Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Review: Shadows by Jennifer L. Armentrout

eBook: 179 pages
Published: February 21st 2012
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
ISBN13: 9781620610084
Series: Lux #0.5
Received: Bought 
The last thing Dawson Black expected was Bethany Williams. As a Luxen, an alien life form on Earth, human girls are…well, fun. But since the Luxen have to keep their true identities a secret, falling for one would be insane. Dangerous. Tempting. Undeniable.
Bethany can’t deny the immediate connection between her and Dawson. And even though boys aren’t a complication she wants, she can’t stay away from him. Still, whenever they lock eyes, she’s drawn in. Captivated. Lured. Loved. Dawson is keeping a secret that will change her existence...and put her life in jeopardy. But even he can’t stop risking everything for one human girl. Or from a fate that is as unavoidable as love itself.
My Thoughts:
I love Jennifer Armentrout! She has the gift of creating really amazing stories that you fall in love with. And characters you want to meet! Since I live in West Virginia, after reading her books (in the Lux series) I want to go an hunt down the characters!! I know this makes me crazy, because duh, they are not real. This is how much I love them!
Armentrout has amazing talent!
This was a great start to an amazing series! I was great to go back and get a look into Dawson's life, and what had happened to him. I loved him as a character. He was such an amazing character. The whole Black family is nothing but amazing. Dawson, Daemon & Dee 
Dawson seen Bethany and it was on. He knew what he wanted, and there was nothing stopping this alien boy from her! Not even his high strung, (Also swoon worthy) brother Daemon. 
Even though he knows there is a possibility of danger. He cannot help how he feels about Bethany. They both fall in love, and it is not this weird love either. I felt it. I felt like a giddy teenager. I would giggle, then look around... and the hubby is looking at me like " Are you alright...?" 
In this book you will understand Daemon's hesitation with Katy in Obsidian. You will get that maybe he isn't "just" a sarcastic hot boy with no feelings.. (well, if he is.. still i don't care *ahem*)
Bethany was an amazing character as well. She loved Dawson. Even after she found out something, she loved Dawson, for well, Dawson! Which is pretty amazing if you ask me. 
You all know the outcome of this book.. (sad face)! Which is very sad. I felt the pages getting smaller and smaller and was like NO! It's coming I know.. then BAM! (If you have not read Obsidian, please do.) 
I still hope that the outcome is different. Because it never really said it.. But, I guess I can only 'hope' that they are ok!
I think after every book there should be a novella. Really! =)
You learn so much about the characters with them, in between anticipating the release of the next book in the series! (Like Onyx..*dies*)
If you have not read Obsidian yet, this is a great one to start with. Read both in any fashion you must. But read them! If you are a fan of Armentrout's other books, you will also love the Lux series! Like I said, Armentrout is amazing. & these are set in my state so that makes them even more kick ass! 

Quote Love:
“Dee’s hand fluttered around her as she spoke. “I was outside, and it looked as if a light show was going on in your bedroom. Daemon said you were probably mas—”
And Dee also knew no boundaries.
“Ah, no, please don’t finish that sentence.” He lowered his hands, eyes narrowing at his sister. “Don’t ever finish that sentence.” 
“How could he explain what happened? 'hey, honey, i'm an alien and apparently i just doused you with some radioactive loving! wanna catch a movie?' Yeah, not cool."

"Waiting On" Wednesday (2/29)


This week on "Waiting On" Wednesday


Sophomore year broke Clementine Williams’ heart. She fell for her best friend’s boyfriend and long story short: he’s excused, but Clem is vilified and she heads into summer with zero social life. Enter her parents’ plan to spend the summer on their sailboat. Normally the idea of being stuck on a tiny boat with her parents and little sister would make Clem break out in hives, but floating away sounds pretty good right now. Then she meets James at one of their first stops along the river. He and his dad are sailing for the summer and he’s just the distraction Clem needs. Can he break down Clem’s walls and heal her broken heart? Told in alternating chapters that chronicle the year that broke Clem’s heart and the summer that healed it, Unbreak My Heart is a wonderful dual love story that fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Susane Colasanti will flock to.
Expected Publication: May 22nd 2012
Publishers: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Teaser Tuesday (2/28)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
My Teaser: 



"I can't believe you're here," she says, her voice soft. "I can't believe you found me."
"You found me first," he says, and when he leans to kiss her, it's slow and sweet and she knows that this will be the one she always remembers. Because while the other two kisses felt like endings, this one is unquestionably a beginning.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight
by Jennifer E. Smith


What is your Teaser? I would love to see it! Link me below!

Monday, February 27, 2012

It's Monday! What are you reading?!



It's Monday
! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey.

Monday (GO AWAY)
So, the weekend was good. & here we are... another Monday morning. 
If you are checking out my blog this fine but (unwelcome) Monday, thank you & I hope that you enjoy!
Here are the books that I am reading as of Right Now:


Life as Kim and Krickitt Carpenter knew it was shattered beyond recognition on November 24, 1993. Two months after their marriage, a devastating car wreck left Krickitt with a massive head injury and in a coma for weeks. When she finally awoke, she had no idea who Kim was. With no recollection of their relationship and while Krickitt experienced personality changes common to those who suffer head injuries, Kim realized the woman he had married essentially died in the accident.
And yet, against all odds, but through the common faith in Christ that sustained them, Kim and Krickitt fell in love all over again. Even though Kim stood by Krickitt through the darkest times a husband can ever imagine, he insists, "I'm no hero. I made a vow."




High school sophomore Willa and her artist mother move to Arizona where Willa starts attending an elite prep school after her mother finally sells some paintings, and Willa attempts to even things out by stealing from the rich students and giving to the poor ones. 







Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life. She's stuck at JFK, late to her father's second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley's never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's in seat 18C. Hadley's in 18A.Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver's story will make you believe that true love finds you when you're least expecting it.   

That is what I am reading right now! What are you reading?! Please tell me in your comments! I am always looking for new books to add to my TBR.. (Like I need any more =P)

Sunday, February 26, 2012

In My Mailbox (2/26)

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren
This week I got;

Thank you Crissy!! I loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee you!
Go visit Crissy @ The Princess Of Storyland! She Rocks!
 Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo 
Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
Darkness Before Dawn by J. A. London
Hemlock (Hemlock #1) by Kathleen Peacock
The Fame Game by Lauren Conrad 
Fever (The Chemical Garden #2) by Lauren DeStefano
Before I Go To Sleep by S. J Watson
All The Flowers In Shanghai by Duncan Jepson 
The Red Queen ( #2) by Philippa Gregory (I DIDNT KNOW THIS WAS #2. HAVE TO GET #1 NOW!!)
Pretty When She Dies by Rhiannon Frater
The Hungry by Steven Booth & Harry Shannon
The Glassheart Chronicles by Various Authors 
Unholy Ghosts by Stacia Kane 
Shadows (Lux 0.5) by Jennifer Armentrout (Read! Amazing)
Thank you to Ashley (The Bookish Brunette) & Alexa (Pages of Forbidden Love) For rocking my face off. being Awesome & recommending me books!




Saturday, February 25, 2012

Review: Partials by Dan Wells

Hardcover: 472 pages
Expected Publication: February 28th 2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray (HarperCollins)
ISBN: 0062071041 
ISBN13: 9780062071040
Series: Partials #1
Received: ARC from Publisher
Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with partials--engineered organic beings identical to humans--has decimated the world’s population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. The threat of the partials is still imminent, but, worse, no baby has been born immune to the disease in over a decade. Humanity’s time is running out. When sixteen-year-old Kira learns of her best friend’s pregnancy, she’s determined to find a solution. Then one rash decision forces Kira to flee her community with the unlikeliest of allies. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that the survival of both humans and partials rests in her attempts to answer questions of the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.
Combining the fast-paced action of The Hunger Games with the provocative themes of Battlestar Galactica, Partials is a pulse-pounding journey into a world where the very concept of what it means to be human is in question--one where our sense of humanity is both our greatest liability, and our only hope for survival.


My Thoughts:
What a big book! I was hoping that with the length it would be a little bit faster paced then it was. In the end this ended up being a good book, the 1st half of it just dragged to me. 
Curiosity had me at the very 1st page. Even though I wanted to put it down and move on a couple of times. Something kept telling me to read on. And that I did. The story started to pick up the pace a bit after Part 2. The characters were interesting. Kira, no matter what the cost she was going to do what she felt she should do! Here you have all of these infants dying. one after the other, after a virus that has spread 11 years ago. No child since has been born and lived. They all hope that one day there will be one that lives. For Kira just thinking and hoping that this will happen is not enough. She has to do something about it. So she sets out to do so. Determination! I love it. She has a big heart. 
Marcus, he was a great character. I would have loved to see more of him through out the book. He is Kira's boyfriend. You can tell that he really cares for her. Sometimes he may not get Kira's motives... but he stuck by her. Even though there was a relationship in the book. The book was not based off of a relationship. That was not the focus point of Well's writing. Which I loved. It is something that you do not see in many YA books. It's nice to read that sometimes!
Dan Wells has put in so much detail in this book. Which is NOT a bad thing, at all. But at the same time it was at times maybe too much at one time. I think that for me is what drew the book out longer. But, in the end I think that it made scene for the author doing this in book #1 of this series!
You are left guessing through out the whole book, as to WHO you can trust.. is your allies your enemy or vise versa! It will keep you reading. Wanting to know what that last page holds. 
This book also holds a sci-fi feel to it. But, it is classified as Dystopian. So if you are into Sci-fi books as well this one will be for you.
Strong characters. A solid plot. Great book. Again the only problem I had with this book was the length. And I mean with the length came a lot of drawled out detail. Other then that, Partials was a great read! I am excited to see what happens in the next installment in the Partials series! 

Preorder:

Friday, February 24, 2012

Review: Goddess Interrupted

Paperback: 304 pages
Expected Publication: March 27th 2012
Publisher: HarlequinTeen
ISBN: 0373210450 
ISBN13: 9780373210459
Series: Goddess Test #2
Received: eArc from Netgalley
Kate Winters has won immortality.
But if she wants a life in the Underworld with Henry, she’ll have to fight for it.
Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.
As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.
Henry’s first wife, Persephone.
My Thoughts:
After reading and really love The Goddess Test I was so looking forward to reading it's sequel The Goddess Interrupted. Although the second book did not meet my expectations in the least, this book had a pretty solid foundation. The plot. My problem was not with the story, itself. It was more the character. The main character. In The Goddess Interrupted, Kate seemed to not have grown over her time (6 months) out of the Underworld. She more than anything grew really weak and insecure. Everything seemed to be something to whine about. I know that all the information that she has to know. Knowing that her husband truly loved someone else before her, Persephone. But there has to be a line drawn within the character, that she just stops all that crying and becomes a great heroine. The ending result of this was me not connecting to her as a character as much as i did in The Goddess Test. 
Here Kate has learned she is Immortal. She has thoughts about her and Henry. All the time. She was scared he would never love her as he did Persephone. She worked herself up for so much that wasn't even needed. She was stressing herself out as well as me. In the end I started feeling more for Kate as a character. I wish it was more during the whole book, but I was left with something that made me still want to find out what is going to happen in the next book. Since somethings were resolved, I am hoping for a little more of Kate being that strong, kick ass heroine I so wanted and less whiny, mopey & wallowing in some sort of self pity.  
The ending leaves you in utter awe though. Wow.
I loved learning more about the other characters though. I grew to like them all more in this book. Even the villains are explained more in-depth which is great. 
All in all this was a good read. Something annoyed me. Some thing I wish would happened. I understand the book fully though. Here Kate is, she has made this decision that she is not sure about, and she is scared. Not knowing what is going to happen is scary. One thing I hope both Kate & Henry learned during this book is... "COMMUNICATION"!! Talking really solves all the nagging issues that you have! I will be reading the next book. As I said, the ending left you with your mouth like =O !
Carter has created a very solid plot. Love it. Also, amazing characters. My only hopes for the next installment would be.. Kate, to grow a little bit more self esteem. She lost a little bit of something between The Goddess Test & The Goddess Interrupted! Hopefully she gains some confidence.. and get bad ass!
Preorder:

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Let's Talk Covers (3)

This week on Let's Talk Covers
I am going to show you some lovely covers that are doing the same sort of pose. I call it the "Back Breaker" 







"I loved him - that was my torment. And I was losing him all over again."
Walls crumbled all around me. An undeniable force pulled at my core. I tried to fight it, I tried to deny it the power, but I was weak. I felt pain in my side, and I knew that this dark force was winning. My veins started to burn, and I screamed, but it didn't stop. 




On the night of Skye's seventeenth birthday, she meets two enigmatic strangers. Complete opposites;like fire and ice;Asher is dark and wild, while Devin is fair and aloof. Their sudden appearance sends Skye's life into a tailspin. She has no idea what they want, or why they seem to follow her every move only that their presence coincides with a flurry of strange events. Soon she begins to doubt not just the identity of the two boys, but also the truth about her own past.

In the dead of a bitingly cold Colorado winter, Skye finds herself coming to terms with the impossible secret that threatens to shatter her world. Torn between Asher, who she can't help falling for, and Devin, who she can't stay away from, the consequences of Skye's choice will reach further than the three of them could ever imagine.


Wilde Island is not at peace. The kingdom mourns the dead Pendragon king and awaits the return of his heir; the uneasy pact between dragons, fairies, and humans is strained; and the regent is funding a bloodthirsty witch hunt, hoping to rid the island of half-fey maidens. Tess, daughter of a blacksmith, has visions of the future, but she still doesn't expect to be accused of witchcraft, forced to flee with her two best friends, or offered shelter by the handsome and enigmatic Garth Huntsman, a warden for Dragonswood. But Garth is the younger prince in disguise and Tess soon learns that her true father was fey, making them the center of an exciting, romantic adventure, and an ancient prophecy that will bring about peace between all three races - dragon, human, and fairy.
Have you seen any more that are "Back Breakers"?  
I hope that your having a Happy Thursday!

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

"Waiting On" Wednesday (2/22)


This week on "Waiting On" Wednesday 

In this humorous love story from the author of Two-Way Street, an unlikely romance is the best sort of surprise—but the wrong secret can ruin everything. Kelsey’s not going to let one mistake ruin her life. Sure, she got kicked out of prep school and all her old friends are shutting her out. But Kelsey’s focused on her future, and she’s determined to get back on track at Concordia High. Isaac’s been kicked out of more schools than he can count. Since his father’s a state senator, Isaac’s life is under constant scrutiny—but Concordia High’s his last stop before boarding school, so Isaac’s hoping to fly under the radar and try to stay put for a change.
When Kelsey and Isaac meet, it’s anything but love at first sight. She thinks he’s an entitled brat, and he thinks she’s a stuck-up snob. So it surprises them both when they start to fall for each other. Kelsey’s happy for the first time in months, and Isaac’s never felt this way about anyone before...But nothing’s ever completely perfect. Everyone has secrets, and Isaac and Kelsey are no exceptions. These two may have fallen hard, but there’s one thing that can ruin it all: the truth.
Expected Publication: July 10th 2012
Publisher: Simon Pulse

Saturday, February 18, 2012

In My Mailbox (2/18)

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren

This week I got:



What did YOU get in your mailbox? Link me!!
HAPPY READING!!

I had a comment on youtube, they wanted to know the sizing of the letters in The Miseducation of Cameron Post. So this is for them =)

Friday, February 17, 2012

Author Interview: Eve Marie Mont

As a child, Eve was a tomboy/animal lover/aspiring actress who staged lip-synced productions of her favorite musicals since she couldn’t sing. Her love for athletics and animals remained, but the acting bug was soon replaced by the writing bug. In fourth grade, she wrote her first chapter book entitled, The Only Tomboy in My Class, and she was hooked.
Now Eve teaches high school English and Creative Writing in the Philadelphia suburbs and sponsors her school’s literary magazine. When not grading papers or writing, Eve can be found watching the Phillies with her husband, playing with her shelter pup, or daydreaming about her next story.
Author Interview with Eve Marie Mont, Author of A Breath of Eyre:

BTP: When you were little, did you always want to become a writer?

EMM: Absolutely! In fourth grade, my school hosted a book fair in which students were invited to write and illustrate their own books and showcase them for parents and students. I wrote a highly autobiographical story called The Only Tomboy in My Class, and that was it—I was hooked. Since then, I have always enjoyed writing, but I didn’t start writing seriously with the goal of publication until about five years ago. It has been a roller coaster of a journey with lots of rejection and excitement, but if writing is something you’re passionate about, it is certainly worth the hard work and the waiting!

BTP: I love when books are written as retellings of other great books. They are some of my absolute favorites. Is Jane Eyre your favorite classical book character?

EMM: I am a huge fan of retellings, too! There’s something so fun about recognizing familiar aspects of a beloved story and then watching how the author twists and spins them. And yes, Jane Eyre is one of my favorite characters. Ever since I first read Jane Eyre in eleventh grade, it has remained my favorite book, one I return to again and again and that never loses its fascination for me. I’ve never found another story with such a restrained yet passionate romance. And Jane is the ultimate heroine: strong, intelligent, moral, and unafraid to speak her mind. I knew I wanted my protagonist, Emma, to step into her shoes as she awakens to first love and discovers her own strength of character. Thornfield and the rugged moors beyond provide the perfect backdrop, and then, of course, there’s Rochester—SWOON! Besides, it’s always been a fantasy of mine to get lost, literally, in my favorite book.

BTP: Any teasers to share?

EMM: Here is a brief scene between my protagonist, Emma, and her love interest, Gray Newman. They were friends as kids, but they have grown apart over the years. But maybe not as far apart as they think. J
The water and sky were virtually the same silver color, and the ocean looked so wild and dangerous I couldn’t imagine ever wanting to swim in it again. At the same time, the roar of the surf and the smell of salt water made me a little giddy. I’d been cooped up inside the house for far too long with virtually no contact with the outside world.
Gray glanced over at me, his eyes narrowed. “You don’t think much of me, do you?”
I weighed my next words carefully. “I know you have a history.”
“A history of what?”
“Of being a player.”
“Ancient history,” he said. He turned his gaze toward the water and clenched his jaw. “I’m not who you think I am, Townsend.”
I squinted up at him, blocking out the sun with my hand. “Why do you care what I think of you anyway?”
“I don’t know. I guess I want you to like me.”
My heart swelled. “I do like you,” I said, my voice faltering. “It’s just, we’re so different.”
He turned to face me, touching my wrist for a second, then pulling away like my skin had burned him. “You really think we’re that different?”
“Yeah, I do.”
“Why?”
“Because I spend my free time with my head in a book, and you… spend your free time with your head in a beer bong.”
“Not fair,” he said, laughing. “I told you, I don’t do that anymore.”
I rolled my eyes. “Come on, Gray, I’ve heard the stories.”
“That’s all they are, Townsend. Stories. You believe too much in stories.”



For more book-related fun, you can watch the trailer, listen to the playlist, and take a quiz to discover your literary soul mate at my website: http://evemariemont.com/books.html.

Other places that you can find Eve. 

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Review: Pandemonium

Hardcover: 375 pages
Expected Publication: February 28th 2012
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 006197806X 
Series: Delirium #2
Received: ARC from Publisher
I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare, pushing aside thoughts of Alex, pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school, push, push, push, like Raven taught me to do.The old life is dead.But the old Lena is dead too.I buried her.I left her beyond a fence,behind a wall of smoke and flame.
My Thoughts:
Last year I was fascinated by DELIRIUM. The book was amazing. But, it left you with such a cliff hanger that you would do whatever to get book #2, which ended up being PANDEMONIUM.
You always wonder "Where will book #2 go?" "Is it going to be as good as book #1?"
You need not worry about any of those questions. PANDEMONIUM was one of those book that you just did not want to set down. You will want your eyes to read faster and faster.
Each page is full of something that will make you literally say "Oh..My..God" yes. That good.
Amor Deliria Nervosa, is what everyone is so afraid of. To fall in love. To have feelings at all. Because really any kind of "emotion" can lead to Amor Deliria Nervosa.
Lena is out, in the Wilds. Wondering about Alex, who she left at that fence, bleeding. Is he alive? She always wonders this. She pushes herself to be stronger, better. Everything that Alex would have wanted to be to survive out in the Wilds.
Living out there is not easy. It's rather a day by day thing. Always wondering what is going to happen tomorrow.
Now an Invalid, Lena has so many challenges in front of her.
No one will be who they seem to be. No one.
PANDEMONIUM will leave you utterly speechless page after page.
Your heart will break, over and over. Then just when you think... "sigh, relief"
Oliver will rip your heart right out of your chest, and leave you there looking at the last words in the book... thinking "ARE YOU KIDDING ME?" (well at least that is what I said, a long with some other things......)
PANDEMONIUM will fill in all the pieces of your heart DELIRIUM ripped out. Then PANDEMONIUM will leave you utterly speechless... and wanting / needing / screaming & pleading for book #3.

PREORDER NOW:

Let's Talk Covers (2)

This week on Let's Talk Covers
It's Valentine's Day week. So this week it is going to be all about the *kiss*


Like his name, Gray is dark and stormy. Dylan, a girl always searching for what's next, seemingly unable to settle down, is the exact opposite: full of light and life. On the outside, they seem like an unlikely couple. But looks can be deceiving and besides, opposites attract. What starts as friendship, turns into admiration, respect and caring, until finally these two lone souls find they are truly in love with each other. But staying in love is not as easy as falling in love. If Dylan and Gray want their love to last, they're going to have to work at it. And learn that sometimes love means having to say you're sorry.


Natalie Sterling wants to be in control. She wants her friends to be loyal. She wants her classmates to elect her student council president. She wants to find the right guy, not the usual jerk her school has to offer. She wants a good reputation, because she believes that will lead to good things.
But life is messy, and it's very hard to be in control of it. Not when there are freshman girls running around in a pack, trying to get senior guys to sleep with them. Not when your friends have secrets they're no longer comfortable sharing. Not when the boy you once dismissed ends up being the boy you want to sleep with yourself - but only in secret, with nobody ever finding out.
Slut or saint? Winner or loser? Natalie is getting tired of these forced choices - and is now going to find a way to live life in the sometimes messy, sometimes wonderful in-between.


Luis Fuentes has always been sheltered from the gang violence that nearly destroyed his brothers’ lives. But that didn’t stop him from taking risks—whether he’s scaling a mountain in the Rockies or dreaming of a future as an astronaut, Luis can’t stop looking for the next thrill.
Nikki Cruz lives her life by three rules—boys lie to get their way, don’t trust a boy who says “I love you,” and never date a boy from the south side of Fairfield. Her parents may be from Mexico, but as a doctor’s daughter, she has more in common with her north-side neighbors than the Latino Blood at her school. Then she meets Luis at Alex’s wedding, and suddenly, she’s tempted to break all her rules.
Getting Nikki to take a chance on a southsider is Luis’s biggest challenge, until he finds himself targeted by Chuy Soto, the new head of the Latino Blood. When Chuy reveals a disturbing secret about Luis’s family, the youngest Fuentes finds himself questioning everything he’s ever believed to be true. Will his feelings for Nikki be enough to stop Luis from entering a dark and violent world and permanently living on the edge?
What are your favorite kissing covers!? 
I hope that you are having a Happy Thursday! 

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

"Waiting On" Wednesday (2/15)



This week on "Waiting On" Wednesday

"One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time."
The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen year old Samantha wishes she was one of them… until the day Jase Garrett climbs her terrace and changes everything.
Jase can sense that his beautiful neighbor is missing something in her sterile home, and as the two fall fiercely in love, his family makes her one of their own.
But when the bottom drops out of Sam's world, which perfect family will save her–and will her perfect love survive?
Set among the haves and have-nots of a coastal New England town, My LIFE NEXT DOOR captures the angst, the heartache, and the raw-nerve emotions of first time love—and biting loss.
Expected Publication: June 14th 2012
Publisher: Dial Books For Young Readers

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

The Hunger Games: Safe & Sound

When I first heard this song I feel in LOVE! Since then I have played the heck out of it. Now that there is a video I can watching that 100x a day! I wanted to share it with you. Although I am pretty sure that you have seen it. Here watch again!!




EPIC Right? Are you excited? I AM!

The Lover's Dictionary Review + Guest Post

Hardcover: 211 pages
Published: January 4th 2011
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 0374193681 
ISBN13: 9780374193683
basis, n.
There has to be a moment at the beginning when you wonder whether you’re in love with the person or in love with the feeling of love itself.
If the moment doesn’t pass, that’s it—you’re done. And if the momentdoes pass, it never goes that far. It stands in the distance, ready for whenever you want it back. Sometimes it’s even there when you thought you were searching for something else, like an escape route, or your lover’s face.
How does one talk about love? Do we even have the right words to describe something that can be both utterly mundane and completely transcendent, pulling us out of our everyday lives and making us feel a part of something greater than ourselves? Taking a unique approach to this problem, the nameless narrator of David Levithan’s The Lover’s Dictionary has constructed the story of his relationship as a dictionary. Through these short entries, he provides an intimate window into the great events and quotidian trifles of being within a couple, giving us an indelible and deeply moving portrait of love in our time.
My Thoughts:
amazing, adj
causing great surprise or sudden wonder.

That is what this book was. A.m.a.z.i.n.g! When I got this book I had no idea that it was not YA. 
Please, do not let that change your mind on reading this. It is so well written & raw that you will want to experience this book.
The only thing about this book was that it was too short. That did not take away from it's awesomeness. It was just that awesome that I wanted more of Levithan's writing.
The characters of this book were never named. Even with the names not there you could connect with the main character very well. I felt for him so much at times. Because his lover, I felt was never really fully into the relationship. She was rather mean at times. They both just seemed to not know what to do, with how they felt. When they were alone you could see that there was some sort of spark, something. 
Throughout the book you are introduced to so many new words, that describes what is going on in the main characters head. How he is feeling. I loved that. 
This is a book that you should read. Although, it is not YA. There is language that is not proper for the younger crowd, but other than that, you should read this. 
corrode v.

I spent all this time building a relationship. Then one night I left the window open and it started to rust.
 abyss, n.

There are times when I doubt everything. When I regret everything you've taken from me, everything I've given you, and the waste of all the time I've spent on us.


I have a Q & A with my good friend Christina @ The Princess of Storyland
We read this book together, and here is her answers to the questions we came up with!

L: Did you learn some new words from reading The Lover's Dictionary? C: Oh my gosh yes! There were sooo many words that I had no idea what they meant! I definitely learned a lot of new ones, that's for sure!

L: What do you think the meaning of the book was? C: I think the meaning of the book was true love, in all it's many shapes and forms. Through good and bad, ups and downs. It wasn't just about the honeymoon phase, it was about the relationship as a whole! From the giddy first meeting, to the first fight and everything in between. It was raw, real and amazing!
L: What were your feelings on the character's both as a whole, and also individually? C: I love the character's in the book! The male character was so sweet and caring. The female was ...a bit on the mean side, but in every relationship there is a bad guy, right? You definitely saw her mood swings, as well as the adjustments they make for each other. It was such a real portrayl of relationships.

L: What was your favorite quote from the book? C: Oh my gosh, I had so many!!! lol Thank goodness I was reading it on my Kindle, I had so many passages highlighted and little notes written! If it had been a physical book I would've been in soooo much trouble!

  • Trying to write about love is ultimately like trying to have a dictionary represent life. No matter how many words there are, there will never be enough. 
L: Has this book changed your definition of love?
C: I'm not sure that it's changed my definition of it. I think it just shows love in all of it's complex forms, through all of the ups and downs, and different crisis life hands you. It's very real! I think that's probably why I loved this book so much!

L: With love being on everyone's mind right now, what are some of your favorite romantic reads?
C: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. From beginning to end, I think this is probably the most beautifully written love story, EVER! It's a definate must read! Also anything by Nicholas Sparks, he is the king of romance! Just make sure you keep a box of kleenex handy, he will have you in tears!

I hope that you enjoyed the review & Q & A! 
HAPPY VALENTINES DAY

Saturday, February 11, 2012

In My Mailbox (2/11)

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren

This week I got:


Memoirs Aren't Fairy-tales by Marni Mann
Airel by Arron Patterson
Demons At Deadnight by A & E Kirk
The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
The One That I Want by Jennifer Echols
The Hunger Games Tribute Guide
By The Time You Read This, I'll Be Dead by Julie Anne Peters
Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood
One For The Money by Janet Evanovich
Two For The Dough by Janet Evanovich

Wings by Aprilynne Pike (signed)
Thank You ALEXA!!!

What did you get in your mailbox!? Link me!

On My Wishlist (2/11)


On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This week ON MY WISHLIST;
I have heard A LOT about this series from Lori @ Pure Imagination.
From the soundings of it. I think that I would love it.

“My parents suck ass. Banning me from the phone and restricting my computer privileges are the most tyrannical parental gestures I can think of. Don’t they realize that Hope’s the only one who keeps me sane? . . . I don’t see how things could get any worse.”When her best friend, Hope Weaver, moves away from Pineville, New Jersey, hyperobservant sixteen-year-old Jessica Darling is devastated. A fish out of water at school and a stranger at home, Jessica feels more lost than ever now that the only person with whom she could really communicate has gone. How is she supposed to deal with the boy- and shopping-crazy girls at school, her dad’s obsession with her track meets, her mother salivating over big sister Bethany’s lavish wedding, and her nonexistent love life?A fresh, funny, utterly compelling fiction debut by first-time novelist Megan McCafferty, Sloppy Firsts is an insightful, true-to-life look at Jessica’s predicament as she embarks on another year of teenage torment--from the dark days of Hope’s departure through her months as a type-A personality turned insomniac to her completely mixed-up feelings about Marcus Flutie, the intelligent and mysterious “Dreg” who works his way into her heart. Like a John Hughes for the twenty-first century, Megan McCafferty taps into the inherent humor and drama of the teen experience. This poignant, hilarious novel is sure to appeal to readers who are still going through it, as well as those who are grateful that they don’t have to go back and grow up all over again.
What are you wishing for this week? 

Friday, February 10, 2012

Mini Review: Beastly; Lindy's Diary


    Kindle Edition
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Release Date: January 31, 2012
    Diary,
I am locked away . . . with no one to confide in but you . . . and him. His fur, those claws—they caught me off guard at first, but now I'm noticing something else about him—something deeper. It's the look in his eye. It tells me he's got a secret to keep. That's okay—I've got one, too. I think I'm falling in love with him. . . .Lindy



My Thoughts:
I am a big fan of Alex Flinn; Beastly was the first book I read from Flinn and I feel in love with the re-telling of the classic Beauty & The Beast. Since then I have become a big fan of re-tellings and recently finished Bewitching. (review).
Lindy's Diary gives you insight on how Lindy was feeling through out the events that took place in Beastly. This novella was a great addition to Beastly. The only problems I had was it was short. Although most novellas are, I just would have liked to have more of my favorite parts in beastly through Lindy's eyes. Other than that I adored this novella. 
I recommend reading Beastly before reading this. It would be rather confusing if you have not. 

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Let's Talk Covers (1)

I love a good cover. I mean I LOVE a good cover. Although they say "Don't judge a book by it's cover" & sometimes this is TRUE. Sometimes a book has a great cover, but the book is blah. Then, again some covers you are thinking ... "What in the world" & then the books are amazing. It just depends I guess. But I LOVE an amazing cover.


This week on Let's Talk Covers I will be showing you some of my favorite covers with "SHOES"


Jennifer Whitney was the last American virgin. At least that’s what she felt like in 1986 as she began her sophomore year at Central Illinois University. She was proud of her decision to wait for the right guy, and yet she was getting restless. It seemed like everyone around her was doing it... and having fun doing it, too. She didn’t want to become the campus slut or anything, but surely there was a difference between a trashy skank and a nice girl with a little experience. Perhaps it was time to stop relying on fate to guide her and instead take matters into her own hands. And with that realization, Jen decided to find “the one” and lose her virginity, although not necessarily in that order... 

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . . 
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

My wish is to fall cranium over Converse in dizzy daydream-worthy love.
If only it were that easy.
Marcie has been dragged away from home for the summer--from Idaho to a family summerhouse in New Hampshire. She's left behind her friends, a group of freaks and geeks called the Leftovers, including her emo-rocker boyfriend, and her father.
By the time Labor Day rolls around, Marcie suspects this "summer vacation" has become permanent. She has to start at a new school, and there she leaves behind her Leftover status when a cute boy brings her breakfast and a new romance heats up. But understanding love, especially when you've watched your parents' affections end, is elusive. What does it feel like, really? Can you even know it until you've lost it?

Allie lost everything the night her boyfriend, Trip, died in a horrible car accident--including her memory of the event. As their small town mourns his death, Allie is afraid to remember because doing so means delving into what she's kept hidden for so long: the horrible reality of their abusive relationship.
When the police reopen the investigation, it casts suspicion on Allie and her best friend, Blake, especially as their budding romance raises eyebrows around town. Allie knows she must tell the truth. Can she reach deep enough to remember that night so she can finally break free? Debut writer Jennifer Shaw Wolf takes readers on an emotional ride through the murky waters of love, shame, and, ultimately, forgiveness.
Next week I will be back for another pick. What are your favorite "Shoe" cover books?

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

"Waiting On" Wednesday (2/8)


This week on "Waiting On" Wednesday


Sixteen years have passed since a deadly virus wiped out most of the Earth’s population. After learning of the terrifying part she and her classmates were fated to play in the rebuilding of New America, eighteen-year-old Eve fled to the wilds and Califia, a haven for women determined to live outside the oppressive rule of the king of New America. However, her freedom came at a price: she was forced to leave Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. Eve quickly learns that Califia may not be as safe as it seems and soon finds herself in the City of Sand and the palace of the king. There she uncovers the real reason he was so intent on her capture, and the unbelievable role he intends her to fill. When she is finally reunited with Caleb, they will enact a plan as daring as it is dangerous. But will Eve once again risk everything—her freedom, her life—for love?
Brimming with danger and star-crossed romance, and featuring a vivid dystopian landscape, this electrifying follow-up to Eve, which bestselling author Lauren Kate called “a gripping, unforgettable adventure—and a fresh look at what it means to love” is sure to appeal to fans who crave the high-stakes adventure of The Hunger Games and the irresistible love story of Romeo and Juliet.

Expected Publication: July 3rd 2012
Publisher: HarperCollins

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs