Tuesday, January 31, 2012

February TBR Video

These are the books that I plan to read February 2012. 





Review Books:
Pandemonium (Delirium #2) by Lauren Oliver
Pure by Jennifer L Armentrout {Moved to March}
When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellison
Partials by Dan Wells
Fairy Blues by JL Bryan {Moved to March}

My Own Books:
The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E Smith
The Fault in our Stars by John Green
The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder 
The Lover's Dictionary by David Levithan

Finish: 
Bewitching by Alex Flinn


NOT ON VIDEO BUT ADDED AND READ:
Pretty Crooked by Elisa Ludwig
The Vow by Kim Carpenter
Shadows by Jennifer Armentrout
Goddess Interrupted by Aimee Carter
Beastly; Lindy's Diary by Alex Flinn

Top Ten Tuesday (1/31)


Top Ten Books I Think Would Make Great Book Club Picks

Most of these I have OR haven't read;
1.) Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
I have to pick this one; Because I am a member of THE FORBIDDEN BOOK CLUB; and this was the very 1st book we read (hence, the club name we came up with)! This book is so controversial I think every one should just give it a chance.
2.) Crank by Ellen Hopkins
Really, ANY verse novel. Some are so hesitant to read VERSE books. I mean why? They are so beautiful. And Crank is a beautiful story about a hard topic. Overcoming things, becoming stronger.
3.) The Giver by Lois Lowry
Amazing book that is a classic, and has been overlooked by so many. I read it months after I bought it. I read an amazing review over at Books Devoured, and I had to have it. I was not let down. Beautiful story!
4.) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
I have not read this book yet. Justin @ Justin's Book Blog had told me quite some time about this book, and I thought the cover was different.. and I never read the blurb, I was like ok "A person stealing books" HOW RUDE. But after reading the blurb, I can tell that this book is so much more than that. I am sure after reading some reviews I will love it, and possibly be crying. 
5.) Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert
Sounds like this would be a very great book to have a discussion with. 
6.) If I Stay by Gayle Forman
This book (& it's sequel) is amazing. I mean really. I think this would be a great book to read with others so that we can all cry together. I mean really. I cried and cried after reading both books. They are amazing. Moving. BEAUTIFUL!
7.) The Diary of A Young Girl by Anne Frank
If you want to read a moving book. Read this one. I mean the power that this book holds in it's words is moving Really. Heartbreaking that people can treat individuals in such a way. Filled with so much hate. If you have not read this one. Or at least watched the movie, please do so.  
8.) The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
This book was so good!!!!! I mean there is no other way to explain it. Other then, right down amazing. Read it.
9.) To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
I have this book. I have yet to read it though. So, I am wanting to and I believe that this would be a great book to discuss about. 
10.) The Help by Kathryn Stockett
I have this movie. But I have swore not to watch it until I have read this book. I think that from the book, it sounds amazing. And I think that this would be amazing to read with a bunch of crazy women!!


What books did you pick this week? Let me know!

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Review: Shift by M R Merrick

eBook: 1st Edition
Expected Publication: February 1st 2012
ISBN13: 9780987726230

Devastated by the loss of his mother, Chase is trying to balance the life he’s been left with, a family he’s still getting to know, and power he never thought he’d have. He doesn’t understand why the Goddess has named him the Protector and granted him two gifts: the Mark, a tattoo that now covers his back, and the ring. But between getting interrogated by the Circle and psychic attacks from Riley, the Mark is the least of his concern. There’s a demon inside Rayna that’s fighting to be released, and it’s not her inner witch. It’s something else–a monster threatening to tear her apart.
As Chase struggles to control his magic, his enemies are closing in. Everyone has staked a claim on his ring, and destroying it may be his only chance to stop Riley. But Chase must decide if stopping him is worth risking the lives of everyone he cares about, or if protecting the ring will be enough to save his world.
My thoughts:

As you all know, I loved EXILED. And I mean Loved! The book was pure epicness, and full of so much action. Loved it. You know how when you love a book so much, you are so nervous about book #2 because you want so much for it to be just as good! Well, I tell you what. It was BETTER then book 1. Yes, better!
Shift will take you on the ride of your life, literally. The book includes so much action, and kick-ass-ness that you when you are done you will say one word. "Wow". 
Shift starts off where Exiled left off. Chase is still dealing with the heartache of losing the only person that he had left. 
In Shift you will get to know the characters more. I felt more of a connection to each and everyone of them. Vincent included. 
Chase is learning how to control his powers that seem to be getting stronger faster then he can understand them. 
Chase still does not understand why he is the protector. He now has to guard, and protect the ring that everyone seems to want. Riley wants it so that he can bring back the evil god, Ithereal. He must keep it safe, so that this does not happen. While keeping himself alive and his friends. 
Something inside of Rayna wants out. The beast. It's at the surface and is slowly scratching it's way out. Fighting everyday, to keep herself from shifting, is putting her in greater danger then anything. Because in the end, she will have to shift, but will it be such a shift to kill Rayna?
With the guidance of Chief, Rayna will have to face the one thing that she has been wanting to put behind her. The Beast.
You will learn more about the other characters; Willy, Tiki & Marcus plus you will meet some new ones. Some you will like, and some not so much. 
M R Merrick's writing skill is phenomenal in Shift. Since Exiled you can tell that he has grown as a writer, as well as his characters as individuals. Shift will fill in all the gaps and answer the questions that you were left with while reading Exiled. 
Merrick brings the action to the max. You will actually fill like you are IN the action. Kicking mad ass, right along with the gang.
I am so happy to be among the bloggers to get to review Merrick's second book in The Protector series. 
Shift was beyond amazing. If you have not read Exiled, well you should do that. Because you will love every second of it, right along with Shift. 
Action is what shines in Merrick's books. You will not have to deal with love triangles. & here there action. You will not regret these books, the words will pull you into this fantasy world. And you will not want to leave. 

In My Mailbox (Birthday Edition)



In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren
This week I got



 
Vesper (Deviants #1) by Jeff Sampson
Havoc (Deviants #2) by Jeff Sampson
Shift by M R Merrick
Fairy Blues by JL Bryan
Lies Beneath (Lies Beneath #1) by Anne Greenwood Brown
The China Garden by Liz Berry
Zombie Blondes by Brian James
Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John 
Ashfall (Ashfall #1) by Mike Mullin 
Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost 
The Vampire and the Virgin by Kerrelyn Sparks
Special Thank You to Angela @ Reading Angel

Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver (Special Edition)
Special Thank You to Crissy @ The Princess of Storyland

Impulse by Ellen Hopkins
Special Thank You to my brother Mikel 

Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsay
Remembering Marilyn by Life Magizine
Special Thank You to Justin @ Justin's Book Blog

Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clemet-Moore
Once A Witch (Witch #1) by Carolyn MacCullough 
Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler 
Fateful by Claudia Gray
Uglies (Uglies #1) by Scott Westerfeld
Extraordinary by Nancy Werlin
Special Thank You to my DAD!

Then my mom came over today and Brought me THIS
& This =) <3 you mom & Thank you.
The Enemy (The Enemy #1) by Charlie Higson
Setting Limits with your Stong Willed Child
Wildthorn by Jane England
The Woman in Black by Susan Hill
Bag of Bones by Stephen King
Tempest (Tempest #1) by Julie Cross
(thanks for the recommendation Suzanne)
Fracture by Megan Miranda
This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen
Dreamland by Sarah Dessen
Arson (Arson #1) by Estevan Vega
Shattered (Desire #2) by Kailin Gow
The Masque of the Red Death by Edgar Allan Poe
Breathless by V C Chambers

Swag:
Don't Breathe a Word stuff
Slide Bookmark (Signed)

WHAT DID YOU GET THIS WEEK? Link me so I can see!!

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Book Breakups (1)

Book Breakups is a Feature Lori @ Pure Imagination does. I thought it would be cool to do,  since I have been wanting to for a while. Here are a few of my Book Breakups.




For me glow was rather odd, I just could NOT get into it. So This one was put aside. I always say maybe one day. But, I am not sure that I will be picking this one up again.








Now, I gave Incarnate 150 pages. & I thought, what have I just read? It was one of those books that made you think so hard, and then wonder what in the world you were reading about, this is the book you want, if you like that sort of thing. For me, it was not for me.. and I had to put this one aside as well and move on.



What are some of the books that you just couldn't love, so you had to call it a Book Breakup?!

On My Wishlist (1/28)


On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

This week, on ON MY WISHLIST, I am picking a book that is older, but after seeing the movie previews I know that I need to READ these books. So, let's start off with book #1.


Welcome to Trenton, New Jersey, home to wiseguys, average Joes, and Stephanie Plum, who sports a big attitude and even bigger money problems (since losing her job as a lingerie buyer for a department store). Stephanie needs cash--fast--but times are tough, and soon she's forced to turn to the last resort of the truly desperate: family.Stephanie lands a gig at her sleazy cousin Vinnie's bail bonding company. She's got no experience. But that doesn't matter. Neither does the fact that the bail jumper in question is local vice cop Joe Morelli. From the time he first looked up her dress to the time he first got into her pants to the time Steph hit him with her father's Buick, M-o-r-e-l-l-i has spelled t-r-o-u-b-l-e. And now the hot guy is in hot water--wanted for murder.Abject poverty is a great motivator for learning new skills, but being trained in the school of hard knocks by people like psycho prizefighter Benito Ramirez isn't. Still, if Stephanie can nab Morelli in a week, she'll make a cool ten grand. All she has to do is become an expert bounty hunter overnight--and keep herself from getting killed before she gets her man.
So, that is what I am wishing for this week.
What is on your Wishlist? I would love to see. 

Friday, January 27, 2012

Giveaway: Delirium




CLOSED
Today I will be giving away Delirium by Lauren Oliver. My good friend Crissy @ The Princess of Storyland bought me, for my birthday, the special edition cover of Delirium I have been wanting since came out. Thank you. So, today I am going to have a "It's my Birthday weekend, I giveaway a book if I want to" Giveaway.
Rules are below; Good luck.


Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love -- the deliria -- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy. But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.



Rules:
1 Winner
Prize: Delirium (Not special Edition cover) by Lauren Oliver
Giveaway will last from:
Jan 27th UNTIL Feb 3rd
Giveaway open U.S ONLY
You MUST fill out the Rafflecopter form
You MUST be 13 or older
YOU CAN DO, BUT NOT REQUIRED the following:
Follow (GFC / Twitter / FB)
Tweet (& come back and tweet, daily)
All of these extra things are within the Rafflecopter form.
*NOTE*
You do NOT have to follow me to enter this giveaway.
I love having new followers, yes. But follow me when and if YOU want to.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Review: Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Paperback: 281 pages
Published: December 1st 2011

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
ISBN: 1402262272 

ISBN13: 9781402262272
Received: Bought/Kindle 

What girl doesn't want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn't just surrounded by hot guys, though - she leads them as the captain and quarterback on her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys, and that's just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university. But now there's a new guy in town who threatens her starring position on the team... and has her suddenly wishing to be seen as more than just a teammate.
My Thoughts:
I was so excited to read Catching Jordan. It sounded just like the book that I needed after reading a slew of Paranormal and such. It was so amazing. I am a big, BIG fan of Love and basketball (Ever seen the movie? You should) So this was a version of that with Football (Which I LOVE) and put in book, for YA's! It was for me a WIN!
Jordan is just your average High School girl, actually not. Jordan is your average football star. Yes, the MC Jordan is on her High School football team, & she plays her heart out. 
Jordan is an amazingly well written character. Loved her. She was determined, loyal, very tomboyish and AMAZINGLY funny. 
She may be a girl but, when it comes to Football she plays hard, if not harder then to boys on the team. She is very determined to become someone in the football industry. Or, so she hopes.
Henry, JJ & Carter are best friends of Jordan's, as well as her fellow teammates. When they are all together there is so much laughter. I mean, on my part. I found my self laughing so much during in this book. It was really what I needed at the moment. 
When a new student comes onto the field, Jordan finds her self distracted by his good looks, wondering just what he thinks he is going to do on her team, seeing as how they play the same position. Should Jordan feel threatened? 
Her attraction to Ty, the new teammate, is so cute yet awkward for Jordan. She is feeling things that she has never felt for anyone. 
Not normally the dating type Jordan starts to have an attraction to Ty that is very hard to hide.
As uncomfortable as I feel, I keep the girly underwear on anyway. Who knows? Provided they stay the hell out of my butt crack, they might make me feel sexier later on today.
Jordan wants so much for her dad to notice her. He feels, girls, should NOT play football, but is that really how her feels?
No matter what the reason. All Jordan wants is the acceptance he gives her brother, Mike.
Catching Jordan is a very fun read that will leave you wanting more of Miranda's writing. You will fall in love with all of the characters. This book is not only about football. You will see real friendships, and 1st loves that we have all encountered. And the situations that Jordan encounters that she has to make choices to, for her life, and her heart.
Catching Jordan will capture your heart, you will feel like you know the characters after you finish the last page. & after that last page you will be wanting more.
Catching Jordan was a fantastic Debut novel from Miranda Kenneally.
In All actually, she is probably giving him a play-by-play account of some romance novel where some chick is in love with a boy who's really a werewolf, and a vampire who's really a dragon with enormous wings, and a handsome king who's really a vampire.

"Waiting On" Wednesday (1/25)



This week on "Waiting On" Wednesday

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.
Anna, a tender-hearted southern girl, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.
A cross-country trip forces Anna and Kai to face the reality that hope and love are not options for their kind. When it's time for Anna to confront her demons, will she choose to embrace her halo or her horns?
Expected Publication: May 1st 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Review: Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Hardcover: 370 pages
Expected Publication: January 24th 2012 

Publisher: Harper Collins / Balzer + Bray
ISBN: 0062071130 
ISBN13: 9780062071132
Series: Everneath #1
Cover: A+
Received: ARC from Publisher
Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals Feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she's returned- to her old life, her family, her friends- before being banished back to the underworld... this time forever.
She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can't find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.
Nikki longs to spend these months reconnecting with her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything. But there's a problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who first enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki to the mortal world. And he'll do whatever it takes to bring her back- this time as his queen.
As Nikki's time grows short and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she's forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole's...
My Thoughts:
While reading Everneath I feel in love with Brodi Ashton's writing style. I really enjoy Mythology, and love seeing it used in different ways. The book was easy to follow, but at times confusing because you had to remember about what time frame you was reading about. Before or After the Feed. So, because of that it took me a little more that 1/2 way into the book before I was actually "into" the book so to say.
You would find yourself torn between the two male characters Cole and Jack.
Cole of course is the bad boy figure in the book. And bad boy he was. But, I was so not swooning over him. It was Jack for me. Cole was annoying "Stalker" type that would be the boy watching you as you sleep. Weird. I just could not find myself head over heels in swooning action over him. 
Nikki, I liked and didn't like. Some of her choices were a little annoying. But, I think that they all played out pretty well for the story. I mean, she kept blaming Cole, for HER choices. I think I liked the male characters MORE than I did the MC. Neither Jack nor Cole deserved any of Nikki's reactions. Like I said, it was HER decision. 
The ending was not a surprise. I guessed it way before. I was hoping for a twist. 
In book 2 I hope that things play out differently, I will read book to because I feel, book one was a little on the rough side, yes.. BUT I did have some aspects that I did like, and I am very curious to see how this will play out in book #2.
I think I will eventually Re-read the finished copy to see what was changed, and how the pages were cleaned up a bit. 

BUY Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Monday, January 23, 2012

It's Monday! What are you reading?



It's Monday
! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey.

Monday (GO AWAY)
So, the weekend was good. & here we are... another Monday morning. 
If you are checking out my blog this fine but (unwelcome) Monday, thank you & I hope that you enjoy!

Here are the books that I am reading as of Right Now:

New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren’t always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it’s hard for her to forget that people weren’t always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It’s hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow. That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings…the only boy Ember has ever loved.

Devastated by the loss of his mother, Chase is trying to balance the life he’s been left with, a family he’s still getting to know, and power he never thought he’d have. He doesn’t understand why the Goddess has named him the Protector and granted him two gifts: the Mark, a tattoo that now covers his back, and the ring. But between getting interrogated by the Circle and psychic attacks from Riley, the Mark is the least of his concern. There’s a demon inside Rayna that’s fighting to be released, and it’s not her inner witch. It’s something else–a monster threatening to tear her apart. 

As Chase struggles to control his magic, his enemies are closing in. Everyone has staked a claim on his ring, and destroying it may be his only chance to stop Riley. But Chase must decide if stopping him is worth risking the lives of everyone he cares about, or if protecting the ring will be enough to save his world.

Independent single mother Tamara Briggs wanted to find a new, sexy, no-strings-attached man— just not one as young as NASCAR driver Elec Monroe. But he sure does get her heart racing. And after she’'s tricked into a blind date with him, Tamara gives in to her passion. Things screech to a halt, though, when he asks to meet her children. Whatever happened to wham-bam-thank-you ma'’am? Suddenly Tamara has to decide how much risk she’s willing to take to experience the power of true love.


I am getting back into the swing of things, after a couple weeks of family things. Stick with me, I will finish these books. 
WHAT are YOU reading? 

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Loretta Update

Dear all of you,
Lately I have been in and out of the blogging world the past couple weeks. Blogging here and there. I was in a funk at 1st then, the day after Christmas my Grandmother was admitted in the hospital. So, that was very hard because it really seemed like she was not going to get better. Then things got a little better, then worse until slowly, my grandma took her last breath on January 17th 2012. So, since then things have been crazy. Getting everything prepared for the funeral. 
Now, my grandma is in such a better place. That is and will always be hard. Loosing family members. 
Now, everything has happened. And I went through the emotions of;
 DO I WANT TO BLOG, DO I WANT TO READ. 
I mean, I have so been a sucky blogger the past 2 weeks that I just felt this was not for ME! But, I checked my email. And was overwhelmed by all of the love and support that you all had left on my blog. Sending me emails, and cards, and just being there. Talking to me on Twitter, and just helping me deal with this, even letting me vent. 
THANK YOU.
I could never leave this Book World. Ever. 
Now, I have questions for you! I need help, expanding and growing with Between The Pages.
1st off WORDPRESS. Do you have it? I am thinking of switching, not any time soon. Maybe in the next couple months. 1st because I have NO clue what I am doing. NO clue how much I will be spending out of pocket. NO clue, at all what CSS is or even how to covert my blog to be on WORDPRESS. So I need your thoughts on BLOGGER vs. WORDPRESS.
ALSO. I would love to make Between The Pages a place you love to visit. 
Do you enjoy my blog? Reviews? IMM's? I would love your thoughts, and input on my blog and the material that I provide for you. 
So if you would like to send me an email. OR leave me a comment, I would appreciate it. I would love truthful honest answers. I won't be offended. This is something that I LOVE. 

Friday, January 20, 2012

Giveaway: Eighth Grade BITES



CLOSED

Cleaning out my shelves and I see I have 2 Eighth Grade Bites (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod #1) by Heather Brewer. So I am giving them away because I just got the 4 book boxed set.






Vlad has to keep his vampire urges under control while dealing with the pressures of middle school.Thirteen-year-old Vladimir Tod really hates junior high. Bullies harass him, the principal is dogging him, and the girl he likes prefers his best friend. Oh, and Vlad has a secret: His mother was human, but his father was a vampire. With no idea of the extent of his powers, Vlad struggles daily with his blood cravings and his enlarged fangs. When a substitute teacher begins to question him a little too closely, Vlad worries that his cover is about to be blown. But then he faces a much bigger problem: He?s being hunted by a vampire killer.

Rules:
2 WINNERS
1 BOOK EACH
Giveaway will last from:
Jan 20th UNTIL Feb 3rd
Giveaway open U.S ONLY
You MUST fill out the Rafflecopter form
You MUST be 13 or older
YOU CAN DO, BUT NOT REQUIRED the following:
Follow (GFC / Twitter)
Tweet (& come back and tweet, daily)
All of these extra things are within the Rafflecopter form.
*NOTE*
You do NOT have to follow me to enter this giveaway.
I love having new followers, yes. But follow me when and if YOU want to.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Giveaway: Fever

Who is excited about Fever by Lauren DeStefano? I am, wait... Have you read Wither?? Well you should. 
Fever releases Feb 21st 2012. So of course this is a pre-order giveaway. And that also means it is International!


Running away brings Rhine and Gabriel right into a trap, in the form of a twisted carnival whose ringmistress keeps watch over a menagerie of girls. Just as Rhine uncovers what plans await her, her fortune turns again. With Gabriel at her side, Rhine travels through an environment as grim as the one she left a year ago - surroundings that mirror her own feelings of fear and hopelessness. The two are determined to get to Manhattan, to relative safety with Rhine’s twin brother, Rowan. But the road there is long and perilous - and in a world where young women only live to age twenty and young men die at twenty-five, time is precious. Worse still, they can’t seem to elude Rhine’s father-in-law, Vaughn, who is determined to bring Rhine back to the mansion...by any means necessary.
In the sequel to Lauren DeStefano’s harrowing Wither, Rhine must decide if freedom is worth the price - now that she has more to lose than ever.
Rules:
Giveaway will last from:
Jan 19th UNTIL FEB 16th 2012
Giveaway open U.S & International
You MUST fill out the Rafflecopter form
You MUST be 13 or older
YOU CAN DO, BUT NOT REQUIRED the following:
Follow (GFC / Twitter)
Tweet (& come back and tweet, daily)
All of these extra things are within the Rafflecopter form.
*NOTE*
You do NOT have to follow me to enter this giveaway.
I love having new followers, yes. But follow me when and if YOU want to.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Dear All;

Things for me are hard right now. My Grandma (My dad's mom) went to be with my Grandpa yesterday, in heaven. She had become ill, and God felt, it was her time to come home. 

She feels no pain now. No matter how comforting this is; my heart still breaks. I loved my Grandma very much. And after losing my Grandpa January 29th 2009, and My other Grandma, March 17th 2006, my Father In Law April 7th 2006. My heart is broke. 
I just wanted to let everyone know how very thankful I am for your kind words, and emails. It truly means the world to me to know that you care, and understand that It will be a little while before I get back into blogging whole heartily. I can't even read, let alone do anything with this blog. I will come around of course. I just need a couple days to take it all in. Go through the Funeral. And just deal with this the best I can. 


Again, Thank you all. For everything. Me & My family really appreciate all of your prayers.

Here is a poem that really touched my heart.

When I am gone, release me, let me go.
I have so many things to see and do,
You mustn't tie yourself to me with too many tears,
But be thankful we had so many good years.
I gave you my love, and you can only guess
How much you've given me in happiness.
I thank you for the love that you have shown,
But now it is time I traveled on alone.
So grieve for me a while, if grieve you must
Then let your grief be comforted by trust
That it is only for a while that we must part,
So treasure the memories within your heart.
I won't be far away for life goes on.
And if you need me, call and I will come.
Though you can't see or touch me, I will be near
And if you listen with your heart, you'll hear
All my love around you soft and clear
And then, when you come this way alone,
I'll greet you with a smile and a "Welcome Home". 

Ruth Marie Sturgill
November 15th 1937 - January 17th 2012








"Waiting On" Wednesday (1/18)


This week on "Waiting On" Wednesday

Jesse cuts her own hair with a Swiss Army knife. She wears big green fisherman's boots. She's the founding (and only) member of NOLAW, the National Organization to Liberate All Weirdos. Emily wears sweaters with faux pearl buttons. She's vice president of the student council. She has a boyfriend.These two girls have nothing in common, except the passionate "private time" they share every Tuesday afternoon. Jesse wishes their relationship could be out in the open, but Emily feels she has too much to lose. When they find themselves on opposite sides of a heated school conflict, they each have to decide what's more important: what you believe in, or the one you love?

Expected Publication: March 15th 2012 
Publisher: Viking Juvenile

What are you "waiting on" this week?

Saturday, January 14, 2012

In My Mailbox (1/14)

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren
This week on In My Mailbox



Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris
Glimmer by Phoebe Kitanidis
Special Thank You to HarperCollins & Sally Dubats
Shine by Lauren Myracle
Behemoth ( Leviathan #2) by Scott Westerfeld
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
The Book Thief by Markus Zuask 
Jennifer's Body by Audrey Nixon 
Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
Fade (Dream Catcher #2) by Lisa McMann
Going Bovine by Libba Bray
The Sharp Time by Mary O'Connell
The Queen Of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker
Fire (The Seven Kingdoms #2) by Kirstin Cashore
Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler
Don't Breathe A Word by Holly Cupula 
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson 
The Dead (Book #2) by Charlie Higson <-- I bought #1 just now.

What did you get in your mailbox!!? 
Link me!

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Updated Bookshelf Tour







Hey guys! Today I am out of town. Spending the day with my dad! So, I am letting you take a peek into my house.. Well, kinda! I am going to show you my *updated* bookshelves. It has been some time since the last time that I have showed you the lovely books. & a lot has been added since then! 
So here you go.


I have read 'some' of these, but mostly not. I have a lot on my kindle too I will add at the bottom. So you can get the 'kindle' tour too! Help me get these books read. Tell me what you loved, hated, or whatever. I want to know what YOU think.
Have a great day all. 




My Kindle 'Shelf' Includes:
STILL TYPING WILL ADD SOON

You Asked - I Answered: Questions





You Asked - I Answered
Here are the answers to the questions you asked me! This was fun, and I hope to do it again later on.

1.) If you could recommend 5 books (out of all the books you've ever read) that everyone should read at least once, what would they be?
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry (An amazing book I feel in love with)
  • Don’t Breathe A Word by Holly Cupula (Very touching, powerful book)
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman (Such an emotionally moving book, also the sequel is great)
  • A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young (I will always have strong feelings for this book, always)
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (Wow, just Wow. Read it)
I could recommend so many books, but these are some of my favorites that came to my mind right off.

2.) Why do you read YA?
I love it. I can relate a lot to the characters. & even though I am 26 (almost) years old I consider myself still a Young Adult. Although at times the stories seems to run together, I take a break and read Adult. but, I always seem to come back to read YA again!!

3.) Who's your FAVORITE Brunette/Zombie Queen EVER? ;)
This is a hard question!!! I mean, I KNOW so many!!
Of course you are Ashley!!!!

4.) If you had to choose ONLY five books to be stranded on a desert island on with- what would they be? (No cheating either!!!)
Wow, choosing 5 books out of all of the ones I OWN. my word. hmmmmmm

5.) Are you a "mood reader" or can you just pick up any book, anytime and say, "let's go!!"
This varies for me. I am deffiantly a mood reader, but you know, in our profession, sometimes was have to read a book for review when we want to read something else. But, I would say for the most part I pick books I am in the MOOD for!

6.) What's hotter: Fallen angels or vampires?
Oh, wow. How to answer this!?
Right now, which my mind might change tomorrow, I am so undeceive. I would say Fallen Angels. One word: Patch.

7.) What's more EPIC: Vamps or zombies???
Zombies. Bottom line. The whole apocalyptic scene, guns, blood, LOVE IT. Zombies are not attractive, no! I just love the chaos I guess you could say. The gore.

8.) Fave high school moment?
If I would have been asked this in High School I would have said “Graduation”. The end. But, now years after. I loved it all. Especially Homecoming week. Just hanging around with my friends. Not ‘to big’ of a care in the world you know, just to do my best. If I would know what I know now.. I would have enjoyed it more. Took it less for granted.

9.) Ok so, this totally has nothing to do with blogging. But...I'm sooo curious. How many pairs of shoes do you own?
Ok, I counted JUST for you, because lord knows it’s a lot.
So here is the break down.
Heels: 51
Sneakers: 10
Boots: 24
Sandals / Flip Flops: 34
I will not add this up. I will not. =)

10.) Your nails always look FABULOUS! I can't wait for your IMM every Sunday so I can see what awesome design you have next. Do you get them done or do you do them yourself?
=) LOL, Thank you. Sometimes I can keep up with them, sometimes it is hard. I use to ( & sometimes still do when I want pampered) got them done. But I spent hours one night with an acrylic kit until my house smelled like a nail salon from hell, until I learned. & I did. So, I usually just do them myself. It is fun & a lot cheaper. ;)

11.) What do you like to do for fun? Besides reading and listening to BEP!
I love being outdoors when it is nice. I also love crafting. Taking pictures. Trying to make graphics. And most of all playing with my kids! =)

12.) Do you collect anything, besides books?
Refer to the answer in question #9. I love shoes. I also love Marilyn Monroe stuff! I have a ton of bags, but I never carry them. I usually stick to my favorite Coogie wallet and that be that!!

13.) What is your favorite flavor of ice cream? Wait, do you eat ice cream? Are you lactose intolerant?
Lmbo! I love Ice Cream. My favorite ice cream is;
Cherry Garcia from Ben & Jerry’s
& Vanilla Bean =) Yum!

14.) What is your favorite BEP song of ALL TIME?!?!?!?
So many;
My Humps & Imma Be & Rock That Body.
I can’t just choose one!!

15.) What is your favorite place to read? This may sound silly, but my fave reading spot is my bathrub! lol Bubble bath, candles and I'm all set!
I love to read in the bath. But, my favorite place is laying across my bed, while I listen to music!

16.) I know your a HUGE Twilight junkie. Did you go to the midnight premire of the new one? ( can't remember the name)
Breaking Dawn. Pt 1. haha ;-)
No, I do not go to the premiers. To many people for me. I wait a couple days then I go. Too many people make me nervous. And yelling teenagers are not my cup of tea. =)

17.) You have great taste in boots! Where is your favorite place to go boot/shoe shopping?
I love a good sale. I usually buy my boots from;
Rue 21
Kohl's
Shoe Department
Alloy
& cutesygirl ← Which has since, closed there site =
(

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs