Saturday, March 31, 2012

In My Mailbox (3/31)



 In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren

This week I got:

Something Strange & Deadly by Susan Dennard
Belles by Jen Calonita
The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen
Inhale by Kendall Grey
Touched by an Angel (Books 1-3) by Elizabeth Chandler
Thank you Alexa!
Beyonders by Brandon Mull 
Thank you Ashley
Baby Proof by Emily Griffin
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith
The Forsaken by Estevan Vega
Hell Transporter by Cyndi Tefft

What did you get this week? Link me below so I can stalk you.
Happy Reading



Review: Dead To You by Lisa McMann

Hardcover: 243 pages
Published: February 7th 2012
Publisher: Simon Pulse
ISBN: 1442403888 
ISBN13: 9781442403888
Series: Standalone
Received: Bought
Challenges: 2012 YA Contemporary Challenge, 2012 Goodreads Challenge
Ethan was abducted from his front yard when he was just seven years old. Now, at sixteen, he has returned to his family. It's a miracle... at first. Then the tensions start to build. His reintroduction to his old life isn't going smoothly, and his family is tearing apart all over again. If only Ethan could remember something, anything, about his life before, he'd be able to put the pieces back together. But there's something that's keeping his memory blocked. Something unspeakable...
My Thoughts:
Wow. What can I say about this book that would do it justice? Nothing. But I am going to try. This was amazing read with a BIG finale! It was a omg-I-think-I-am-going-to-stare-at-this-last-page-for-20-minuets-with-my-mouth-hanging-open GOOD!
This is a story of a boy, Ethan. One day he was just playing outside with his brother, Blake. When a car pulled up, Ethan walked over to it, and got in. Nothing was ever the same for the DeWilde family, because Ethan was kidnapped. Until out of the blue, 9 years later, after finally finding his family online, Ethan returns home to his family.
Ethan cannot remember anything. Small things he thinks he remember's just isn't quite right. Why can he not remember anything? Searching boxes he found in the basement marked ETHAN. He tries to uncover some missing pieces in his life. Pictures, toys, clothes, but nothing seems to trigger any sort of memory. No matter how hard he tries. His brother, Blake is distant. Not sure of what to think about his brother Ethan's sudden return. He just cannot leave this feeling that he has alone. But what is it?
After some digging Blake finally feels he has found it. Exactly what he was looking for about his brother, Ethan. But, everything seems to backfire on Blake, leaving Ethan wondering why is he doing this to him! Why? Until that one day, a knock at the door will change them all, forever.


I really liked Ethan as the MC, he was so misunderstood, and my heart broke for him, because he just could not get the missing pieces that he was needing to find.
Blake, the younger brother, the middle child. I really liked him at the begining. He was standoffish, because here it is. 9 years later, his brother is home, but he doesn't know him. But he wants to so badly, just understand.. "Why did you get into that car"
Gracie, she was such a sweet kid. She was really was not sure how to react. This stranger she has never met, is here, and staying. Her brother. Until she finally broke her guard she had. I loved the moments Gracie and Ethan shared. They were very powerful. Beautiful..
Overall, this book had me on my toes, and the finale, was a punch. But, I felt that it was such a great book that left you wondering, thinking, what now?

Lisa McMann, wrote a beautiful story about tragic events. I was pulled into this book with such emotions, that the last page left my heart broken.
This book for me, was just right down amazing!


On My Wishlist (3/31)

On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This week On My Wishlist


Three tales of supernatural love, each pivoting on a kiss that is no mere kiss, but an action with profound consequences for the kissers' souls:Goblin Fruit: In Victorian times, goblin men had only to offer young girls sumptuous fruits to tempt them to sell their souls. But what does it take to tempt today's savvy girls?Spicy Little Curses: A demon and the ambassador to Hell tussle over the soul of a beautiful English girl in India. Matters become complicated when she falls in love and decides to test her curse.Hatchling: Six days before Esme's fourteenth birthday, her left eye turns from brown to blue. She little suspects what the change heralds, but her small safe life begins to unravel at once. What does the beautiful, fanged man want with her, and how is her fate connected to a mysterious race of demons?
What is on your wishlist this week? Tell me! Have you read this book? Was it good?

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Review: Touch Of Frost by Jennifer Estep

Paperback: 350 pages
Published: August 1st 2011
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corp
ISBN: 0758266928 
ISBN13: 9780758266927
Series: Mythos Academy #1
Received: Bought
Recommended by: Alexa @ Pages Of Forbidden Love
Challenges: 2012 TBR Challenge, 2012 Goodreads Challenge
My name is Gwen Frost, and I go to Mythos Academy—a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody's head with a sword and Logan Quinn, the hottest Spartan guy in school, also happens to be the deadliest. But lately, things have been weird, even for Mythos. First, mean girl Jasmine Ashton was murdered in the Library of Antiquities. Then, someone stole the Bowl of Tears, a magical artifact that can be used to bring about the second Chaos War. You know, death, destruction and lots of other bad, bad things. Freaky stuff like this goes on all the time at Mythos, but I'm determined to find out who killed Jasmine and why—especially since I should have been the one who died. . .
My Thoughts: 
I really loved this book. I cannot wait to go on to the next one to see what all happens! So much happened in the book, but I was not overwhelmed at all with the information. I was more, satisfied. I felt it all flowed rather nicely. The begining was a tab slow, but it kept me wanting to know more about Gwen, and what was happening! After some major events happened I was hooked until the very last page!
Gwen has to go to Mythos Academy. But she feels that she is so out of place here. A place of warriors, magic, and a bunch of kick ass mean girls. 
Gwen is not your regular popular girl. She is more of a hidden, hoodie wearing, comic reading girl who likes to stay under the radar. That and she just cannot seem to make friends at Mythos. Gwen is the Gypsy Girl. Her gift lets her see things, where they are. That what she is known for at Mythos. Helping the kids find things, for a fee that is. So why is she here? At this school where she seems so out of place! Among theses great students with great gifts? 
Gwen is soon to find out, that she is so much more then she ever thought, or that her family told her about. Gwen is soon to make a choice. 
I loved Gwen as the main character! She was smart, witty & her personality was so easy to like while reading. After tragic events takes place, a life is taken, and Gwen just cannot seem to stomach the fact that no one really cares about what happened. It is like they are acting like it never really did. So Gwen takes it upon her self to find out what the heck is going on at Mythos Academy. 
While snooping around, she runs into Logan, literally. Logan is a Spartan! A hot, bad ass spartan. *sigh*
Logan is know rather well at Mythos, for many reasons. Some not so good. But, Gwen cannot help liking the Spartan. I could not either. But, at the ending... I really wanted to be like:
"Yo, yummy spartan, what the deal-o? Why are you acting like this to Gwen!?... hmmm?"
He is such a mysterious character, and I cannot wait to learn more about Logan Freaking Quinn!
Daphne, at first I didn't like her, or her pack of mean girl friends. Jasmine + Morgan are still on that list. But, Daphne really changed during the book. She was a great character and grew on me as well. I am really glad that her and Gwen could see eye to eye, and be friends! 
& Vic, oh my. Vic was a funny little blood loving thing! 
Overall, Touch Of Frost was a great start to what I feel is going to be an amazing series. I cannot wait to contiune on with Kiss Of Frost that is sitting on my shelf screaming:
"Hey, Logan is in here... you know you wanna read it!!"
So, it won't be long before I am moving on to it.
Jennifer Estep did an amazing job with bringing this story to life for me! Amazing!  
“What did you expect? That he'd send you flowers and write you bad poetry? That dead Nemean prowler is pretty much as close to a stuffed animal as you're ever going to get from a Spartan like Logan Quinn.”

Let's Talk Covers (8)

This week on Let's Talk Covers
I don't know how the weather has been in your area, but here it has been BEAUTIFUL.
In celebration I am going to show you some covers I like that have
*Sunglasses

Phyre knows there is something life-changing about her new drama teacher, Mia, from the moment they meet. As Phyre rehearses for the school play, she comes to realize that the unrequited feelings she has for Mia go deeper than she’s ever experienced. Especially with a teacher. Or a woman. All the while, Phyre’s best friend—addressed throughout the story in the second person, as "you"—stands by, ready to help Phyre make sense of her feelings. But just as Mia doesn’t understand what Phyre feels, Phyre can’t fathom the depth of her best friend’s feelings . . . until it’s almost too late for a happy ending. Characters come to life through the innovative screenplay format of this dazzling debut, and unanswered questions—is "you" male or female?—will have readers talking.

Why I chose this cover: I love the heart shaped shades. The red lips. Very Bold cover.

Colby and Bev have a long-standing pact: graduate, hit the road with Bev’s band, and then spend the year wandering around Europe. But moments after the tour kicks off, Bev makes a shocking announcement: she’s abandoning their plans—and Colby—to start college in the fall. 

But the show must go on and The Disenchantments weave through the Pacific Northwest, playing in small towns and dingy venues, while roadie-Colby struggles to deal with Bev’s already-growing distance and the most important question of all: what’s next? 

Morris Award–finalist Nina LaCour draws together the beauty and influences of music and art to brilliantly capture a group of friends on the brink of the rest of their lives. 

Why I chose this cover: This is just a fun cover. From the big glasses (Which are my favorite) to the rainbow shit. I just love the colors. This cover really grabs you.

When Katarina Bishop was three, her parents took her on a trip to the Louvre…to case it. For her seventh birthday, Katarina and her Uncle Eddie traveled to Austria…to steal the crown jewels. When Kat turned fifteen, she planned a con of her own—scamming her way into the best boarding school in the country, determined to leave the family business behind. Unfortunately, leaving “the life” for a normal life proves harder than she’d expected.
Soon, Kat's friend and former co-conspirator, Hale, appears out of nowhere to bring Kat back into the world she tried so hard to escape. But he has a good reason: a powerful mobster has been robbed of his priceless art collection and wants to retrieve it. Only a master thief could have pulled this job, and Kat's father isn't just on the suspect list, he is the list. Caught between Interpol and a far more deadly enemy, Kat’s dad needs her help.
For Kat, there is only one solution: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it's a spectacularly impossible job? She's got two weeks, a teenage crew, and hopefully just enough talent to pull off the biggest heist in her family's history--and, with any luck, steal her life back along the way.

Why I chose this cover: This was a fun book itself, and the cover goes with the book I feel. The reflection in the glasses, the smirk. Love it.


When plain and unpopular Annie Nutter gets zapped by one of her dad's whacked-out inventions, she lands in a parallel universe where her life becomes picture-perfect. Now she's Ayla Monroe, daughter of the same mother but a different father—and she's the gorgeous, rich queen bee of her high school. 

In this universe, Ayla lives in glitzy Miami instead of dreary Pittsburgh and has beaucoup bucks, courtesy of her billionaire—if usually absent—father. Her friends hit the clubs, party backstage at concerts, and take risks that are exhilirating . . . and illegal. Here she's got a date to lose her V-card with the hottest guy she's ever seen.

But on the inside, Ayla is still Annie.

So when she's offered the chance to leave the dream life and head home to Pittsburgh, will she take it?

The choice isn't as simple as you think.

Why I chose this cover: This one grabs you as well. The colors. Just by looking at this cover I WANT to read it. 

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (3/ 28)


This week I am "Waiting On"


Whitley Johnson's dream summer with her divorced dad has turned into a nightmare. She's just met his new fiancée and her kids. The fiancée's son? Whitley's one-night stand from graduation night. Just freakin' great. Worse, she totally doesn't fit in with her dad's perfect new country-club family. So Whitley acts out. She parties. Hard. So hard she doesn't even notice the good things right under her nose: a sweet little future stepsister who is just about the only person she's ever liked, a best friend (even though Whitley swears she doesn't "do" friends), and a smoking-hot guy who isn't her stepbrother...at least, not yet. It will take all three of them to help Whitley get through her anger and begin to put the pieces of her family together. Filled with authenticity and raw emotion, Whitley is Kody Keplinger's most compelling character to date: a cynical Holden Caulfield-esque girl you will wholly care about.
Publication Date: June 5th 2012
Publisher: Poppy
A Midsummer's Nightmare

Spring Cleaning: Giveaway



OVER! THANK YOU TO ALL WHO ENTERED! 
WINNER WAS KATIE W.
LOOK FOR MORE GIVEAWAYS SOON!


I am Spring Cleaning! What does that mean for you? Giveaway! ARC Giveaway that is. A lot of these books I received in doubles. OR I have already got them when the released. As you know I am a book-buying-aholic, so the more room I have on my shelves, the better for me.. not my wallet ;)
So here we go. There will be 1 winner. & that one lucky winner will win 10 books! All ARC's in perfect condition. (I treat my books very nicely) I have added some pictures of them. They are now in a box sitting in the corner with some added swag, ready to be shipped to the winner!
Here are the Rules:

This Giveaway is U.S only! 
(Sorry, I am shipping them myself, and shipping costs internationally are crazy)

You must be 13 or older
(if you are not, I will need some sort of parent permission)
You do not have to be a blog follower to enter the giveaway! It is optional!
BUT ALWAYS APPRECIATED!
You can come back DAILY for extra points, by Tweeting
Please DO NOT enter via COMMENT.
(If you do not see the Rafflecopter form, Refresh, It can be stubborn at times)
This giveaway will last from:
March 28th UNTIL April 25th @ 11:59pm (Eastern)

As always Good Luck & Thanks for entering!!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Review: Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf

Hardcover: 354 pages
Expected Publication: April 24th 2012
Publisher: Walker Childrens
ISBN: 0802723527 

ISBN13: 9780802723529
Series: Standalone
Received: Netgalley ARC
Buy: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository 
Challenges: 2012 Debut Author Challenge, 2012 YA Contemporary Challenge, 2012 Goodreads Challenge
Allie lost everything the night her boyfriend, Trip, died in a horrible car accident—including her memory of the event. As their small town mourns his death, Allie is afraid to remember because doing so means delving into what she’s kept hidden for so long: the horrible reality of their abusive relationship.
When the police reopen the investigation, it casts suspicion on Allie and her best friend, Blake, especially as their budding romance raises eyebrows around town. Allie knows she must tell the truth. Can she reach deep enough to remember that night so she can finally break free? Debut writer Jennifer Shaw Wolf takes readers on an emotional ride through the murky waters of love, shame, and, ultimately, forgiveness.
My Thoughts:  
From the very 1st page in Breaking Beautiful I was hooked. You know, from the blurb that Allie has lost her boyfriend Trip, in a car accident. The accident that left Allie alive. But what you don't know will shock you, and emotionally entwine you into the character that is Allie. 
Allie and her twin brother, Andrew, have such a great bond. Even though Andrew has daily disabilities, he wants to be in control of his life. He just wants to be as normal as he can be. He loves his sister, very much. 
You get a look into Allie's past life, glimpses of her relationship and how it may not have been as perfect as everyone thought. What happened that night of the car accident? Why can Allie not remember? Or does she? 
Trip and Allie both had dysfunctional families. Trip was not taught how to be a man by his father, but rather a monster.One who had Allie, terrified. I really did not like Trip's father. He was a creep, and just something about him was off. His mother seemed rather, blank. Later you will understand why. She knew, all along.  Allie's family on the other hand was just really to me, nothing. They had no good advice, the things that her mother said was just wrong, inconsiderate. I really did not like her. Allie's father has spent more time away from the family then in it. He is in the Army. So when he started being around all the time this was hard for Allie. He was overbearing. 
Both families had some serious issues that they needed to work out. But, that time for Trip was over. He was gone. Allie was alive. 
She has to try to remember what happened, or rather admit that things were not the greatest. A Detective comes to town, wanting to question Allie more about the case. It seems that Trip's father just can't walk away. He has his suspicions. But they could be further from the truth.
I really liked Blake. He really liked Allie. He was there for her. Then when she starts remembering more, she realizes he may know more then he is saying. 
After Allie finds a note in her locker, written in Trips handwriting, she is scared, and confused. What is going on? Is Trip alive? No, he cannot be. Then what is happening. Who is taunting Allie & why?
Jennifer Shaw Wolf's debut novel for me was amazing. The writing kept me turning the pages. The mystery was intriguing. Everything about Allie, and this life that she had hidden for so long, had me so emotionally wrapped into the words in this book, my heart broke for her. Then, I felt joy for her. Beautifully Broken, was one of those books, you will remember days after you have read it.. you will be left in awe.



Top Ten Tuesday (3/27)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke & The Bookish
This weeks Topic is:
Spring Fever: Top Ten Books I'd Play Hooky With

These are books that I want to read! Now!


A Lot of these don't come out until later this year, I know. But these are some I have been dying to read! 
What books did you choose?

Monday, March 26, 2012

April Page Count: @ Reading Angel


Page Count Contest


My good friend Angela from Reading Angel is having a cool new feature thing on her blog that sounds really fun!! I am spreading the word, so.. Here is how this is going to work. In her words. Because I did copy & paste! ;)

Take is away Angel:


I don't know about you guys but have been needing some motivation to get some reading done.
Years back I used to do a page count contest both on paperback swap at one point and on shelfari. They were both run a little differently, but they were really fun and they really helped to motivate me to get through my books!!
So I thought I would do something similar here on my blog if any of you were interested in playing along!And oh yeah!! There will be some awesome giveaways included!If it goes well I may continue to do it in future months :)

Here's how it will work-

  • Each week this month I will post a google doc where you submit each book you read as you finish it, including your name, email, book title, author, page count, and a brief sentence telling me whether or not you recommend the book.
  • At the end of each week I will post a Top 10 or Top 20 for THAT week (depending on how many people sign up) with the new google doc.
  • At the end of the month I will post the Top 10 or Top 20 OVERALL.
THE GIVEAWAYS-
  • 3 Winners will get either a $15 dollar Amazon GC, or a $15 book of your choice from book depository  
  • The OVERALL top page count reader will receive one prize
  • One RANDOM winner from the OVERALL Top 20 readers will win one prize
  • One RANDOM winner from ALL 4 WEEKS lists of Top 20 readers will win one prize (that means you only have to be on the list for one week to be entered in the giveaway!)
The Nuts and Bolts 
  • I know that some books have larger font and less words on pages, but there's nothing to be done about that. It all just kinda works out in the end. Just read what you normally read.
  • There is nothing I can do to PROVE that people are reading what they say they are reading. We are working on the honor system here people.
  • What books count? Any adult, or YA book - fiction or non-fiction. NO children's books, NO picture books.
  • Must be 13 or older to enter
  • Must be able to receive books from book depository or amazon GCs to enter giveaway 
Ready to sign-up???

Then Go Right HERE and enter the linky on Angela's Blog

Sunday, March 25, 2012

The Hunger Games: Movie

Wow. Seriously wow. The Hunger Games is up there with some of my Favorite books, ever! I was very excited / nervous as to how the movie would turn out. Can I just say, Hollywood did not let me down.
I was skeptical about the actors. BUT, wow did they all do so WELL! Jennifer played Katniss. I mean she WAS Katniss. *Sigh*. Gale was hot *ahem*,great in the movie. I can't wait to see more of him, in the next movie. Which means, I have to read Catching Fire. Yes, I know.. NO I have NOT read Catching Fire, or the last installment Mockingjay. But, I did just pick up Catching Fire. Yes, I NEED to know, what in the world is going on next!
I just wanted to say that I really loved it. I am not going to include any spoilers, just know. This movie packs big emotions. I cried. Ok, not cried / cried. I shed some tears during the Rue scene! But, I was prepared. *Waterproof Mascara*
I am in *awe* right now. I am so ready to watch it again. Which I know I will. 


My Cinna APPROVED eyes =)

May The Odds be Ever in Your Favor

In My Mailbox (3/25)


In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren
This week on In My Mailbox






Elemental by Emily White + Swag
Wander Dust by Michelle Warren 


Impossible by Nancy Werlin
The Virgin's Lover by Philippa Gregory 
The Merchants Daughter by Melanie Dickerson
Blood Love & Other Vampire Tales by Rhiannon Frater
Prada & Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard
So Many Boys by Suzanne Young
First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones
Love the One You're With by Emily Griffin
Bless Your Heart, Tramp (& other Southern Endearments) by Celia Rivenbark
Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari
Betrayal by Mayandee Michel
Empty by Suzanne Weyn 
Gone by Michael Grant
Anathema by Megg Jensen
Glamour by Penelope Fletcher
Dead City by Joe McKinney
As The World Dies: The Untold Tales VOL 1 
As The World Dies: The Untold Tales VOL 2

That's All for Me.
What did you get in your mailbox?
Leave me your Link below!
Have you read any of the books I got? 
Let me know what you thought!

Saturday, March 24, 2012

On My Wishlist (3/24)



On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This week On My Wishlist:

Twelve-year-old Hope’s life is turned upside down when her older sister, Lizzie, becomes an elective mute and is institutionalized after trying to kill herself. Hope and Lizzie have relied on each other from a young age, ever since the death of their father. Their mother, who turns tricks to support her family, is a reluctant and unreliable parent—at best. During the course of this lyrical and heartbreaking narrative from an exceptionally promising YA voice, readers will discover the chilling reason why Lizzie has stopped speaking—and why Hope is the only one who can bring the truth to light and save her sister.

This book sounds SO good. And it is Verse! I love Verse novels!
What are you wishing for this week?

Friday, March 23, 2012

Giveaway: Wanderlove by Kristen Hubbard

Have you ever read a book that has stuck with you after? Like that's all you can think about, how amazing it was!
I was so moved by Wanderlove. It was such a wonderful story!
I have to spread the love. 
1 winner will win Wanderlove.
If you have not heard about it, here is the blurb. Then scroll down to enter!


It all begins with a stupid question:

Are you a Global Vagabond?
No, but 18-year-old Bria Sandoval wants to be. In a quest for independence, her neglected art, and no-strings-attached hookups, she signs up for a guided tour of Central America—the wrong one. Middle-aged tourists with fanny packs are hardly the key to self-rediscovery. When Bria meets Rowan, devoted backpacker and dive instructor, and his outspokenly humanitarian sister Starling, she seizes the chance to ditch her group and join them off the beaten path.Bria's a good girl trying to go bad. Rowan's a bad boy trying to stay good. As they travel across panorama of Mayan villages, remote Belizean islands, and hostels plagued with jungle beasties, they discover what they've got in common: both seek to leave behind the old versions of themselves. And the secret to escaping the past, Rowan’s found, is to keep moving forward.But Bria comes to realize she can't run forever, no matter what Rowan says. If she ever wants the courage to fall for someone worthwhile, she has to start looking back.Kirsten Hubbard lends her artistry to this ultimate backpacker novel, weaving her drawings into the text. Her career as a travel writer and her experiences as a real-life vagabond backpacking Central America are deeply seeded in this inspiring story.
RULES:
Enter to win on the Rafflecopter form.
No comment entries will be accepted.
You may choose to be a blog follower it is NOT mandatory.
I love new followers & it is greatly appreciated.
This giveaway IS INTERNATIONAL
Please make sure TBD ships to your country!
This giveaway will last from 
March 23rd until April 5th 2012 @ 11:59pm (Eastern)
Good Luck

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Pure by Jennifer Armentrout

Paperback: 329 pages
Expected Publication: April 3rd 2012
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
ISBN: 0983157227 
ISBN13: 9780983157229
Series: Covenant #2
Challenge: 2012 Goodreads Reading Challenge
Received: ARC from Publisher
There is need. And then there is Fate... Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn't exactly awesome--especially when Alexandria's "other half" is everywhere she goes. Seth's in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom--so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. Or what he will do--and sacrifice--for her.
When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies--lesser gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods, and that includes the Apollyon... and Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn't blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude... or killing her.When the gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone.

My Thoughts:
After the attack at Lake Lure, and the choices Alex had to make in Half-Blood. She is just trying to get her life back to normal. But being the next Apollyon, that is something that seems will never happen for Alex.
Back at the Coveant training her ass off. Trying to get up to date with all of the other students. Since her time away from the Covenant she has a lot of catching up to do. Which takes a lot of training. And a lot of time with Aiden, who she wants so badly. But, that is something that can never happen. Pure's and Half-Bloods are not to be together. These training sessions also give her more time with Seth, who is training her to become the next Apollyon. In this book you will learn a lot more about Seth. Your feelings towards him may change a lot. I know for me, they did. In book #1 (Half-Blood) I really, really didn't like him, but I didn't 'hate' him, but I just didn't like his smug-ness. In Pure, I was so confused. Not by the book. By the way I was starting to feel about Seth & Alex. Because I wanted so much for her to be with Aiden, but I am now not sure that is what is best for Alex. I am not sure if she is just wasting her time and feelings on something that she can't have when here is Seth.... Fate. Then there is Aiden. I mean come on, it's freaking Aiden. There are some moments in Pure between Alex & Aiden where you are like "YES, Aiden is in love with her too" Then, he goes and acts like a major douche (yes, I said douche in my review). And you literally want to jump in the book, be like "WTF AIDEN, REALLY? WHAT IS YOUR DEAL?" shake him, then bounce.
Alex cannot get a break. Besides the Damion attacks she has to worry about someone trying to set her up. But who? 
After Alex loses someone very important to her, she is just lost. Seth helps her mend the pieces and try to move on from this. This is when my I knew somewhere under all the smugness, Seth actually had a heart. He cared for Alex. A lot. And this is also when my battle being Team Aiden was put to the side and I was left wondering... Is Aiden who she should be with? 
The moments between Seth and Alex are so ... touching. And yes, some are just right down hot. But that's besides the point...
*wink*
There are twists and turns throughout Pure. You will not know what to expect when you turn the page.
After some major things that happen in Pure that will leave you mad, sad, and just plain distraught. (You will be wanting to kick some Daimon ass). Alex has to go to trial. Before The Council. To tell about what happened in Gatlinburg. During this trial, things just go all wrong. It seems like Telly is trying to make Alex look like she is something bad. Like she is planning something. 
But after Alex warned them of something she was told by the Oracle, they blatantly ignored her. They are left with a bigger mess to clean up. The ending will leave you amazed at the amount awesomeness that Alex contains. Alex is bad ass. No other way to say it. She takes no crap. She has a hard time controlling her temper and will break bad on you with the quickest. 
"That was pretty much when the Guards behind me decided they were going to try to make me do this. And that is when I decided I was going to be hitting someone again."
Jennifer Armentrout has such an amazing talent in writing. She has the gift to create this amazing story that sucks you in from the very 1st page, and leaves you looking at the book wanting more, so much more. 
Armentrout has created these boys Aiden & Seth who I now love, I need counseling after reading this book, I have no idea who Alex should be with. *gahhhh*
This book has me all sorts of twisted up.
Pure, is EPIC. Bottom line. No If, and's or buts! 

“Ever since I’ve met you, I’ve wanted to break every rule.” Aiden turned away, the muscles in his neck tensing. He sighed. “You’ll become the center
of someone’s world one day. And he’ll be the luckiest son of a bitch on this earth.”  
~Aiden
“You know what?” His breath was warm against my cheek. “There are a lot of stupid things to do, but I really want to do the stupidest thing possible.”
“What’s that?”
“I want to kiss you.”
~Seth

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Let's Talk Covers (7)


This week on Let's Talk Covers
Hand Holding
How sweet is a hand holding cover?

There are some really good choices for this edition. Here are my picks!




Girl meets boy. Girl loses boy.
Girl gets boy back...
...sort of.
Ava can't see him or touch him,
unless she's dreaming.
She can't hear his voice,
except for the faint whispers in her mind.
Most would think she's crazy, but she knows he's here.
Jackson.
The boy Ava thought she'd spend the rest of her life with.
He's back from the dead,
as proof that love truly knows no bounds. 




What girl doesn't want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn't just surrounded by hot guys, though-she leads them as the captain and quarterback of her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys, and that's just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university. But now there's a new guy in town who threatens her starting position... suddenly she's hoping he'll see her as more than just a teammate.



Best friends Lani and Erin couldn’'t be more different. Lani'’s reserved and thoughtful; Erin'’s bubbly and outgoing. Lani likes to do her own thing; Erin prefers an entourage. There'’s no possible way they could be interested in the same guy.So when Erin starts dating Jason, Lani can’'t believe she feels such a deep connection with him— and it may be mutual. The more Lani fights it, the more certain she feels that it’'s her fate to be with Jason. But what do you do when the love of your life is the one person you can’'t have?



As the popular darling of the junior class and heiress to the five-star Monrovi Inn empire, Kate has both everything and nothing. She's bored with school and life...until she locks eyes with Caleb at a school dance.

Caleb is new to Kate's exclusive prep school, and it's clear he doesn't fit in. In fact, he and his dad work in maintenance for Kate's father. And while Caleb knows better than to spend time with the boss's daughter, it seems that every time he tries to back away, something pulls him right back in.

When their parents demand that they are to stay away from each other, they learn of a fight between their families that occurred more than fifty years ago. It's a mystery Kate doesn't understand...but a legacy Caleb has endured his entire life.
With the world stacked against them, Caleb and Kate will have to walk by faith to find the path that God has planned for them.

What are your favorite HAND HOLDING covers?? 
Let me know!!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs