Monday, October 31, 2011

November TBR (Video Blog)

Photobucket
This month I plan to read mainly what I want to read. I am having a month of awesome books. 





Review Books:
Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Don't Breathe a Word by Holly Cupala (starting nov 21)
Everneath by Brodi Ashton
Alexander Death by JL Bryan
My Books:
Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
Between by Cyndi Tefft
Juliet Immortal by Stacy Jay
Shade by Jeri Smith Ready
Hush, Hush by Bacca Fitzpatrick
Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa
Maybe's: 
Lily of the Nile by Stephanie Dray
Harry Potter #1 by JK Rowling


ADDED:
Saving June by Hannah Harrington
Touch by Jus Accardo

What are you reading this month!!? Do you have a TBR post I can look at?! Link me!!

October Wrap Up

Wow, October has already come & gone. This is insane. I cannot believe that it is time again for coats, boots & turning the heaters on. (Boo) Winter: I have not missed thee! 

This month for my reading was pretty good. I got more reading done then I thought. Oh course I did not study as much as I SHOULD have. This is bad. But, hopefully everything works out with that next month.......
Here is my October Wrap Up:

This month I have read:
Dark Eden by Patrick Carmen [Review]
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Cryer's Cross by Lisa McMann
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Descended By Blood by Angeline Kace [Review]
Zombie Stories by Various Authors
Jenny Pox by JL Bryan [Review]
Tommy Nightmare by JL Bryan [Review]
Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith [Review]
Twilight (Graphic Novel #2) by Stephenie Meyer
Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout [Review]
Married With Zombies by Jesse Petersen
(Links take you to Good reads. Ones I have written reviews to have REVIEW + link @ the end)

Tours:
I was in 3 book tours this month.

I RECEIVED for RAK
I SENT out for RAK
One Grave at a Time by Jeanine Frost  to Smash Attack Reads
Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon (arc) to The Bookish Brunette
The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks to Pages of Forbidden Love
Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon to Mercurial Musings 
Halfway to the grave by Jeanine Frost to Mercurial Musings
Fall Book Exchange
 The Person I exchanged with was Mazz @ Words On The Shelf
I sent her from her WL
My soul to Take by Rachel Vincent 
Inside Out (Insider #1) by Maria V. Snyder
Outside In (Insider #2) by Maria V. Snyder
I haven't received from my exchangee yet!

I reached 500 followers! Yes! I know to some this is a small number. I work hard on my blog. Posts. Reviews. etc.. So, having 500 people follow me makes me feel so good about this little blog. Feels like it is going somewhere! Thank you all who read my blog. I thank you from the bottom of my heart! =)
How was your Month?

Halloween 2011

It is Halloween!! This is one of the funnest Holidays!! Not because of the bad things that 'some' relate Halloween to. I (my family) like Halloween because of the costumes, candy, crafts, cookies, FUN! My kids love dressing up. And for that one whole day they are truly that character! We make it fun. I found 2 pictures from my babies 1st Halloween together. It made me sad! Because so much time has passed by! You never really realize it until you sit and look at pictures, and it feels like yesterday when you took them! 

These were taken in October of 2008! 
*sigh*
What kinds of things do you like to do for Halloween!?
I am taking the kids out Trick-Or-Treating tonight. So I will be sure to come back and post some pictures for you all to see! So far here are some that we have taken! 

We painted Zombie 'babies'.
Miss Lilah Amor
They were ready to carve!!
Digging in. 
Pumpkin Guts!
Mommy must work too!!
They were very happy with the work (mommy & daddy) did!
Lil Spider for Lilah. Vampire skull for Landon
That is what I have so far! Check back later today! =)
HAPPY HALLOWEEN

Here are my loves in their costumes!
Captain America. My Hero <3
Prettiest Witch I have EVER seen :)
They make my heart MELT!!


Sunday, October 30, 2011

Review: Tommy Nightmare by JL Bryan

Paperback: 274 pages (I read the Kindle version)
Published: April 1st 2011
ISBN: 1461058481 

ISBN13: 9781461058489
Received: Bought on Amazon
While Fallen Oak recovers from the Jenny pox, someone new is hunting Jenny.
Like Jenny, Ashleigh Goodling belonged to a pair of opposites with powers that mirror each other.
Now Jenny and Seth must face the opposite of love...
My Review:
Once again JL Bryan has wrote an amazingly told story continuing Jenny Pox. I was instantly drawn into Tommy Nightmare...taken hostage.. and did not return to my regular brain until Tommy Nightmare was complete. 
Tommy -Nightmare- was given the name by the people closet to him. Although they did not love him. His foster parents and foster siblings gave him this name because. He literally would "Scare you to death".. 
After some things take place. Tommy decides he has had enough. Leaving that life behind Tommy finds himself in jail. Where he discovers Ashleigh from her tv broadcast. 
Being drawn to her. He takes it upon him self to find her. Taking his curse, and using it on the guards, he escapes prison and takes the journey to find Ashleigh.
Jenny Pox finds her self feeling grief, anger and a very hard time dealing with the deaths of Fallen Oaks. Since they are connected to Jenny in a BIG way. 
Seth has not really been any help lately. It seems that they are slowly slipping away from each other. Seth cannot find it in himself to tale his parents about Jenny. Jenny sees this as a big problem. This makes me sad. I feel that they are so cute together. They are opposites, but together they are one.
The Fallen Oaks community is on lock down. Everyone is being interrogated and tested by the CDC. They are on the hunt to find out WHY half the community has suddenly died... 
Jenny & Seth find themselves staying on the low. Trying to figure out what they should do. 
Tommy, finding out the Ashleigh has been murdered, seeks out the murders. Finding Jenny & Seth.. Tommy does his deed of 'fearing' them, but he leaves with a little taste of the Pox! Jenny gave him a little taste of what she could do. 
Tommy finds Esmerelda, the girl he left all those many years ago when he left the Tanner's. Esmerelda remembers Tommy instantly. With his Grey eyes. Finding out Esmarelda has a gift also, she can speak/listen to the dead. For Tommy this is a very good thing for him. Since he has found the remains of Ashleigh... You can only imagine..Ashleigh's back. Yes, the ulitmate villian is back. And she's really is not in a forgiving mood. Although maybe you can't tale she is back... Because she is... ummm.. not 'helself'. After dying, Ashleigh is pissed off and ready for revenge.
And revenge she will get. (I REALLY, DO not like her. Oh, I could jump in the pages of this book and slap the s#!t right out of her... ugh)
Through out the book you will get glimpses in the life of Alexander. A new character who can control the dead. Think zombies (but he is controls them), living dead puppets! Alexander is the one, who is in Jenny's dreams. Literally, Jenny has been having some major crazy dreams. And he may just be the one for Jenny. (Seth, please stop being douchey. Or you just may loose your her)
I loved meeting all the new characters. Jenny Pox was an amazing story, and Tommy Nightmare was just what book 2 needed to take it to the next level. I love this series. JL Bryan has created a world with these fascinating characters that I have grown to love. (And some Hate). I cannot wait to read the next installment of Jenny Pox, and find out more about Alexander. Book 3 titled Alexander Death is on my shelf, and ready to read.
Do not pass up on this series. It is a chilling, amazing story that will take you hostage.. and leave you yearning for more. 
JL Bryan has an amazing gift in writing amazing books!!!
"I am just a monster.""You're a beautiful monster." Alexander gave her a smile. His eyes reflected the stars and the black sky.
 
"And I love you for what you are."
Get this book now! If you have not read Jenny Pox, HERE is my REVIEW for Book 1!


Tommy Nightmare (The Paranormals, #2)

Saturday, October 29, 2011

In My Mailbox (10/29)

In My mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren

This week I got:

Bought:
  • The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa
  • Looking For Alaska by John Green
  • A Vampire For Christmas by Various Authors
  • The Bite Before Christmas by Heidi Betts
RAK:
How Big is your RAK?
(Random Acts Of Kindness)
  • Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
  • Blood Ninja by Nick Lake
Thank you Alexa @ Pages of Forbidden Love

What did you get this week?! Link me below so I can some see what you got!!! =) 
Happy Reading

Review: Crossed by Ally Condie

Hardcover: 384 Pages
Published: November 1st 2011
Publisher: Dutton Juvenile
Series: Crossed (Matched #2) by Ally Condie
Received: ARC (Borrowed)


In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky - taken by the Society to his certain death - only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.Cassia's quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander - who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia's heart - change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.
My thoughts:
Love the cover. Really. Love it.
I was anxiously awaiting this book. I mean really, from the very last page of Matched I wanted this book. The book is told in alternating POV (point of views) Between Cassia and Ky. hmmm. I can't say that I hated it. You got a little more insight on Ky. His thoughts. Fears. Struggles. His fight. As well, as Cassia's. I cannot whole heartily say that I loved this concept of the book. It threw me off a bit in the beginning. I grew to really like it though. Just took me longer to get 'into' the book. Because I kept forgetting 'who' I was reading about. After all is said and done, and I have thought about it. I liked that I got to know Ky a little more. Understand somethings about him. It is always good to know more about other characters, from there point of view.
Now: For the actual words & book itself:
Cassia,
I know which life is my real life now, no matter what happens. It's the one with you. For some reason know that even one person knows my story makes things different. Maybe it's like the poem says. Maybe this is my way of not going gentle.I love you
This is the letter Ky wrote Cassia, at the end of Matched. *Sigh*. Crossed takes place a couple months later. Where Cassia and Ky are trying to find each other. 
You will follow both of them on their journey to be together again. This book is that. A journey. 
The fights, fear, secrets, love, heartbreak, and everything in between Cassia & Ky's journey... to be together again.
You will meet new characters. Eli & Indie being the ones that I liked the most. Although, Indie... I don't know if I can fully say that I like her... just yet. That is a determination that I will have to make in book 3, which the title has not been released yet.
Overall this book was great. I loved seeing the love between Cassia and Ky. Even apart, the determination to be together, was... so real. So determined! Cassia grew so mush during this book. This book was amazing. The writing style is so beautiful. I will tell you. Do not just DEVOUR this book. [kinda hard] but, read it. slowly. Enjoy the writing. The flow, the magnificence of this book. [trust me] I read it 2x! I cannot wait for the release of this book, so that I can have it on my shelf. I enjoyed this. I hope that in book 3 maybe we will see a little more about Xander. ;D 
I love the covers. Green = Cassia in a bubble. Blue = Her breaking Free... WHAT will the next cover color be?! What do you think? I think..... red. The color of all the tablets.(Right?!).. But, what will the name be! hmmm. I guess we will have to wait & see!
“I run for her.
I run for them. 
For me.” 
               ~Ky
CROSSED

Friday, October 28, 2011

DAY 4 Halloween Guest Post: Ashley's Top 5 Zombie Book




Top 5 (or more...) Zombie Books!
Hey guys! It’s Ash, from The Bookish Brunette... So it's almost Halloween and the wicked awesome Loretta asked me to come on and tell everyone my Top 5 favorite zombie books... Well HOW can I refuse when zombies are involved and Loretta is one of my FAV chicks EVER? So here we go:
This is my VERY FAVORITE zombie book EVER! The First Days stays with you LONG after you’ve finished it... Fighting to Survive: As the World Dies #2 is going to be available on November 8! This series is freaking PHENOMENAL... Frater doesn’t hold back, you will be shockingly horrified, utterly breathless and you will love every single second of it!
Loretta: OOOO I have to read this book! This sounds amazing!!
Completely, utterly amazing... Jonathan Maberry takes a ‘zombie story’ and twists it into a mighty tale of love, loss, family and growing up! He blends humor, devotion and immense emotion to bring you something you’ll never forget!
Loretta: I have these, score! I am going to read Rot & Ruin next.


This book is pure zombie awesome! While not ‘horror’ zombie driven, it is NOTHING short of freaking fabulous! Absolutely amazing, completely clever, fun and entirely entertaining- You will fall in love with Zombie Queen of Newbury High. 
Loretta: Def adding this to my TBR... now =)

Zombies Don’t Cry is hands down- FABULOUS. Totally a feel-good, awesomely fun read! You will LAUGH continuously, love the characters and never look at zombies the same way again!
Loretta: Have, need to READ!



OMG. I freaking LOVE this series SO hard... If you want non-stop action, Laugh Out Loud laughs and zombies? Jesse Petersen delivers it with the Living With The Dead series!
Loretta: I have 1-2!! They sound... AWESOME!



Yeah, yeah... MORE than 5 ALL together... BUT, these were books are part of series’ of books... So, you can clearly see my reasoning right??? Thanks for having me on chick!! I heart you!


Ashley, you rock. Thank you so much for rocking my blog today! I thought.. I want Zombie books. There was no one better to ask then the Zombie Queen herself. <3


Want more Halloween Awesomeness?
Check out my other Halloween guest posts:
Day 1: Angeline Kace + Giveaway
Day 2: Angela @ Reading Angel + Get extra giveaway entry
Day 3: Isa @ Book Soulmate


Thursday, October 27, 2011

Mini Tour: Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout

WELCOME: If you are on this page, you have joined the awesomeness of what is OBSIDIAN Mini Tour. Yes, You heard that right. So kick back, relax. And get read to be attacked by pure.... awesomeness =)
I have my Mini Review (& wow, how it is so super hard to write a -mini- review on a book that is so super AWESOME) & I have Jennifer herself here for a -mini- Interview. So, Here we go.

Paperback: 266 pages
Expected Publication: December 6th 2011
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
ISBN13: 9781937044237
Received: Uncorrected E-poof for Review/Tour
Starting over sucks. 
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. 
And then he opened his mouth. 
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. 
The hot alien living next door marks me. 
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 
If I don’t kill him first, that is.
Obsidian Mini Review
I was SO very excited when I was asked to be in the Obsidian tour. Because I got to REVIEW Obsidian.


I was not let down. I mean, wow. Jennifer Armentrout is an amazing author. I was very interested to see how this book would turn out it being about aliens! I have never (that I can remember) read about aliens. Hot Aliens.. *coughs DAEMON *coughs. 
You will fall in love with the characters. Especially the main character Katy. Who, happens to share a love like us all!! Books! Yes, Katy is a book blogger! Win! Who happens to live next door to the hottest alien alive, Daemon.
He will steal your heart with his looks, but with his sarcasm, and 2 cents... he may just push you to the edge. Of annoyance. But, with those looks. He can win you right back. 
Along with the hot -boy next door- there is also a sister. Daemon's sister Dee is amazing. I loved her & can not wait to read more about her. She is the best friend you could ask for. 
Don't miss out on this book. You will love it. The Characters. The Story. Everything. Obsidian will pull you in from the first page until the last. And leave you wanting more.
Jennifer Armentrout, is amazing with her books. 

Obsidian

Now for the Mini Interview:


1.) Where are you from? Have you lived there your whole life?
I'm from Martinsburg, West Virginia and I've lived here my entire life. I'm like the poor man's Stephen King. Two of my novels are set in West Virginia, Cursed and Obsidian.


2.) How did you come up with the idea for Obsidian? Was it one of those “BAM” ideas where you have napkins, and post its all over your house?
It's actually a unique story, I think. My editor at Entangled (who is the editor on my adult series) had mentioned that she'd really wanted a YA series with aliens, in the vein of the TV show Roswell. The only thing I remember from Roswell was the one hot alien guy, which is good. So, she'd jokingly said that since I can write a book a week, how about I tackle this one? I started thinking about, came up with the characters and the setting, and went from there. Eight days later, I had a first draft.


3.) The characters in Obsidian are very amazing. Along with hot. (*ahem* Daemon).
Do you find it hard building up your characters & there lives?
Thank you! I like them, too. Especially Daemon. He was a fun one. Characters are always the easiest for me to create. Sometimes it takes 2 drafts to get their motivations clear, but their personalities and their back story are the easiest for me to come up with and create.


4.) So your a genius with writing books. Really. What do you have planned for 2012?
Anything that you can maybe give a sneak peak of?
Haha. I don't know about a genius, but thanks. There are a lot of books coming out in 2012: Two more novels in the Covenant Series (Pure and Deity), Cursed, two more Obsidian Novels, and the start of my adult series. I am currently working on a YA thriller that's like Pretty Little Liars meets Black Swan, and a gargoyle story.


5.) When you are not writing 20 stories at one time (Which I so admire about you), what do you do for fun? Do you travel? Hobbies?
Writing 20 stories at a time takes up....a lot of time. When I do have a free moment, I'll try to read, work out, do some gardening, actually talk to real people...


6.) Out of all the (hot) guys you write about, do you have a favorite?
I like them all equally, but for different reasons.


7.) Random 101: What spells can you cast with Magic Markers?
Magic disappearing words.


8.) Is Obisidian going to be a series? If yes, how many books do you plan for it?!
Yes, it's book one in a planned trilogy.


Me: Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions & for including me in this awesome tour for Obsidian. I have enjoyed myself.


Jennifer: Thank you for having me!!! Shout out to the West Virginians!


OBSIDIAN
Jennifer Armentrout 

Blog Tour
Monday, 10/24: Books Complete Me
Tuesday, 10/25: Reading Angel
Wednesday, 10/26: Good Choice Reading
Thursday, 10/27: Between the Pages
Friday, 10/28: Mundie Moms

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs