classic tale, Mermaid is the story of two women with everything to lose. It will make you think twice about the fairy tale you heard as a child, keeping you in suspense until the very last page.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (4/18)


This week I am Waiting On



A new series featuring a teenage girl who loses her family in a crash, only to wake up to a world of zombies and zombie slaying, as well as a bad boy who could save or destroy her.
Expected Publication: September 25th 2012
Publisher: Harlequin Teen

My gosh. Can this book be more perfect sounding! Look at that cover! *sigh* Cannot wait!


What are you waiting on this week?

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday: New Blogger Tips


Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish
This weeks Topic is:
Top Ten Tips: For New Bloggers



Tips I Talk About:
  • Blogger Courtesy
  • Time
  • Honesty
  • Comments
  • Do Meme's
  • Social Media Network
  • Blogging Friends
  • Never Bash Authors
  • Review Policy
  • Contact Info
Happy Tuesday & Happy Reading

Review: Glimmer by Phoebe Kitandis

Hardcover: 352 pages
Published: April 17th 2012

Publisher: Balzer + Bray
ISBN: 0061799289 
ISBN13: 9780061799280
Received: Arc from Publisher
Series: Standalone
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge
What if you forgot your identity and had to rely on other people to tell you who you were?
And what if to discover your true self, you first had to unravel a mystery so big and terrifying you were not sure you’d survive solving it?
When Marshall and Elyse wake up in each other’s arms with zero memory of how they got there or who they are, it’s the start of a long journey through their separate pasts and shared future.
Terrified by their amnesia, the two make a pact to work together to find the answers that could jog their missing memories. As they piece together clues, they discover they’re in the idyllic mountain resort town of Summer Falls, where everyone seems mysteriously happy, but as Marshall and Elyse quickly learn, darkness lurks beneath the town’s perfect facade. Not only is the town haunted by sinister ghosts, but none of its living inhabitants retain bad memories of anything—not the death of Marshall’s mom, not the hidden shame in Elyse’s family, not even the day-to-day anguish of high school.
Lonely in this world of happy zombies, Marsh and Elyse fall into an intense relationship...but the secrets they uncover could be the death of this growing love—and the death of everyone, and everything, they love in Summer Falls.

My Thoughts:
Am I the ONLY one that thought this book was about... zombies? I mean really? Because it in no way shape or form was about.. Zombies!
Eylse & Marshall was up in bed together, naked. They don't know each other. So that was, and would have been rather odd. Right?
They really don't remember anything at all. They cannot even recall why they are in bed together. Obviously being drugged, Eylse & Marshall have to figure out what has happened to them. I really liked and didn't like this book... This really makes writing a review complicated. Was it the characters? No. I liked them both. Well, I liked Elyse until she deemed herself a "slut" because she could not remember anything.. but she obviously had a boyfriend, and woke up with another boy... Without knowing what the heck is going on.. why would you call your self that. She was judgmental and after a while, reading her chapters were something that I wasn't looking forward too. (This book is told in alternating POV's)
This is a short length book with a lot of information, and amazing cool things happening. I just felt that each thing didn't get enough time. With all the things and elements that this book dealt with. Which every element of this book was intriguing. Fascinating. I really liked it all. I just would have liked more. Everything was.. kind of rushed.
Overall this was an great book. With fantastic elements, and interesting characters. You will be turning the pages, wanting so much more. But for me that is where the problem was for me. Wanting more and a little confused.


Sunday, April 15, 2012

Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Hardcover: 390 pages
Published: August 24th 2010

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
ISBN: 0439023513 
ISBN13: 9780439023511
Series: The Hunger Games #3
Received: Bought
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge, 2012 TBR Challenge
My name is Katniss Everdeen. Why am I not dead? I should be dead.Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss's family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.It is by design that Katniss was rescued from the arena in the cruel and haunting Quarter Quell, and it is by design that she has long been part of the revolution without knowing it. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Everyone, it seems, has had a hand in the carefully laid plains--except Katniss.The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss's willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels' Mockingjay--no matter what the personal cost.
My Thoughts:
After being in the Hunger Games, and surviving 2 times. Katniss is done. After being "taken" out of the last Hunger Games. Peeta was left behind. Only to get captured by the Capitol. And used against Katniss. He was her weakness, and President Snow knew what he was doing. District 12 is gone. No longer the home Katniss has known. Ashes are left. Bodies are what decorates the Districts grounds. The bombs leaving really nothing left behind but the Victors homes. The place that she and the friends and family that are alive, is District 13. The place where The Capitol said there was.. nothing. There are people there.. and Katniss must make the decision to become the Mockingjay. Katniss will have battles to fight. People that she loves to protect. She will loose friends along the way. But her one goal. The one thing that Katniss wants more then anything.. assassinate President Snow.
But when the times comes. What will Katniss do? Who will she trust. Better yet, who will deceive her?
Mockingjay was a more on the slower side. It took me a bit to actually get into Mockingjay. But, after some time Suzanne Collins had your face placed back into the book turning that pages, needing to know what was going to happen. 
Katniss went from being depressed to doing what she needed to do. She was strong as always. Not ever knowing what laid in front of her. 
Near the ending of Mockingjay Katniss will lose someone near and dear to her. Leaving her lost. Leaving her unable to forgive. 
Katniss never making a choice at the end, is what I didn't really like.. She just knew she could never forgive. But, never a choice ever came out of her mouth. It was like she was saying "your left.. so, yeah" That is really the only part I did not like. 
Other then that I thought that Mockingjay was a great addition to The Hunger Games. 
I am sad to see that the series for me has finally come to an end. 

Saturday, April 14, 2012

In My Mailbox (4/14)

In My Mailbox is created by Kristi @ The Story Siren

This week I got:


Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer
So Close To You by Rachel Carter
Team Human by Justine Larbalestier & Sarah Rees Brennan
The False Price by Jennifer Neilsen
Born At Midnight by C.C Hunter
Fairy Metal Thunder by J.L. Bryan
Fairy Blues by J.L. Bryan
Fairystruck by J.L. Bryan
Graveminder by Melissa Marr
Take A Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg
Thanks Grace @ Livre De Amour
In the video I spelled it like my daughters middle name. Amor. Sorry ;)

What did you all get in your mailbox this week? I hope that you had a great week! Until next time..
HAPPY READING!



On My Wishlist (4/14)




On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This week On My Wishlist:

Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.Ismae's most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?
This book sounds so good. The reviews I have read have been really really good! Can't wait to get this one and read it.

Friday, April 13, 2012

Review: The Girl in The Park by Mariah Fredericks

Hardcover: 224 pages
Expected Publication: April 24th 2012
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
ISBN: 0375868437 
ISBN13: 9780375868436
Series: Standalone
Received: eGalley via NetGalley
Challenges: 2012 Goodreads Challenge, 2012 YA Contemporary Challenge
When Wendy Geller's body is found in Central Park after the night of a rager, newspaper headlines scream,"Death in the Park: Party Girl Found Strangled." But shy Rain, once Wendy's best friend, knows there was more to Wendy than just "party girl." As she struggles to separate the friend she knew from the tangle of gossip and headlines, Rain becomes determined to discover the truth about the murder. Written in a voice at once immediate, riveting, and utterly convincing, Mariah Frederick's mystery brilliantly exposes the cracks in this exclusive New York City world and the teenagers that move within it.
My Thoughts:
The Girl in the Park was a very fast, interesting read. In as little as only 200+ pages I got a great story. Fredericks really delivered with this one. It took me a couple chapters to get “into” the book. But, after that I had no problem at all giving The Girl In The Park all of my attention.
Wendy hung out with the wrong people. The party girl that she became led her to something that she could not come back from. Wendy for me was not one of my favorite characters. She was rather selfish, and just wanted to do what she wanted.. even though her choices, made her seem incredibly .. what’s the word?... stupid. Yes, she just wanted to be loved. But, doing the things she did was not the way to go about it. Being the popular girl in school comes with having enemies as well.
Rain feels that she must find out what has happened to Wendy. Even though she and Wendy really have not been since Wendy just left Rain, for her new life. The Popular life. Rain feels she should do something, anything. To help find out what happened. Who had done this to Wendy? And Why? After their last encounter before Wendy’s death. Rain just knows that something was off about Wendy. The way she was acting maybe? Something was totally not right with her. Rain sets out to find out exactly what was going on with Wendy, and how she ended up dying.
While reading The Girl in the Park, you as a reader will get to know the person that Wendy was. How she ended up being the person she died as.
Fredericks really wrote a bone chilling, murder mystery. These are never easy books to read. Espically when lives are taken.
I was relieved to see that Fredericks kept you on your toes. Once I was sure I knew who the killer was, until I doubted myself. The writing keeps you wanting to know what is going to happen. You feel for the characters. You want the best for them. You see things happening, that you wish would be prevented, but in life that’s not how things goes. This book was a great fast, day time read!! Day time, because you know.. Me.. I am seriously scared at night, when I read things like this. Overall, this was a very enjoyable read. With a satisfying ending!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs