Friday, September 30, 2011

Banned Books Week Virtual Read-out + Giveaway

GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED




A Virtual Reading from Speak. In honor of Banned Book Week:









When Melinda Sordino's friends discover she called the police to quiet a party, they ostracize her, turning her into an outcast -- even among kids she barely knows. But even worse than the harsh conformity of high-school cliques is a secret that you have to hide.


GIVEAWAY:
I will be giving away a copy of Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson 
-To enter this giveaway, fill out the form below for a chance to win.
-You do NOT have to be a follower. (Always Appreciated
-This giveaway will last from [October 1st - October 15th] (11:59pm)
-Winner will be chosen randomly from random.org.
-This giveaway is US/INT (As long as the Book Depository Ships to your country! Please check before entering)


Top Spot: September

My September Top Spot


Every month we will get together to share our favorite read from that month.How to play along:
• Pick your favorite read from the current month
• Make a blog post stating your Top Spot pick and share with us why it got theTop Spot for you. Feel free to add (link or attatched) reviews, book summaries or teasers in the post as well for people to take a look at. Be sure to link back to the Skype Sisters blog and feel free to grab the graphic! Top Spot is a new monthly blog meme hosted by the Skype Sisters.



That is a EASY one. Carrier of the Mark was an amazing read that I could not put down. I loved all the mystery of the book. I loved the characters. The concept was something new & fresh. It was just the book that I needed! I cannot wait to read book 2 already & book 1 is just now coming out October 4th! BE SURE TO GET YOUR COPY! :)


Review HERE 


Do you have a Top Spot?! Link me!
Take all your links and add & the Skype Sisters Website.


TGIF (9/30)


TGIF is hosted by Ginger @ GReads


Banned Books: How do you feel about the censorship of the freedom to read? Do you think the education system needs to be more strict on what children are exposed to in books?

I feel kids need to know things! Sheltering them from the world is not going to help when they DO get out in the world. Books are books. One topic could help 10 kids 10 different ways. And having them at school & the world is something .
Basically "these people who ban books" are saying "GIVE our kids no imagination. Don't let them learn about SEX, or Different types of relationships. That would be blasphemy!" Really?! I mean COME ON. Where do I start with how I feel about this!? I think BOTTOM LINE it's stupid. Unneeded. Waste of time. Uncalled for. STUPID & STUPIDER! (take that)
Speak has been considered "Soft pornography." It is a book dealing with rape. Yeah, so since when is RAPE soft porn? Soft porn is the crap you see on SHOWTIME late night. Not, when someone is getting something TAKEN from them, THAT they can not EVER get back. EVER!!!
So taking this out of schools is ok? So kids cannot know, or be aware of the predators that are out there, and what they can do?! That's ok!? No, it is really not!
Taking something away from someone. Knowledge. Is not keeping them safe. It's making them blind.
Keeping them sheltered. Because it happens! A lot. Hearing stories about people 
SPEAKING UP
SPEAKING OUT
 & FIGHTING AGAINST
 rapists, is something we want!!!!

Harry Potter has been banned because of Witch Craft. While doing research I found a statement a teacher had made:
"The Bible is very clear and consistent in its teachings that wizards, devils and demons exist and are very real, powerful and dangerous and God's people are told to have nothing to do with them," (Passage HERE)
 Another saying:
"True Christians only touch a Harry Potter book when they are throwing it onto a fire" (Passage HERE)

So, because people read Harry Potter, we are no longer Christians? Because someone small minded told me that!? No one can determine that but your self, and reading Harry Potter isn't going to change that. Reading Harry Potter is not that same as DOING witch craft. Come on! 
So school boards, are taking Harry Potter out of schools because of Witch Craft. Right?! Because we as christian are not supposed to practice Witch Craft right?! Ok, tell me this. Why do they care? Aren't they trying to take god out of schools?! Some schools do not even say the Pledge of Allegiance, if any... because it says  "Under God". They don't want to offend those that don't believe in God, or have other religion. So, that makes perfect sense right!? No. None actually. 
I will not keep these books from my son. It will be on our reading list in the future. After I read it of course. Because I have not yet. SHAME ON ME!! 


GOOSEBUMPS O.o WHAT? Goosebumps have been banned because "exhilarating spooky adventures"!!!!!  Monsters and spooky things is what gets kids into reading. Because these are not books that will have them hiding under their bed. Screaming into the night. NO. They are fun, "slightly" spooktastic reads for kids! I grew up on Goosebumps! I would love to find the whole series for my kids!
 "the books might provoke harmful thoughts or behavior and erode respect for people and property" (Passage HERE)
 “If you want to encourage kids to read, you let them do it. You give them books or magazines that interest them. They can be reading absolute drivel and still learn vocabulary, sentence structure, grammar. Yes, they’re a little scary – which is why they’ve been challenged over the years. But a generation of boys growing up without books on their shelves is enough to give me nightmares.” — Jean Strager (Passage same as ABOVE)
 At least someone has a brain!


I could go on & on with this ridiculousness! Really it pisses me off.
Each book has a AGE GROUP! I am not saying give The Hunger Games to Kindergartners! 
Each and every parent who has went to the board and complained and eventually got a book banned from a school. From a kid. Shame on you. Shame on you for taking that right away from other kids! 
In China (I am not sure of anywhere else, maybe US too?) but The Adventures of Alice in Wonderland was BANNED because animals acted as humans. He: 
"believed that attributing human language to animals was an insult to humans. He feared that the book would teach children to regard humans and animals on the same level, which would be "disastrous." (Passage HERE)

I mean see what I am talking about!? This stuff is CRAZY!  
OK RANT OVER!
What I am saying is DO NOT take books away. Parent consent forms. Do something other than TAKE the book away from every kid. Because we have the right to read. We have the right to speak. Do not take the RIGHT away. 

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Blog Hop (9/30-10/3)

Book Blogger Hop

Blog Hop Friday is Hosted @ Crazy-for-Books

This week's question:

“In honor of Banned Books Week, what is your favorite “banned or frequently challenged book”?”

In Everyman’s Library for the first time—one of the most moving and eloquent accounts of the Holocaust, read by tens of millions of people around the world since its publication in 1947.
The Diary of a Young Girl is the record of two years in the life of a remarkable Jewish girl whose triumphant humanity in the face of unfathomable deprivation and fear has made the book one of the most enduring documents of our time.
The Everyman’s hardcover edition reprints the Definitive Edition authorized by the Frank estate, plus a new introduction, a bibliography, and a chronology of Anne Frank’s life and times.
For this book to be taken out of schools is SHAMEFUL! 




What is your favorite Banned Book? Here is the PDF file of some banned books 2010-2011

Review: But I Love Him by Amanda Grace


Paperback: 245 pages
Published: May 8th 2011
Publisher: Flux
ISBN: 0738725943
ISBN 13: 9780738725949
Received: Borrowed

Book Summary: 
Tonight was so much worse than anything before it. Tonight he didn't stop after the first slap.At the beginning of senior year, Ann was a smiling, straight-A student and track star with friends and a future. Then she met a haunted young man named Connor. Only she can heal his emotional scars; only he could make her feel so loved — and needed. Ann can't recall the pivotal moment it all changed, when she surrendered everything to be with him, but by graduation, her life has become a dangerous high wire act. Just one mistake could trigger Connor's rage, a senseless storm of cruel words and violence damaging everything — and everyone — in its path.
This evocative slideshow of flashbacks reveals a heartbreaking story of love gone terribly wrong.
My Thoughts: 
When I 1st borrowed this book I knew it was about a couple. With a dangerous relationship. What I didn't know about this book was the emotional roller coaster it would take me on. But I Love Him is a gripping story about Ann & Connor. 2 people who love each other so much. But are so wrong for each other. Connor has a very abusive history. His father is a alcoholic. Who likes to get a little too agressive with his mother & Connor when he is intoxicated.
Connor and Ann are so in love with each other. It is Connor who makes this relationship impossible. With his temper, and a past that rather puts fuel on his temper then set it out. He will never learn. Never get over what he has been through. 
Ann is the punching bag. The one who is there. Everyday, to help Connor overcome this battle with his life. 
Her excuse... "Maybe he will change."
That not being the case Ann finds herself in the middle on a war that she finds very hard, and a little to late to step out of. 
Until one day. 1 year later. When her life is turned upside down, for the very last time.


This story is something you should read. You will find yourself engrossed in the world Ann has. The world Connor has taken away, and slowly but surely will ruin forever. unless.... Ann find a way to step away will she save herself. 
But I Love Him

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

All These Things I've Done (ARC) Giveaway



CLOSED

In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty. And yet, for Anya Balanchine, the sixteen-year-old daughter of the city's most notorious (and dead) crime boss, life is fairly routine. It consists of going to school, taking care of her siblings and her dying grandmother, trying to avoid falling in love with the new assistant D.A.'s son, and avoiding her loser ex-boyfriend. That is until her ex is accidently poisoned by the chocolate her family manufactures and the police think she's to blame. Suddenly, Anya finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight--at school, in the news, and most importantly, within her mafia family.




I am giving away my ARC of All These Things I've Done. I received a finished copy. I thought I would share this book with one of you.

Rules:
One person will win a copy of All These Things I've Done (ARC)
This is U.S ONLY
You DO NOT have to be a follower, but it is greatly appreciated if you decide to stay!
This giveaway will last from September 28th [through] October 5th [11:59pm]
Fill out the form below
Winner will be chosen randomly @ random.org
You may earn extra entries on the form but they are not required.
No comments entries will be accepted.

Thanks for entering & good luck!

Waiting On Wednesday (9/28)


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.
This week on Waiting On Wednesday:



NEWSOUL Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.NOSOUL Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are suspicious and afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?HEART Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.

INCARNATE by JODI MEADOWS
January 31st 2012
HarperCollins
Incarnate (Newsoul #1)





What are you waiting on?! Link me below so I can check it out!

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Special Thanks!


Between the Pages



This post was suppose to already have been posted. But, I forgot to set the date. =\ Shame on me!
As you can see I have a new blog design. =) I am so in love with it. Everyone loves it. 
It came from the great Lori @ Pure Imagination & Use Your Imagination Designs.
She does FABULOUS work. If you are looking into getting a new blog design, look no more. Check her out. She has a lot of different packages to choose from.

Thank you again Lori. It is simply me & simply amazing!

Use Your Imagination Designs


Top Ten Tuesday (9/27)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted over @ The Broke and the Bookish
This weeks topic is: Books you want to reread.

1.) The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder
This book was AMAZING. ONE WORD sums it up. This was my 1st "Verse" book. And since then I have read 3 of Lisa's other books, and recently bought another. This book for me was brilliant. Face paced. Lovely. Will read it again in the near future.
2.) Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma
Now, I did not like this one. But I did like this one. See where that gets confusing... Maybe if I reread it, while it is in my full "hype" mode I may love it more?! Or maybe for me this is a -read 2x, to understand- book. "maybe."
3.) Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
I loved this book. This is and will always be one of my favorite books of ALL TIME. I would love to reread the whole series. 
4.) Jane Eyer by Charlotte Bronte
The ORIGINAL Jane Eyer. Not a retelling (although I do love those as well). The Original. This is the ONLY classic book that I actually loved. Understood. & will always remember. Makes me want to go get the book right now!!
5.) The Giver by Lois Lowry
I read this book this year. I do not know how I let this book slip through my fingers. I ran across it on Goodreads. Then I seen it on amazon for a bargain deal so I got it and devoured it. I love it. The main character Jonas has so much dedication. ambition. hope. everything. The story made me feel so amazing after reading his story. What he endured. What he overcame. What be become. & what he will do from the end of the story on. This one is one that needs not be passed up & deserves a reread for me in the near future.
6.) The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Need I say more?! My hubby said he would read this (although I have not seen him read it yet) It is making me want to reread it! I will. Before the movie comes out for-sure. So I can refresh myself on the book, and see how this movie goes. The movies always sorta make me nervous...... yeah!
7.) Texas Trilogy by Sandra Brown
ONE of my ALL TIME favorite -Historical Romance- novels. (This books is a 3 in 1 [Texas! Lucky, Texas! Chase, Texas! Sage]) I read these books when I was in the 9th grade. Soooooo like 11 years ago. (OH my I am going to pass out now). They are amazing. If you like -Historical Romance- books then pick this up! I have the "new" 3 in 1 book with hunky Lucky on the front. Yummy! ;)
8.) Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
This is another "try again" book. I dnf this book. I don't really know how to explain it. But, I just did not like it. So, I plan to "try again." When I did read it I was between a rock & a hard place.. to put it nicely. I had things going on. So maybe I can reread it when I do not have 500 things going on at one time.
9.) A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
If you know me. You know this is MY favorite books of the year (2011)! I could not, and cannot get enough of Harlin & Charlotte! I will forever love this book. And I will SURELY be rereading it. While I am anticipating the sequel. A WANT SO WICKED :D
10.) Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
I WOULD reread this book 1000x! BECAUSE it is freaking fabulous!!!


What about you?! What top 10 books would you reread?! Link me in your comments!

Review: Desire by Kailin Gow


Paperback: 290 pages
Published: May 24th 2011 by theEDGEbooks.com (first published May 8th 2011)
ISBN: 519748668X

ISBN 13: 9781597486682
Received: Bought on Amazon for Kindle


Book Summary
A Dystopian world where everyone's future is planned out for them at age 18...whether it is what a person desires or not. Kama is about to turn 18 and she thinks her Life s Plan will turn out like her boyfriend's and friend's as they desired. But when she glimpse a young man who can communicate with her with his thoughts and knows her name...a young man with burning blue eyes and raven hair, who is dressed like no other in her world, she is left to question her Life's Plan and her destiny. Knowing the truth can destroy everyone... 
My Thoughts:

Cover 1st: LOVE it. It is beautiful!
I really liked this story. 
Kama is 17 years old. Awaiting her 18th birthday when she will get her life's plan. She is dating Liam. Who is the General's son. Being with Liam, would give Kama the perfect plan. The wife of the future General. When Kama meet's Torrid. A mysterious, gorgeous boy, he quickly takes Kama's breath away. Who is this mysterious boy?   Torrid has a little gift. One that allows him to speak to Kama in her mind. What is he? What is Kama? hmmmm. So there it is.. Instant love triangle. At 1st I got the feel of Matched. With the life's plan. Until the paranormal came in play. Which I really liked. Some people in Arcadia has magical powers. Which everyone cannot see. Only some can look through the glamour of this world. Torrid is helping Kama with this. Helping her understand the life where she belongs.
As Kama awaits her life's plan in the mail after she turned 18. It felt to Kama as it took forever to come. Then when it did, it was not the life's plan that she expected. It was no plan at all. 
Kama has to find out why she received such a plan. Why everything she has wanted is being taken away from her. Liam included. Liam to me was super "clingy" like she is trying to not get him in trouble, because he was not in her plan. & he was just so presistant in being with Kama that he was risking that. But Kama doesn't really know if that is the life's plan that she wants now. After meeting Torrid, and getting some very strong feelings for the mysterious boy. 
Arcadia is not really all that it seems to be. Secrets. Lies. Betrayals. What are they hiding. And why?
Kama finds out that the General is not all that he seems. What does he know? And Liam, does he know what is going on? Does he know what she is?! 
Overall: This book was good. I really enjoyed the book. It had more grammar errors then I could keep up with. (I myself, am not the "greatest" speller. If it was not for the little red line.. it would be bad. SO, if I can spot many.....yeah) Which for me took away from the story a little bit. Other than that I loved the difference of this Dystopian book. One that started out sounding more like other's I have read, and ending up being nothing like any I have read before. 
I will be contiuning the series. Reading Shattered which will be coming out in November 2011. 
I like Torrid. He seems like he is meant for Kama. Liam is just to much of a pud for me! ;)



Desire (Desire, #1)

Monday, September 26, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?


It's Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey.

Monday (GO AWAY)
So, the weekend was good. & here we are... another Monday morning. 
If you are checking out my blog this fine but (unwelcomeMonday, thank you & I hope that you enjoy!

Today I am reading:



Lina is just like any other fifteen-year-old Lithuanian girl in 1941. She paints, she draws, she gets crushes on boys. Until one night when Soviet officers barge into her home, tearing her family from the comfortable life they've known. Separated from her father, forced onto a crowded and dirty train car, Lina, her mother, and her young brother slowly make their way north, crossing the Arctic Circle, to a work camp in the coldest reaches of Siberia. Here they are forced, under Stalin's orders, to dig for beets and fight for their lives under the cruelest of conditions.
Lina finds solace in her art, meticulously - and at great risk - documenting events by drawing, hoping these messages will make their way to her father's prison camp to let him know they are still alive. It is a long and harrowing journey, spanning years and covering 6,500 miles, but it is through incredible strength, love, and hope that Lina ultimately survives.Between Shades of Gray is a novel that will steal your breath and capture your heart.

This is a heartbreaking book! How people could treat other the way that they did, and STILL do kills me. I love people. I always feel we are all equal until you cross the line and endanger someone. Hurt someone. I just don't understand HOW. I never will. 

What are you reading?!
Link me!
Happy Monday & Happy Reading

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Giveaway: Glow ARC

CLOSED


I have an ARC to giveaway of Glow [The Sky Chasers #1] by Amy Kathleen Ryan

What if you were bound for a new world, about to pledge your life to someone you'd been promised to since birth, and one unexpected violent attack made survival—not love—the issue? Out in the murky nebula lurks an unseen enemy: the New Horizon. On its way to populate a distant planet in the wake of Earth's collapse, the ship's crew has been unable to conceive a generation to continue its mission. They need young girls desperately, or their zealous leader's efforts will fail. Onboard their sister ship, the Empyrean, the unsuspecting families don't know an attack is being mounted that could claim the most important among them... Fifteen-year-old Waverly is part of the first generation to be successfully conceived in deep space; she was born on the Empyrean, and the large farming vessel is all she knows. Her concerns are those of any teenager—until Kieran Alden proposes to her. The handsome captain-to-be has everything Waverly could ever want in a husband, and with the pressure to start having children, everyone is sure he's the best choice. Except for Waverly, who wants more from life than marriage—and is secretly intrigued by the shy, darkly brilliant Seth. But when the Empyrean faces sudden attack by their assumed allies, they quickly find out that the enemies aren't all from the outside.

Giveaway Rules:
You DO NOT have to be a follower to enter the Giveaway
u.s only
You can earn extra points
Fill out the form
1 entry per person
Giveaway will last from September 25th - October 1st @ 11:59pm
1 winner will be chosen at random @ random.org

Thank you for entering. Happy Reading.

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Blog Hop "Saturday" (9/24-9/27)


Book Blogger Hop

Blog Hop Friday (The host posted this late this week, so we are having a Blog Hop Saturday) is hosted by Crazy For Books.

This week on Blog Hop:

“As a blog reader, what information (besides the book review) do you like to see in other bloggers’ reviews of books? (For example – Author bio, social media links, book synopsis from Amazon/Goodreads or one written by the blogger, page count, ISBN number, link to purchase, etc.)”

Answer:

I like, (and add to mine) page #'s, Publisher, release date, ISBN,  I love the new "add book" button widget from goodreads. And I usually add a button to amazon to purchase, and my book summary always leads you to that book's Goodreads page. 


What about you?!

On My Wishlist (9/24)



On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It's where I list all the books I desperately want but haven't actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming.

OK so I have been DYING for this book. Now, that Halloween is coming I am really DYING for this book. (I am being so good, this ban is crazy sometimes)

This Week: On My Wishlist

In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen or get their rations cut in half. Benny doesn't want to apprentice as a zombie hunter with his boring older brother Tom, but he has no choice. He expects a tedious job whacking zoms for cash, but what he gets is a vocation that will teach him what it means to be human.

Rot & Ruin [Benny Imura #1] by Jonathan Maberry

In My Mailbox (9/24)

In My Mailbox is created by Kristi @ The Story Siren
This week I got:




For Review:
Wasteland by Lynn Rush

Gifted:
Desires of a Perfect Lady by Victoria Alexander 
Seduction of a Proper Gentlemen by Victoria Alexander  
A Duke Of Her Own by Elosia James
When A Duke Returns by Elosia James
A Duke Of Her Own by Elosia James
What Happens in London by Julia Quinn

Won:
The Hourglass Door by Lisa Mangum
The Golden Spiral by Lisa Mangum
The Forgotten Locket by Lisa Mangum

Bought:
Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake
Juliet Immoral by Stacey Jay

My RAVING review of EXILED [BOOK 1] BY M.R.MERRICK

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs