Saturday, December 31, 2011

In My Mailbox (12/31)


In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren
This week I got:


What did you get this week?! Link me!!

Friday, December 30, 2011

The BEST Couples of 2011




In books that I read in 2011 (Being New or Old Releases)


Harlin + Charlotte in A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
Harlin, oh my dear dear Harlin. *swoon* I mean, wow. Charlotte and Harlin together gave me chills. The love that they had for each other, and the outcome of their relationship was enough to melt my heart and take me on a rollercoaster ride of emotions.

Jenny + Seth in The Paranormals by JL Bryan
Together Jenny & Seth was meant to be. Seriously. They each had an opposite power which worked together in a way that they could be together without having to worry about what would happen. They belonged together.

Mirko + Brooke in Descended By Blood by Angeline Kace
Dear Brooke. What in the world is wrong with you? Ok, you have 2 guys in your life that you love. BUT you have Mirko. I mean what is the problem? Choose Mirko Brooke. Well, I at least HOPE that you do. We will see how this pans out in book #2. 

Lola + Cricket in Lola & The Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Awwww. Seriously. Cricket was so awesome for Lola. It seemed like no one understood her like Cricket did. Her heart, her fashion. All of her. I was so rooting for him, and was SO glad that the book ended how it did. 
“Perfect is overrated. Perfect is boring."
I smile. "You don't think I'm perfect?"
"No. You're delightfully screwy, and I wouldn't have you any other way.”
Adam + Mia in Where She Went by Gayle Forman 
If I Stay & Where She Went were such AMAZING books. Adam & Mia had to go through something totally life altering together. Book 1 was heart wrenching. I was so tore up about it all. Then the book left you not knowing what had happened. Where She Went took you into their lives separately. Then they come together. & it will take you on a ride of emotions. The love that Mia & Adam have for each other will break your heart. You will not know what is going to happen. *note* Have tissues with each book. 

Harper + Jake in Saving June by Hannah Harrington
Saving June was such a great book. Harper + Jake come together at a very hard time in Harper's life. After her sister June committed suicide. The adventure to save June brings Harper & Jake closer. Along the road trip they will find a love that they cannot deny.   

Alex + Aiden in Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout
I will be Alex. Let's just pretend I am. They are forbidden to be together. Pure & Half-Bloods are not to be together. But, how can you not be with the one that you love. I cannot wait to see how this love they have for each other. This crazy attraction pans out in Pure.

Cassia + Ky in Crossed by Ally Condie
I feel in love with Cassia & Ky in Matched. In this society not being with the one that you are Matched with is out of the ordinary. But what happens when you experience a glitch, and someone elses face shows up as your Matched? In Crossed they are crossing all boundaries to be together. And in the end, will they get to stay together? Do not go gentle.

Clary + Jace in City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare
I have only read book #1 in this series. I was so into Clary and Jace. UNTIL the ending of the book. I am hoping that the rest of the books change. But, until I read other wise I feel that they should be together. I want them to be together. I hope that they can be!

Nora + Patch in Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Patch. Oh Patch. I was so feeling Patch. He is so much like my husband that it is crazy. *swoon*
Nora + Patch are a match made. I am so excited to read book #2 & #3. 
“You possess other people's...bodies."
He accepted that statement with a nod.
"Do you want to possess my body?"
"I want to do a lot of things to your body, but that's not one of them.” ~Patch
 
There are SO many more. SO MANY! But, these are some of my favorite couples of books that I have read in 2011. What are some of your favorite couples that you have read about this year?! Tell me in the comments!


Thursday, December 29, 2011

Top 12 Most Anticipating Reads of 2012





How can I narrow all the books I want to read in 2012 (New Releases) down to 12?!?! Here we go:

  1. A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young
  2. Cursed by Jennifer Armentrout
  3. Pure by Jennifer Armentrout
  4. Breaking Beautiful by Jennifer Shaw Wolf
  5. Fever by Lauren DeStefano
  6. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
  7. Masque of The Red Death by Bethany Griffin 
  8. Goddess Interrupted by Amiee Carter
  9. The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour
  10. When The Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen
  11. Shift (Book #2) by MR Merrick (NO cover yet)
  12. Article 5 by Kirsten Simmons
What are you anticipating to read in 2012? Link me!

End Of The Year Survey



Click image to go to the survey post!
1. Best Book You Read In 2011?
A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
This book, for me was amazing. Brilliant. BEAUTIFUL. I feel so very strongly about this book. I went through so many emotions when I read it. I cried. I feel in love with the characters. I just, wow. I could never explain how great and amazing this book was for me. 
2. Most Disappointing Book/Book You Wish You Loved More Than You Did?
Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma
I tell you what. I have been confused a lot in my life. But, while reading a book, I would rather NOT be. This book had me so confused I was furious. Because I just did not get it. Understand it. Or relate to the characters. But, on a side note... The cover is AMAZING.
3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2011?
Exiled by MR Merrick. 
This book was phenomenal. Loved the characters and cannot wait to read book #2 (Shift) in 2012
4. Book you recommended to people most in 2011?
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
I will not go into this book yet. As, I have NOT written my review.
5. Best series you discovered in 2011?
The Paranormals by JL Bryan
This series includes Jenny Pox, Tommy Nightmare & Alexander Death
This series (Although I believe it is a trilogy... oh well) was AMAZING I could not get enough of these books. The characters are strong amazing characters, and the writing pulls you in until you are done. I would love more of these books!!! 
6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2011?
Suzanne Young. 
She is so amazingly cool. Her books are awesome & I cannot wait for more of her work to be in my hands!

Angeline Kace. 
She wrote Descended By Blood which I fell in love with. She is amazing also. I just love her face! & Mirko!

Matthew Merrick (M.R. MERRICK) 
The Author of Exiled. AMAZING book. AWESOME down to earth author. 

JL Bryan 
I loved Jenny Pox so much I HAD to finish the WHOLE series! Loved it. JL Bryan is an awesome writer. And he is incredibly funny!!
7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?
But I Love Him by Amanda Grace
Books dealing with abuse are very hard for me to read. But, I loved this book. And it had a great ending!
8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2011?
The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
OMG. This was one of those books that was SO hard to put down because you was like "WTF" in a totally good way!! This is a must read if you have not read it. 
9. Book you most anticipated in 2011?
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
Have you read IF I STAY? Omg. That book was so awesome after I finished it I had to wait what seemed like FOREVER to read Where She Went because it was not released yet! These are very emotional books. Book 2 was amazing and the story ended very good! Loved it!
10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2011?
11. Most memorable character in 2011?
Charlotte & Harlin- A Need So Beautiful
Mara- The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
Juliette- Shatter Me
Chase- Exiled
Mirko- Descended by Blood
Jenny & Seth- Jenny Pox
Rhine - Wither
12. Most beautifully written book read in 2011?
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
[I CANNOT PICK JUST ONE!!!]
13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2011?
A Need So Beautiful 
DO YOU ALL GET HOW MUCH I LOVED THIS BOOK!?! =)
14. Book you can't believe you waited UNTIL 2011 to finally read?
JENNY POX by JL Bryan
15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2011?

“Wind is blowing past me and I open my eyes to look at the bridge above me. But I see only Harlin. And as I fall, he mouths, I love you.” ~ A Need So Beautiful
“I love you. Remember. They cannot take it” ~ Delirium
“Every minute you spend with someone gives them a part of your life and takes part of theirs.” ~Matched
 16. Book That You Read In 2011 That Would Be Most Likely To Reread In 2012?
I am going to be rereading A Need So Beautiful & I want to reread Delirium
17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!
DELIRIUM, WITHER, MATCHED & THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER

Looking Ahead...
1. One Book You Didn't Get To In 2011 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2012?
I am among the very small group of people who HAVE NOT read Harry Potter. I plan on it... It just never seems to happen =)
2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2012?
This is Not A Test by Courtney Summers!
I love her books and this one is about Zombies.. WIN!!
3. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2012?

Reading: I am hoping to start & finish some of my Adult series. Try maybe a couple books out of my regular genre. And just try to beat my goal of 90 and read 100+ books this year. We can hope right?!

Blogging: I would love to come up with a cool event or a weekly meme. It is hard to think of ones though. I will always review books honestly. 

I hope that 2012 will be calmer for me than 2011 was. *Phew* what a year. 
Did you do the survey? Link me so I can see what books you chose!!

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

My Favorite Covers of 2011



Have you ever seen a cover that made you speechless?
Here are some of my favorite covers of 2011




 There were SO many awesome covers this year! Rather you love the cover but did not like this book. This is a COVER love post! I just love a GOOD cover.. You can only hope the pages are as good. They say NEVER Judge A Book By The Cover... But, that is very hard when the covers are THIS good.
 What covers did you love!? Let me know in the comments! 





Monday, December 26, 2011

The Best of 2011

Hard to believe 2011 is almost over! This year has flown by! I have been blogging for 1 year 5 months & some days now! I have read some amazing book & some, not so amazing books. I have met some awesome bloggers and made some very special friendships through blogging. I have dealt with some amazing publishers, authors, and I am just beyond happy about how my new blog design turned out *Thanks to Lori @ Imagination Designs*! 
This blog post is going to concentrate on the amazing books that I have read in 2011! Only 5 star books are listed here! The order is NOT have I favor them! The #1 spot, is my #1 favorite book of the year. So, do no fret. These books besides #1 are in no order, they are ALL 5 star books!
Here is MY list:

A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
Descended By Blood by Angeline Kace
Jenny Pox by JL Bryan
Exiled by M.R Merrick
Tommy Nightmare by JL Bryan
Saving June by Hanna Harrington
Alexander Death by JL Bryan
Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon
Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout
But I Love Him by Amanda Grace
Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder
Captivated by Deb Apodaca
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder
Love & Leftovers by Sara Tregay
Wither by Lauren DeStefano
The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
Fall For Anything by Courtney Summers
The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Anna & the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
The Giver by Lois Lowry
Perfect by Ellen Hopkins
Crank by Ellen Hopkins
Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg
Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Touch by Jus Accardo

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Don't Breathe A Word by Holly Cupula
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Envy by Gregg Olsen

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpartick
Hallowland by Amanda Hocking
The Goddess Test by Amiee Carter
Dark Eden by Patrick Carmen
Beastly by Alex Flinn
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler


Matched by Ally Condie Eve by Anna Carey

I have read a lot of books this year. These were the ones (5 Stars) that I loved the most. Something about them just did it all for me! What is your 'Best of 2011'? Let me know some of your top reads of 2011? Maybe there is a fabulous book out there that I have not read, yet!

Sunday, December 25, 2011

Merry Christmas 2011


I hope that each and every one of you have a Very Merry Christmas! This has surely been one hectic month for me as it has probably been the same for you! Decorating, Buying Gifts, Making Gifts, Wrapping Gifts, -Trying to read-, Making goodies, Cleaning, Getting everything ready for this day! Well, as much stress that I have been under just getting to this day I am very happy it is here and now I can enjoy some time with my family! I will be posting pictures later of my kids! So, you can see the joy that I have, today, and for the rest of everyday! 
Never forget, what today REALLY means. No matter what you get. Always leave Christ in Christmas! Today is so much more about that, then presents! 
Enjoy. 

Be Safe | Be Joyous | Be Thankful

Merry Christmas from my home to yours!

Friday, December 23, 2011

Review: Don't Breathe A Word by Holly Cupula


Hardcover: 304 pages
Expected Publication: January 3rd 2012 

Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: 0061766690 
ISBN13: 9780061766695
Received: ARC From Publisher
Joy Delamere is suffocating... From asthma, which has nearly claimed her life. From her parents, who will do anything to keep that from happening. From delectably dangerous Asher, who is smothering her from the inside out.
Joy can take his words - tender words, cruel words - until the night they go too far.
Now, Joy will leave everything behind to find the one who has offered his help, a homeless boy called Creed. She will become someone else. She will learn to survive. She will breathe... if only she can get to Creed before it’s too late.
Set against the gritty backdrop of Seattle’s streets and a cast of characters with secrets of their own, Holly Cupala’s powerful new novel explores the subtleties of abuse, the meaning of love, and how far a girl will go to discover her own strength.
My Review:
This is a book I was looking forward to. Holly Cupula the author of Tell Me A Secret knows how to take a tragic story and make it absolutely beautiful. Don't Breathe A Word is a story about Joy. Who is tired of the things that are going on in her life that she feels like she cannot control. 
Asher, Joys boyfriend is not the person she thought him to be. When there relationship started he was sweet, yet a little over protective. At 1st this to Joy seemed ok, until his protectiveness took a turn for the worse. Things had to be the way Asher wanted. If not, he had a side hidden about himself that Joy got to see often. 
Scared, and suffocating Joy makes the decision that will change her life, forever.
Changing who she was, along with her appearance Joy sets out to find something better.. but, is that possible?
Joy meets a group of teenagers, who's life is way less then perfect. 
Through them Joy will learn that things are harder in the streets then she would have ever imagined. With the help of these 3 teens, Joy finds that even though these kids have a rough exterior. They each have a story. They each have hope, and just want to live, even when it seems like death is all that they have at times.
Don't Breathe A Word is a very touching book that will melt your heart, and hope that Joy will find herself, and with the help of Creed. She finds more than just that out in the dark, cold nights... she finds love.
"Every night when I fell asleep next to him, our connection was much deeper than skin and flesh. All that was left was for our flesh to touch."
Holly Cupula knows how to pull you in. As you read her words, you feel them in your heart. 
Even through the troubles of each of the teens you will meet in this book, you will have so much hope for them. You want them to know, and learn that they can make a change. Just one decision will change there lives... forever.
"ASHES. He had reduced me to ashes. And not I would rise"
*Quotes not final*
Preorder Don't Breathe A Word

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Guest Post: 5 Favorite Things About Christmas



First off I would like to thank Loretta for having me be a guest host!
Alright down to what you really want to know..
My 5 favorite things about Christmas Time!
5. Reading
Come on, like this wouldn't be on the list!
I love that school is out for the holiday and my work is closed for several days, this means I can get a lot of reading done. Plus who doesn't enjoy spending some time wrapped up in blankets with a book.
4. Decorations
I always enjoy getting the outside and inside of my house decorated.
It is always great to walk down the neighborhood, especially since where I live it is a square mile of housing, and see all of the beautiful lights. There are several houses on a small man made lake behind my house so it is fun to see what they come up with every year that reflects off of the water.
3. Presents
Call it the kid in me but I still love to wake up early on Christmas morning and open gifts. I love to watch people open what I got them just as much. I'm not greedy I like to give and recieve gifts.
2. The Tree
I know, I know, technically the Christmas tree is part of the decoration process! However, in my house for the past 5 years my parents have not really wanted to put up the tree because it is a lot of work. I would not stand for that, if no other decorations are up for the holiday, then the tree is a must! Plus I have a beautiful fake white tree, I refuse to have a real tree or a fake green one, it has to be white and fake!!
Photobucket
1. Family Dinner
Family dinners never stood out that much to me in the past because I was able to eat dinner with my family every night. Well I have a night job now so I'm hardly ever home when anyone else is so I appreciate these times now. Plus some years my family will leave AZ to go freeze in IL where all of my extended family is. Trust me family dinner in IL is a crazy affair with 50 people all in one two story house! So yes it is crazy but I wouldn't have it any other way.


Thank you Alexa! Wonderful post! I love your tree & of course who don't like presents! Especially BOOK ones!! 
Be sure to check out Alexa & Johnny's blog over @ Pages Of Forbidden Love. You will love them! I know I do!
What are some of YOUR favorite things about Christmas? Let us know!

Review: Fairy Metal Thunder by JL Bryan



Paperback: 194 pages
Published: September 16th 2011
Publisher: CreateSpace
ISBN: 146635190X 
ISBN13: 9781466351905
Received: From Author; For Review
The Assorted Zebras are a teenage garage band in Wisconsin with no fans and no gigs, until they steal four enchanted instruments from the fairy world. The new instruments make the band a huge overnight success, but they aren’t exactly ready for fame, fortune, or the supernatural creatures sent by the fairies to track them down.
My Review:
Fairy Metal Thunder was a very fun book. Besides reading I love music. So when there is music in a book, WIN! Fairy Metal Thunder was about a group of kids wanting to make it in the music world. The Assorted Zebras. Jason- the MC, was very likable. All of the characters to me felt real, and not over the top. The writing flowed and you got pulled into another world that JL Bryan has created. A Fairy world, where the creatures were intriguing. Especially Grizlemor the goblin! This 'creature' was so funny, and had me literally laughing out. He is disturbingly gross, and you still can't help but like the little smelly goblin.
Jason is led to this other world by chasing a Goblin, who had been stealing things from his home. When he enters this new world he stumbles upon some magical instruments. Knowing that this is just what his bad needs to make it big Jason steals then and heads back to his world, determined to show the band.
What they don't know is that, while they are playing these instruments, when they should have returned them. There are people planning to get them back.
You will get a feel of both worlds in the book. I didn't feel overwhelmed at all while this was happening. While The Assorted Zebras are playing, getting fans, making gigs. The fairies are planning to get back what rightfully belongs to them.
Jason had a major crush on Erin, another member of the band. But, she already had a boyfriend. I felt for Jason, because I mean he really liked this girl, and you could tell that maybe just maybe Erin liked him too. Near the end of the book, something is developing between them, that I cannot wait to read more about in book #2.
I think that the characters should have been a little more questioning of Jason as to "Ok you have magical instruments, that just did some really cool, freaky magical things...let's play". I would have liked more of a slight hesitation. Because, I know myself, and I would be freaking out. There would need to be some explaining. SO, that is my only thing negative I had to say, which was not even that big of a deal.
JL Bryan adds so much detail into his writing that you can imagine it perfectly. Everything flows together, the plot, the characters, everything goes together to make you feel like you are actually in the book. I love JL Bryan's books. I have read all 3 books of The Paranormal's. He has amazing talent, and I cannot wait to read more of his work and continue on with the Songs Of Magic series.
I am looking forward to see where book 2 takes of from where book 1 left off.
DO not pass it up. You will love this book filled with some really down to earth characters.

Where you can get Fairy Metal Thunder

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Guest Post: 5 Favorite Christmas Movies

There are a lot of great Christmas movies out there, but I know there are a few that I always like to watch each year around Christmas if I see them on. Below I will list five of my favorite Christmas movies, I am sure most of you have heard of them as they 
are pretty popular ones each Christmas. :) 


1. Home Alone - There have been plenty of remakes of this one, but I still think the Original is the best.. Even though I was barely a year old when it came out. :P 

2. A Christmas Carol - This one is a classic, I haven't seen it many times in the original black and white format simply because they don't show it very often. But I like the classic version a lot more than the new colored versions. 

3. The Santa Clause - This is another one where the first movie is so much better than the others. I really like Tim Allen as an actor, so it's a win win for me. Great movie, and great acting. Perfect movie to watch for Christmas. 


4. The Polar Express - I've only seen this one a few times, but it's a great Christmas movie. Well worth watching at least once if you've never seen it. :) 

5. National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation - This is just one of those funny movies that is just fun to watch during the Christmas season. It's not a very serious movie at all, which is great because a lot of Christmas movies tend to be a little more on the serious side. 


Note: All images are from IMDb.


Now that you know some of my favorite movies to watch during Christmas time, what are some of yours? :) 

Waiting On Wednesday (12/21)



Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine
This week I am waiting on:

Expected Publication: April 24th 2012 by Harlequin Teen
You will kill. The only question is when. In the dark days since the insidious Red Lung virus decimated the human population, vampires have risen to rule the crumbling cities and suburbs. Uncontested Princes hold sway over diminished ranks of humans: their "pets." In exchange for their labor, loyalty and of course, their blood, these pets are registered, given food and shelter, permitted to survive.
Unregistered humans cling to fringes, scavenging for survival. Allison Sekemoto and her fellow Unregistereds are hunted, not only by vampires, but by rabids, the unholy result of Red Lung-infected vampires feeding on unwary humans. One night, Allie is attacked by a pack of rabids, saved by an unlikely hero...and turned vampire.
Uncomfortable in her undead skin, Allie falls in with a ragtag crew of humans seeking a cure, or cures: for Rabidism and for Vampirism. She's passing for human...for now. But the hunger is growing and will not be denied. Not for friendship—not even for love.
What are you waiting on?? Link me! 

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Top Ten Tuesday (12/20)


Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke & The Bookish
This weeks topic is:
Top Ten Books I Hope Santa Brings
I can so do this topic.

1.) Legend by Marie Lu
2.) The Name of The Star by Maureen Johnson 
3.) The Lovers Dictionary by David Leviathan 
4.) Hate List by Jennifer Brown
5.) The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab
6.) Sometimes It Happens by Lauren Barnholdt
7.) Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
8.) Breathing Underwater by Alex Flinn
9.) Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout 
10.) The Taker by Alma Katsu

There are SO MANY more! But, these are what came to my mind, right away, without having to look at my WL!
What are you Top 10 Picks! Be sure to link me and then tell me after Christmas is you got any!! 

Monday, December 19, 2011

Christmas Q & A With M.R. Merrick


Thank you M.R. Merrick for joining me today & letting me get a peek into your life & ask you about Christmas!
MR Merrick is the Author for Exiled (Book 1) and the upcoming release of Shift (Book 2). Which is to release in 2012!
(Which I am very much anticipating)

Ok Matthew, here we go:

LD: What is your most favorite thing about Christmas? 
MM: It’s changed so much lately. When I was little, it was all about Santa, and presents. As I got older, it was about family. I never spent much quality time with my family, and I craved that. Whenever Christmas came around, I really looked forward to family breakfasts, and evening drinks with everyone. Whether it was while playing boardgames, or just catching up. Since I’ve had kids however, Christmas has been reinvented. The ideas, decorating, Santa, it has all been rekindled in the eyes of my children. My favorite part is still catching up with family, but seeing my little girls on Christmas day brings such warmth to my soul, I’m not sure words can describe that.

LD: What are the gifts that your kids are MOST excited about this year? 
MM: My oldest is Peyton, she’s 5, and I think she is looking forward to a Nintendo DS the most. Actually, that’s also the gift I’m looking forward to giving her the most. My newest addition, Elena, is only 5 months old, so she doesn’t know what’s going on yet. She’s probably looking forward to having me home for a week, and hours of snuggles where she can drool on dad. For her, that’s what I’m looking forwad to too.  

LD: Do you open presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day?
MM: Christmas Day! I wasn’t allowed to open any gifts on Christmas Eve, not even on. I’m torturing my kids with that rule too. Growing up, my parents wouldn’t even let us open anything until after everyone had ate breakfast, AND it had been cleaned up. It was horrible. I know, what you’re thinking: I had it rough, and you’re totally right. I don’t keep that rule, as soon as we wake up, the kids can open their presents, as long as dad has coffee.

LD: Do you have any holiday Traditions from when you was a child, that you still take part in? Or, have you made new ones with your little ones? 
MM: We never had many traditions growing up. One routine I did look forward to the most, was my Auntie Jean coming over. She lived about 4 hours away, and we never saw her much, but she made the most AMAZING Ginger Snaps, which happen to be my favorite cookie. I miss those cookies. Since I had kids we started a new tradition, that on my brithday (December 4th), we always set up the tree, and decorate the house. Every year, Peyton wishes me happy birthday, then hounds me all day until I start unpacking the boxes.

LD: What is the gift that YOU are wanting!? 
MM: There’s nothing I want this year. I now that sounds ridiculous, an untrue, but I’ve gotten to the point in my life, where it’s all just stuff. I want to see my kids face on Christmas morning. Have a drink(s) with my Grandpa, and lay in front of the fire.

LD:Online or Retail shopper? 
MM: Retail, 100%. I should be an online shopper, because I hate Christmas Shopping. Not the shopping itself, but the crowded malls full of pushy people. I used to hate it so much (before I had kids) that I did all my shopping Christmas Eve. Now, I do it very early to avoid the crowds. I was done all my shopping by the middle of November this year.

LD: What are you cooking this year? 
MM: I get off the hook this year. No cooking for me. We’re all going to my Mom’s house, so she’ll be making everything. Turkey, Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Stuffing. I’ll help where ever I can, but I’m going to enjoy not being the chef this year.

LD: Are you a peeker? Ok, let me … rephrase that! Do you look around the house for your presents, before they end up under the tree??? Hmmmm??? MM: I peeked once when I was little, and I felt so terribly guilty. I have a wicked conscious, so I can’t do things like that. They eat away at me. So no, never a peeker.

LD: Thank you Matthew for participating in my little holiday Q & A. Now, all I want for Christmas is …..... *Chase*!
MM: Haha, I’m working on it. Thank you so much for hosting me during this awesome season. :) 


Have a very Merry Christmas.

Where you can find Exiled by M. R. Merrick
(Read it! It is AMAZING)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs