Tuesday, November 29, 2011

November Wrap Up + RAK

November End Of Month
WRAP UP
[Random Acts Of Kindess]
I Received:
Dearly, Departed (Gone with the Respiration #1) by Lia Habel
Thank you Amber @ The Musings of ALMYBNENR
Prized (Birth Marked #2) by Caragh M. O'Brien [arc]
Thank You Georgina @ Chick Litaholic
Touch (Denazen #1) by Juss Accardo
Thank you Angela @ Reading Angel
The Pledge by Kimberly Derting
Thank You Angela @ Reading Angel
The Immortals box set Books 1-3 by Alyson Noel
Thank you Christina @ The Princess of Storyland
 I sent:
[Random Acts Of Kindness]
 Exiled by MR Merrick to Angela @ Reading Angel
Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris to Amber @ The Musings of ALMYBNENR
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (arc) Amber @ The Musings of ALMYBNENR
Love Story by Jennifer Echols Christina @ The Princess of Storyland
Imaginary Girls by Nove Ren Suma Christina @ The Princess of Storyland
Wither by Lauren DeStefano Georgina @ Chick Litaholic
Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout to Carrie @ Stalking The Bookshelves
I READ:
Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay
Don't Breathe a Word by Holly Cupala
Alexander Death by JL Bryan [Review]
Between by Cyndi Tefft
Hush, Hush by Bacca Fitzpatrick [Review]
Saving June by Hannah Harrington [Review]
Touch by Jus Accardo [Review]
Fairy Metal Thunder by JL Bryan
Mom Read & Reviewed:
Before I Die by Jenny Downham [Review]
Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas by Nicholas Sparks [Review]
I MADE A VIDEO REVIEW FOR THE PARANORMALS by JL Bryan
I decided to do THESE challenges!
Which ones have you decided to do?
We Celebrated Thanksgiving. Did you enjoy your day?
I didn't get to read as much as I normally do. Nor, do I think that I will next month. Here is to hoping.
I will be around.
It's ALMOST Christmas. Can You Believe it?


December TBR List



Review Books:
Bewitching by Alex Flinn
Zombie Day Care by Craig
The Wedding Gift by Kathleen McKenna
Everneath by Brodi Ashton
Cinder by Marissa Meyer (reading now)
Try Not To Breathe by Jennifer R. Hubbard

Books:
A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford
The Christmas Sweater by Glenn Beck
Cloaked by Alex Flinn
A Kiss In Time by Alex Flinn
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma (reading now)
What are you reading this month? Do you have a TBR post? Link me so I can check it out!

Top Ten Tuesday (11/29)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke & The Bookish
This weeks Topic is: Top Ten Books On My TBR List For Winter

I have a HUGE TBR pile that I plan on tackling in 2012. So, for the winter, starting in December. I hope that get the majority of my early 2012 review books read. So, I will be doing those today.

Here we go..
Now for non-review books:

Monday, November 28, 2011

Support Four Debut Authors & Snag $125

 
 
Support Four Debut Authors and Snag $125!
Four books
Two Days
Great Prizes
With this contest, there is something for everyone and it’s SO simple to be in on the winning!
On November 28 and/or 29, purchase 1 or all 4 of the debut author’s books listed here. Then forward proof of purchase (the receipt Amazon sends you will do just fine) to : motionsrider@yahoo.ca and get up to 4 entries into a draw for a $100 Amazon gift card!
It’s that easy, no reviews, no hoops to jump through. Just a great .99 book or two. Or three or four. AND, if the person who wins the $100 Amazon Gift Card has purchased all 4 books, an additional $25 Amazon Gift Card will be awarded to the winner!
On top of that, 2 random commenter’s picked from 2 of our participating blogs will receive $5 gift Amazon gift cards . So, be sure to leave a comment and let us know what you think of the promo, the books, or the authors.
Winners will be chosen randomly, one entry per person, per book.
All winners will be announced on December 7th on Wringing Out Words (http://shannonmayer.blogspot.com)
 
Between by Cyndi Tefft
It just figures that the love of Lindsey Water's life isn't alive at all, but the grim reaper, complete with a dimpled smile, and Scottish accent.
After transporting souls to heaven for the last 300 years, Aiden MacRae has all but given up on finding the one whose love will redeem him and allow him entry through the pearly gates.
Torn between her growing attraction to Aiden and heaven's siren song, Lindsey must learn the hard way whether love really can transcend all boundaries.
BUY HERE
 
Until Dawn: Last Light by Jennifer Simas
When darkness falls, whose side will you be on?
For the past six years, Zoë has been anything but “normal.” Struggling to accept her immortality and thrown into a war that’s been waging in the shadows for over a thousand years, Zoë must now become who she was meant to be, joining the other Chosen to save what’s left of humanity. When the endless night falls over the Earth, will she be able to save the one man who reminds her of what it is to be human, or will it be too late?
Until Dawn: Last Light is a story of death and despair, love and longing, hope and hopelessness, and the ability to survive and keep going even when it seems impossible – when you want nothing more than to give up.
BUY HERE
 
The Kayson Cycle by Jonathan D. Allen
A stranger enters a dying town and makes a desperate plea…
The Kayson Cycle introduces the Kayson Brothers, a pair of faith healers who once wowed crowds in a traveling show but went their separate ways after a night in which a healing took a dark turn. Jeffrey Kayson disappeared into the wilderness and William Kayson, wracked by guilt, moved to the failing mining town of Calico Hills to build a nice, quiet life – one that has lasted for over ten years.
His quiet, predictable life crumbles when a mysterious stranger walks into his tavern bearing a proposal to find his long-lost brother and do the one thing that William has sworn to never do again - have his brother heal a woman. William soon learns that he can’t escape his family – or his destiny.
Includes an exclusive sample chapter of The Corridors of the Dead. Please note that this is a Kindle Single, and around 6,000 words in length.
BUY HERE
 
Sundered by Shannon Mayer
A miracle drug, Nevermore, spreads like wildfire throughout the world allowing people to eat what they want, and still lose weight. It is everything the human population has ever dreamed of and Mara is no different. Only a simple twist of fate stops her from taking Nevermore.
As the weeks roll by, it becomes apparent that Nevermore is not the miracle it claimed. A true to life nightmare, the drug steals the very essence that makes up humanity and unleashes a new and deadly species on the world that is bent on filling its belly. Locked down within their small farm home, Mara and her husband Sebastian struggle against increasingly bad odds, fighting off marauders and monsters alike.
But Sebastian carries a dark secret, one that more than threatens to tear them apart, it threatens to destroy them both and the love they have for each other.
Now Mara must make the ultimate choice. Will she live for love, or will she live to survive?
BUY HERE

Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick


Paperback: 391 pages
Published: September 14th 2010
Publisher: Simon & Schuster BFYR 
(first published October 13th 2009)
ISBN: 1416989420 

ISBN13: 9781416989424
Series: Hush, Hush #1
Received: Bought
For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She's never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her...until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment, but after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is far more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.
For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen - and when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.
My Review:
I was very skeptical when starting this book. Because of all the mixed reviews! I hate when I do that, because I usually end up LOVING the book. In this case.... that is true. I loved Hush, Hush. 
Nora Grey has no desire for a relationship, but it seems that her best friend Vee wants her to have just that. Nora just has no intrest in it. At all.
Patch, catches Nora's eyes. But, for some reason she has no clue why she is so After her biology teacher makes them change lab partners, she is forced to get to know the quiet, and mysterious Patch. An exchange student who has never participated in class. Now, he is all of a sudden joining class discussion, and wanting to participate. When he speaks to Nora, he says things that are rather; rude, out of line, right down irritating to Nora.
She feels that there is something off about Patch. Something wrong. Something mysterious, and yet scary.
He knows how to say the right things to get under her skin. How does he know these little things about her? Nora cannot figure this out.
A lot of crazy things start to happen, and she really does not know who she can turn to. It seems that no matter what, Patch is always right there. What is it with him...
When Nora finally connects the dots, it will lead her into a life she could have never imagined, and a love she could have never thought possible.
I was not at all put off by Patch's attitude. I mean, he reminded me of my very own *hubby*!
I do not relate books. *This book is so stupid because it sounds like Twilight*! I really hate reading things like that. I see what you are saying. Partners, his put off-ish attitude. But, really that is it. But, no other book can have characters that are lab partners because Twilight did?
I enjoyed reading this book and I hope that I enjoy the others as well.
Hush, Hush was a very intense read that I did not want to put down. Becca Fitzpatrick created very amazing characters, I am so loving Patch. I cannot wait to see where book 2 takes them.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

In My Mailbox (11/26)

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren
This week I got:


Bought For Kindle:
Small Town Sinners by Melissa C. Walker (Goodreads)
My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison (Goodreads)
Bought:
The Unofficial Hunger Games Companion by Lois H. Gresh (Goodreads)
Silence [Hush, Hush #3] by Becca Fitzpatrick (Goodreads)
Saving June by Hannah Harrington (Goodreads)
RAK:
A Certain Slant of Light [A Certain Slant of Light #1] by Laura Whitcomb (Goodreads)
Review:
Super Zombie Juice: Mega Bomb by M.J.A Ware (Goodreads)
Pandemonium [Delirium #2] by Lauren Oliver (Goodreads)

What did you GET in your mailbox?
Link me below so I can check it out.

Friday, November 25, 2011

The Paranormal's by JL Bryan Video Book Reviews

As most of you all know. I loved The Paranormal's books by JL Bryan.
  • Jenny Pox
  • Tommy Nightmare
  • Alexander Death
Here is my viedo review of ALL 3 books.
You will have prompts, as to when I am going to switch books. So don't worry about spoilers, if you have not read a certain book. This video is not full of a bunch of spoilers either. Just tid-bits!

Thursday, November 24, 2011

*Happy Thanksgiving 2011*

Happy Thanksgiving to you all! I will most likely NOT be on any today! I will be stuffing my face with one more bite of stuffing.. and then trying to stuff in dessert. Napping, and getting ready for the dreaded Black Friday! Yes, although I hate it, I always go getting things for Christmas! It's just...  what I do .... !! 
I hope that each and everyone of you have a very blessed day! Be safe and I will see you back here Friday... I think! Unless I am in a food induced coma! 
Happy Thanksgiving from my family to yours!

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (11/23)


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:


A Great and Terrible Beauty meets Cassandra Clare in this spellbinding fantasy

Everybody knows Cate Cahill and her sisters are eccentric. Too pretty, too reclusive, and far too educated for their own good. But the truth is even worse: they're witches. And if their secret is discovered by the priests of the Brotherhood, it would mean an asylum, a prison ship—or an early grave.

Before her mother died, Cate promised to protect her sisters. But with only six months left to choose between marriage and the Sisterhood, she might not be able to keep her word . . . especially after she finds her mother's diary, uncovering a secret that could spell her family's destruction. Desperate to find alternatives to their fate, Cate starts scouring banned books and questioning rebellious new friends, all while juggling tea parties, shocking marriage proposals, and a forbidden romance with the completely unsuitable Finn Belastra.

If what her mother wrote is true, the Cahill girls aren't safe. Not from the Brotherhood, the Sisterhood—not even from each other.

I want to read this book SO bad!!! Really, like, BAD! 
It sounds so amazing. & that cover, *sigh* + Witches *sigh again*!!

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Review: Alexander Death by JL Bryan

Published: September 23rd 2011
Series: The Paranormal's #3
Received: From Author

While Seth searches for Jenny, Dr. Heather Reynard of the CDC unravels Seth and Jenny's secrets. 
Alexander opens Jenny's mind to her deep past, and to the full horrific extent of her powers.

Torn between her feelings for Alexander and Seth, and between her past lives and her present, Jenny must prepare to face her enemies in the final, catastrophic battle...
My Review:
This book starts off with Seth, as a child. Reliving his past, when his brother Carter, 1st learned about Seth’s... touch. Taking you into that moment, when his family received that dreaded phone call. Carter had died. This was not easy for Seth. As I was reading this I was so ‘emotional’! Really, wiped a tear. All Seth wanted was to save his brother. But, it was to late.

At the ending of book #2 (Tommy Nightmare). Jenny had left with the ever mysterious Alexander. Who saved her from the riot in Charleston that had been created by the ever so evil ass Ashleigh & Tommy. After her rescue, she leaves with Alexander to Mexico. At the ending of book 2 I was so mad at Seth. I mean COME ON. Then I was like, Ooo Alexander, sounds... rather.. delish.
For a second I think I changed sides. For a SECOND that is.
Something about Alexander I didn’t like. I just could not put my finger on it. But, something was up with this... a perfect specimen...to perfect. After some time in Mexico, Jenny finds answers to some questions. But, are they the truth?
Alexander treats Jenny as a Queen. *ahem* Zombie Queen. Buying her gifts, having party’s, wanting nothing more than for Jenny to remember him, her past, their past lives ‘together’. As Jenny tries, she only remembers minor things.... at 1st...
Seth is left, in Fallen Oaks, with no idea of where Jenny is. Or what has happened. What happened in Charleston? The girl, the mob, everything is just a little fuzzy & very weird to him at this point. He feels, it is almost like, Ashleigh's doing. But, Ashleigh is dead.... UH, NO!
Thinking that Jenny was Kidnapped, Seth seeks her out. Turning to some big guys to find out what has happened. But, will they be able to help him? Or will he be left with more questions.
When he finally finds Jenny, he is surprised.. Jenny has changed.
Everything that happened in this book (and all the others) was simply genius. Edge of your seat, make you want to smack your momma good. Ok, maybe not smack your momma. But, def something.
JL Bryan has this way, of pulling you in with every word, every page, ever chapter.. until your sitting on the edge of your bed, book in hand, biting your nails until they are nonexistent. You will think one thing is going to happen, then the switch will flip, leaving you with your mouth hanging open in awe. Never think you know what is going to happen. Because, once you do that idea will smack you in your face, revealing something new.
Alexander Death was a great ending to a AMAZING trilogy! Although, I am very sad that it is over. I am so very glad that I have read this trilogy, as I can say it has been one of my favorite sets of books, in a while. You get very attached to the characters. I would love to learn more about them. JL Bryan rocked these books. If you do not read them, you are missing out on some very AWESOME things.
Jenny Pox, Tommy Nightmare, & Alexander Death, will take you into the world of 6 extraordinary characters, all who have different stories, abilities, and challenges along the way. Some you will love, and some you will love to hate. But in the end, you will be so wrapped up in each and every one of them. *Sigh*



  • Haven't read Jenny Pox Yet? HERE is my review for Book #1 
  • Read Jenny Pox, but haven't read Tommy Nightmare yet? HERE is my review for book #2


Favorite Thanksgiving Foods: Guest Post



Ever since Loretta asked me to write this little post, I've been droolin...er, DAYDREAMING about all the foodie goodness that's going to go down this coming Thursday. We'll gather at my mom and dad's around noon and play with my niece, get yelled at for sneaking bites of food and listen to my mom complain about 'doing all the work' when I've offered 5 times to help cook. It's just tradition. This and Christmas are pretty much the only time of the year when my mother actually cooks, so I'll take as much of it as I can stuff in my mouth. With that in mind, here are a few of my favorite Thanksgiving foods.




1. Sweet potato casserole - It really should be classified as CANDY. My sweet mother puts so much brown sugar on top of the pecans that it caramelizes into sweet, crunchy goodness. I could care less about the actual sweet potatoes, but it'd probably be rude to just scrape off the topping and go along my merry way.

2. Broccoli casserole - This has been my all-time favorite since I was a kid. There's nothing really fancy about this, but for some reason I can't seem to get enough. I will actually take my own Tupperware and fill one container full of the stuff before everyone has gone through the line (We do buffet-style. It's just easier with as many people that we have). I only get this once or twice a year, so by now everyone knows to get out of my way on this one.

3. And, of course, TURKEY - Not only because it tastes SO good, or the fact that we really only eat it once a year (Why is that? Why can't we make 'Thanksgiving food' year round?), but because it gives you that "OMG I'm about to fall into a food coma" feeling. And if you know me AT ALL, you know that I love me a good, long food coma.

4. Leftovers - My husband and I LOVE Thanksgiving leftovers! Hot turkey sandwiches, making mashed potato soup... Mmm. The possibilities are endless!

The best advice I can give you all for Thanksgiving... SWEATPANTS! Some people like to dress up for Thanksgiving, and that's fine. But I just can't do it. Jeans on a day like that just will not do. I need room to expand! I may do leggings and a cute top, but I'm really not worried about it. I will savor every moment of that day, and take a huge nap to show my thanks and appreciation. 

Big 'thank you' to Loretta, for having me embarrass myself and release my inner fat kid! Hope you all have a fantastic and safe Thanksgiving! =)

Thank you Lindsay for stopping by & taking over my blog today! You have made me OH SO HUNGRY!!

What Are Your Favorite Thanksgiving foods?

Monday, November 21, 2011

Guest Post: Thanksgiving Traditions

Hi all,
It's Carrie from Stalking the Bookshelves. The lovely Loretta asked me to pop on over and talk about some of my favorite Thanksgiving traditions. So here goes...


My top favorite thing about Thanksgiving of course is the food. Thanksgiving is my favorite meal of the whole year! Cut the turkey, don't skimp on the mash potatoes and gravy, more stuffing please, can you pass me a roll and don't forget the sweet potatoes! Seriously best food ever.


We usually spend Thanksgiving Day with my in-laws because my parents live in VA. The ladies are in the kitchen cooking and the boys are in the family room watching football on the big screen. My mother-in-law makes the turkey, the rolls and the mash potatoes. I'm in charge of making my famous peachy sweet potatoes with nuts and marshmallows, the stuffing (I have to have stuffing) and I usually make a pecan pie. My father-in-law always has a few pumpkin pies for dessert as well that he insists he made from scratch. Next time he should rip the grocery store sticker off the top before putting it on the counter. *wink wink* There is usually always tons of leftovers to take home. Gotta have turkey sandwiches on rolls for the next day.


Speaking of the next day: Black Friday. I love to shop but I hate shopping on Black Friday. I hate battling the crowds, standing in long lines and having to get up at the crack of dawn to make sure I can get what I want. So therefore if I have to shop I do it online, in my pajamas, in my nice warm house.



A new tradition we have started since the birth of my son is putting up the Christmas tree the day after Thanksgiving. My son loves to help me decorate so we spend the day decorating the tree and the house for Christmas. He loves to pick out the ornaments and find special places for each of them on the tree. His favorite part is after we put the star on top and we turn the lights on. Seeing the way everything sparkles and shines puts a big smile on his face. The holidays are always made more special by the magic in a child's eyes. That's what the season is really all about, isn't it?



Well that's it for me. A big thank you to Loretta for having me and a very Happy Thanksgiving to each of you! Enjoy your food induced coma. I know I will.

Thank you Carrie being my guest on the blog.

What are your Traditions? Share them with me!

Sunday, November 20, 2011

In My Mailbox (11/20)


 In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi @ The Story Siren

This week I got:

Bought:
Shatter Me by  Tahereh Mafi
The Secret of KA by Christopher Pike

Review:
Article 5 by Kristen Simmons

RAK:
The Immortals box set Books 1-3 by Alyson Noel
Thank you Christina @ The Princess of Storyland
The Pledge by Kimberly Derting
Thank You Angela @ Reading Angel 

Won: 
Savor by Megan Duncan
Won over @ The Violet Hour

What did YOU get this week? Link me below!!

Saturday, November 19, 2011

On My Wishlist (11/19)


On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

In this first adult novel by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the unforgettable Crank trilogy, three female friends face midlife crises in a no holds-barred exploration of sex, marriage, and the fragility of life.
Ellen Hopkins has made her mark as the wildly popular author of several novels for young adults—every one of them a New York Times bestseller, and every one a hard-hitting exploration of tough-to-tackle topics. Now, in Triangles, Hopkins brings her storytelling mastery and fearlessness to take on the challenges of adult dramas.
In this emotionally powerful novel, three women face the age-old midlife question: If I’m halfway to death, is this all I’ve got to show for it? Holly, filled with regret for being a stay-at-home mom, sheds sixty pounds and loses herself in the world of extramarital sex. Andrea, a single mom and avowed celibate, watches her friend Holly’s meltdown with a mixture of concern and contempt. Holly is throwing away what Andrea has spent her whole life searching for—a committed relationship with a decent guy. So what if Andrea picks up Holly’s castaway husband? Then there’s Marissa. She has more than her fair share of challenges—a gay teenage son, a terminally ill daughter, and a husband who buries himself in his work rather than face the facts. As one woman’s marriage unravels, another one’s rekindles. As one woman’s family comes apart at the seams, another’s is reconfigured into something bigger and better. In this story of connections and disconnections, one woman’s up is another one’s down, and all three of them will learn the meaning of friendship, betrayal, and forgiveness before it is through.

I love ALL of Ellen Hopkins's Books!! =) What is on your WL this week? 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Review: Touch by Jus Accardo

Yummy guy on cover =P
Paperback: 251 pages
Published: November 1st 2011
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
ISBN13: 9781937044459
Series: Denazen #1
Received: RAK for Kindle
When a strange boy tumbles down a river embankment and lands at her feet, seventeen-year-old adrenaline junkie Deznee Cross snatches the opportunity to piss off her father by bringing the mysterious hottie with ice blue eyes home.

Except there’s something off with Kale. He wears her shoes in the shower, is overly fascinated with things like DVDs and vases, and acts like she’ll turn to dust if he touches her. It’s not until Dez’s father shows up, wielding a gun and knowing more about Kale than he should, that Dez realizes there’s more to this boy—and her father’s “law firm”—than she realized.

Kale has been a prisoner of Denazen Corporation—an organization devoted to collecting “special” kids known as Sixes and using them as weapons—his entire life. And, oh yeah, his touch? It kills. The two team up with a group of rogue Sixes hellbent on taking down Denazen before they’re caught and her father discovers the biggest secret of all. A secret Dez has spent her life keeping safe.

A secret Kale will kill to protect.

My Review:

I really enjoyed this debut from Jus Accardo.

Touch was an action packed book. With very strong characters. That you will like from that start. When you are asked for your shoes from a stange boy, wouldn’t you wonder “What the heck”????
After Deznee is introduced to Kale in the most crazy way, she learns that he is on the run. She decides this is the ‘perfect’ way to make her dad furious. Bring home a stranger, would do just that. Plus more than she could have ever imagined.
Deznee’s dad has more secrets than she could have ever imagined. After her father pulls out a gun, Kale & Deznee run. While Deznee and Kale are on the run, she will learn many things. Things her father has been keeping from her. Her life forever changing. Uncovering a life she never knew about, where people (Known as “sixes”) have powers. Ranging from all sorts. The people she thought were safe are far from it. She has to rely on the people that she meets while on the run, to help her find out what it going on. Who can she trust?
Kale & Dez’s attraction to each other blossomed so beautifully. Into a love that was just.. amazing. You could feel how they felt about each other as you read. The fear when one was in danger. Even through everything that was going on they had a bond and a love that was written & played out very beautifully. Touching it was.

“This is unlike anything else. I’ve bungeed off buildings, I’ve skateboarded off roofs. I’ve even gone train surfing. Nothing comes close to the high I feel when I’m with you. You’ve been through horrible things, and yet you’re one of the kindest, truest people I’ve ever met."
~ Dez
Touch was very action packed page after page. Nothing about this book was as it seemed. You never knew who you could trust, or couldn’t. You would think one thing, then your mouth would hit the floor, because the direction would change, or something would happen that would make you literally say “WHAT THE WHAT”!
Kale was a very interesting and funny character. He knew little about different things, because of his life, so his questioning of things in the book, was very funny and made me giggle from time to time.

“He sat up straight, eyes wide, and touched the tip of his index finger to his cheek.
"What was that?" I blushed.
"A kiss."
"That's what a kiss feels like?"
"Well, technically. There are a lot of different types of—"
"Show me." "Show you what?" "Show me some other kinds."
"You're asking me to kiss you?"

~ Dez & Kale
Dez is very strong willed. Determined. I loved her as a character. She was your regular hard headed teenager, rebelling. But, she was so much more than that in the end. Through the book she grew into a stronger character.
Jus Accardo delivers you with a heart pounding, action packed story filled with romance, and a twisting plot, with heroes & villains, and an ending that will leave you wanting more, so much more.
Read this book. Do not let it pass up. Do not buy it and read it next year. Buy it and read it -today-!! 

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Cover Reveals (11/16)





Here are some covers I have spotted recently! 

What Do You Think?


Once (Eve #2) by Anna Carey

Sixteen years have passed since a deadly virus wiped out most of the Earth’s population. After learning of the terrifying part she and her classmates were fated to play in the rebuilding of New America, eighteen-year-old Eve fled to the wilds and Califia, a haven for women determined to live outside the oppressive rule of the king of New America. However, her freedom came at a price: she was forced to leave Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. Eve quickly learns that Califia may not be as safe as it seems and soon finds herself in the City of Sand and the palace of the king. There she uncovers the real reason he was so intent on her capture, and the unbelievable role he intends her to fill. When she is finally reunited with Caleb, they will enact a plan as daring as it is dangerous. But will Eve once again risk everything—her freedom, her life—for love?


When Lily Sanderson decided to remain Crown Princess Waterlily of the mermaid kingdom Thalassinia, she knew she couldn’t just coast along in the current. But since she’s spent the last couple of years on land—with gorgeous human Quince by her side—Lily’s not sure she has the fins to lead a kingdom. Even her maddeningly pretentious cousin Dosinia seems to know more about ruling than she does. But Lily has to dive in deep to keep her promise to Tellin, her mer bond in name only, whose kingdom is suffering in the changing ocean climate. Lily knows this is a seven seas–sized problem: from sea animals dying to oil spills and threats to humans. They’ll need to create some serious waves to make the mer community aware and get it to join together to make things right. Even if that means facing one of the iciest queens in the mer kingdoms. Just when Lily thinks her double life on land and sea can’t get any more complicated, an ancient mer law might separate Lily and Quince after all. It feels as if the pair is up against a solid tsunami wave! In this third installment in the series that began with Forgive My Fins and Fins Are Forever, Lily will have to find a way to balance safety and justice for the mer people as well as for the humans she loves.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Review: Saving June by Hannah Harrington

Paperback: 336 pages
Expected Publication: November 22nd 2011
Publisher: Harlequin (first published May 1st 2011)
ISBN: 0373210248 
ISBN13: 9780373210244
Recieved: Netgalley Review
When her older sister commits suicide and her divorcing parents decide to divide the ashes, Harper Scott takes her sister's urn to the one place June always wanted to go: California. On the road with her best friend, plus an intriguing guy with a mysterious connection to June, Harper discovers truths about her sister, herself and life.


My Review:
“If you really want things to change, you can make them change no matter where you are.”
―Saving June
This book was a very powerful read. This contemporary is packed with powerful characters, and a very moving story. I was emotionally wrapped up in this books. Hannah Harrington had me at the very beginning! 
After June takes her life, Harper is left trying to pick up the pieces. Harper is devastated and has no understanding as to why June has done this. Left her. June was always the 'good' child, while Harper was the 'bad' one. She loved her sister very much, even though through the years June & Harper had grown apart.
At the funeral Harper spots a mysterious guy she has never met before, who is he? How does he know June?
Harper's parents decide to |Split| this ashes of June. Being divorced they feel that is the 'best' thing to do! Harper is not having this. She has to do something and fast. Harper and her best friend Laney decide to take the ashes, and go on a road trip. Taking June to her resting place. Harper steals June's remains. With the help of Laney, and Jake, the mysterious guy from the funeral. Who is linked to June, more that Harper knew. They set out to California, their lives forever changing from the moment they leave. 
You will fall in love, literally, with every character.
Harper is strong. Determined. She isn't very open with herself, but knows & does just what she wants! Laney, is the best friend of Harper. She is there for Harper though everything. Never stopping, never complaining. Always wanting to help Harper.. though out her tragedy. 
Jake, the mystery man. Who has had a hard life, and was closer to June than Harper realized. He left with Harper not only to help her. But, for him to understand also, about what happened to June. But, does he already have a very important piece of the puzzle?
Music. Music plays a big role in the book. Me, being the music lover that I am, no matter what the mood, music heals. Heartache. The feeling of being lost. Happy. Sad. Anything. One of my favorite quotes about music is and will always be:
“One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.”
― Bob Marley
Because that is the truth
At the end of this book was a list of the 'soundtrack' which was awesome!
So I will tell you. This book will take you places in your heart. As they travel, finding themselves along they way, you also, will think, feel, and be very emotionally into this book. It will leave you thinking days after the last page. Do not let this book pass you up!
“He took his pain and turned it into something beautiful. Into something that people connect to. And that's what good music does. It speaks to you. It changes you.”
― Saving June


Preorder This Book:

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs