Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (8/31)

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals Feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she's returned- to her old life, her family, her friends- before being banished back to the underworld... this time forever.
She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can't find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.
Nikki longs to spend these months reconnecting with her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything. But there's a problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who first enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki to the mortal world. And he'll do whatever it takes to bring her back- this time as his queen.
As Nikki's time grows short and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she's forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole's..

January 3rd 2012 (CAN YOU SAY WOW, what a cover!)



It starts with an itch you just can't shake. Then comes a fever and a tickle in your throat. A few days later, you'll be blabbing your secrets and chatting with strangers like they’re old friends. Three more, and the paranoid hallucinations kick in.
And then you're dead.
When a deadly virus begins to sweep through sixteen-year-old Kaelyn’s community, the government quarantines her island—no one can leave, and no one can come back.
Those still healthy must fight for dwindling supplies, or lose all chance of survival. As everything familiar comes crashing down, Kaelyn joins forces with a former rival and discovers a new love in the midst of heartbreak. When the virus starts to rob her of friends and family, she clings to the belief that there must be a way to save the people she holds dearest.
Because how will she go on if there isn't?
Megan Crewe crafts a powerful and gripping exploration of self-preservation, first love, and hope. Poignant and dizzying, this heart-wrenching story of one girl’s bravery and unbeatable spirit will leave readers fervently awaiting the next book in this standout new series.
January 24th 2012 (I just got approved for this on net galley! Can't wait to read it)


It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up.
As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, everyone’s motivations to survive begin to change in startling ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life–and death–inside.
When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?



June 2012~ WHY SO LONG?! Courtney Summers, *gaaa* I love her books!!!!! & come on?!, ZOMBIES!




WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? LINK ME IN YOUR COMMENTS!!

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Cover Reveal: Courtney Summers

It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up.

As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, everyone’s motivations to survive begin to change in startling ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life–and death–inside.

When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?



I LOVE Courtney Summers! All of her books ARE AMAZING! So, now we have ZOMBIES!>! #win!! I love Zombies. o.O and I cannot wait for this book!! *Squee* Look at the cover!! wow.

So, WHAT do YOU think?!

Teaser Tuesday & Tune In Tuesday (8/30)





A blast of icy air blew in from her open bedroom window. The silver razor blade glinted, beckoning her, next to the half empty bottle of Tea Tree shampoo. Katelyn fantasized about taking control of the situation --of her pitiful excuse for a life --the only way she could. Katelyn looked in the full-length mirror across the room. The glass was starting to fog as the water ran, but she could see that her eyes were red. There wasn't enough Smashbox on earth to cover the splotches that came with the tears.

"Merry Christmas, loser" she said.



A teaser from Envy by Gregg Olsen
THIS book is CREEP-TASTIC! I love it!


Go add this to your TBR right now!
Tune in Tuesday is a feature from Ginger @ GReads


I love this song right now! I know I know I am a big Mushy lady!!  But, I can't help it! :)

Monday, August 29, 2011

The Hunger Games Teaser


How did you like THE HUNGER GAMES "teaser"?
I loved it! I am so excited to see the Trailer. 
Since they are filming still I am pretty sure that trailer will not be out until later this year!! :)
BUT the little preview was a.m.a.z.i.n.g!
I am really excited for March 23rd, 2011!

Sunday, August 28, 2011

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?!


This meme starts at Book Journey!
What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

This Monday I am reading:

New York Times bestselling adult true crime author Gregg Olsen makes his YA debut with EMPTY COFFIN, a gripping new fiction series for teens based on ripped-from-the-headlines stories…with a paranormal touch.
Crime lives--and dies--in the deceptively picture-perfect town of Port Gamble (aka “Empty Coffin”), Washington. Evil lurks and strange things happen--and 15-year-olds Hayley and Taylor Ryan secretly use their wits and their telepathic “twin-sense” to uncover the truth about the town's victims and culprits.
 Envy, the series debut, involves the mysterious death of the twins' old friend, Katelyn. Was it murder? Suicide? An accident? Hayley and Taylor are determined to find out--and as they investigate, they stumble upon a dark truth that is far more disturbing than they ever could have imagined.
 Based on the shocking true crime about cyber-bullying, Envy will take you to the edge--and push you right over.

So far I am on page 150 & I am really enjoying this book so far!
Have you read it? What did you think if so? (Without spoilers, please) & if not, are you wanting to?
Have a very good Monday! Hope your week is great! & your mailboxes love you, with BOOKS! :)

In My Mailbox (8/28)

THIS WEEK I GOT:


Kindle Books:
THOSE KINDLE COVERS ARE AMAZING! :)
BOUGHT:

REVIEW:

BORROWED:
(Read & Loved!)

I HOPE THAT YOU HAD AN AMAZING WEEK!
WHAT DID YOU GET IN YOUR MAILBOX THIS WEEK??
HAPPY READING!

Friday, August 26, 2011

Blog Hop Friday 8/26-8/29


Book Blogger Hop

Blog Hop Friday is hosted by Crazy for Books

“Non-book-related this week!! Do you have pets?”

Yes, I have one cat. Her name is Stiletto! 
She is 3.
VERY spoiled.
She loves Blueberry Waffles, Has to have Friskie's Surf & Turf food, & will only eat Whiska's TEMPTATIONS (salmon flavor) snacks!! 
If you get her anything other than ^stated above^ she will hide under the bed from you all day. OR mess up my rugs on purpose!! :)
She is very attached to me. Has to sleep right beside me every night! 

Do you have a pet?
Link me so I can learn about him/her!

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Author Interview: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer Lynn Armentrout

Today we have the lovely Jennifer Armentrout with us. The author of Damion (Covenant #0.5) & Half-Blood (Covenant #1). Which will be hitting shelves near you on October 18th, 2011. I have already had the pleasure of reading Half-Blood (Thank you to Spencer Hill Press). And can I say, WOW. My review will be up September 1st. So look for that soon. 
Jennifer lives in West Virginia (*ahem* as do I). Hopefully I will be meeting her in October, at the WV Book Festival. I am Stoked.

1.) What inspired you to write Half-Blood? How long did it take you to write the 1st draft?
This will sound terrible, but I read a book I really disliked. That actually got me back into writing after a hiatus. So in a weird way I was inspired by a book I loathed.  The first draft, like the most original one I wrote of Half-Blood (called The Others) took about three months. When I did some revisions, basically starting over, the first draft took about two months.
2.) Hot steamy boys: You defiantly created a hot steamy boy in your book! What books do you love, that have Hot steamy boys in them! Who is your favorite?
I like hot boys. Some of my favorites are in no particular order: Beck from Demon Trapper's Daughter, Nash and Todd from Soul Screamers, Luc and Colin from Torn, Luc from Personal Demons and Original Sin, Jace from TMI Series when he isn't being all angst ridden. Tucker from Unearthly. Any dude in a Larissa Ione book. Um... let's see, there's probably more, but that's all I can think of right now.


3.) Which comes first? The character's story or the idea for the novel?
The characters always come first to me, then the story and idea. Sometimes that's a good thing because I have a really concrete grasp on the characters but sucks when it comes to actually plotting the book.
4.)What must you have, to write? (BESIDES: pencil, paper, & computer ;-])
Solitude.
5.) Having already read Half-Blood. And Loved it. I am very mush anticipating Pure. Can you give us a sneak peak? 1 line, from Pure?
One line from Pure? I guess I'll make it a juicy one for you. 

He sighed. "You'll become the center of someone's world one day, and they'll be the luckiest SOB on this earth."
6.) What do you like to do when you're not writing?
A lot of reading, working out.
7.) Bucket List: What is one thing you want to do, or accomplish the most in your life?
I would love to hit the NY Times list just once and visit New Orleans.
8.) One line: What is one line from one of your favorite movies?
"The snozberries taste like snozberries." Cool points to whoever can guess what movie I'm talking about.
Thank you so much for taking the time to answer these questions.

Thanks for having me!

Where you can find Jennifer.




Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Review: My Soul To Lose by Rachel Vincent


e-book: 87 pages
Published July 1st 2009 by Harlequin Teen
ISBN 1426838670 (ISBN13: 9781426838675)
Series: Soul Screamers 
# In the Series: #0.5
Audio Book


Book Blurb:
It was supposed to be a fun day, shopping at the mall with her best friend. Then the panic attack started and Kaylee Cavanaugh finds herself screaming, unable to stop. Her secret fears are exposed and it's the worst day of her life.
Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit.
She tries to convince everyone she's fine--despite the shadows she sees forming around another patient and the urge to scream which comes burbling up again and again. Everyone thinks she's crazy. Everyone except Lydia, that is. Another patient with some special abilities....
My Thoughts:
This is the prequel to the Soul Screamers series. I really enjoyed it. I am excited to start the series. I found this book on Audible.com. It is actually a free download. I don't know for how long. But I do believe that you have to be a member.
Kaylee is just your normal girl. Going to school. Hanging out with her friend. Until one day they are on the mission of revenge. On her ex boyfriend. They head out to the Mall, ready to give him what he deserves. Until Kaylee starts to have a major panic attack. Or, is it a panic attack? She walks away. Kaylee knows, if she don't go far away from this feeling that she would scream. Literally. After waking up in a Psychotic Hospital, Kaylee has to figure out what is wrong with her.  Why does she has this incredible urge to scream when she is around, certain people, places? What are the figures that she is seeing.. 
I am ready to read book #1, so that I can see where this story goes. I am really looking forward to join Kaylee on her journey, and to figure out WHAT THE HECK, the deal is.

my soul to lose

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday 8/24

This week on Waiting On Wednesday:

Four girls. One dead body. A whole lot of guilt.
Alice King isn’t expecting the holiday of a lifetime when she sets off with her classmates on a trip to the Scottish wilderness, but she’s not exactly prepared for an experience beyond her darkest nightmares…
Alice and her best friend Cass are stuck in a cabin with Polly, the social outcast, and Rae, the moody emo-girl. Then there’s Tara – queen of mean. Powerful, beautiful and cruel, she likes nothing better than putting people down.
Cass decides it’s time to teach Tara a lesson she’ll never forget. And so begins a series of events that will change the lives of these girls forever...
A compelling story of guilty secrets, troubled friendship and burgeoning love.



Don't that sound Interesting?! Comes out January 5th, 2012


A dark and provocative novel from the author of The Secret Year 
Ryan spends most of his time alone at the local waterfall because it’s the only thing that makes him feel alive. He’s sixteen, post-suicidal, and trying to figure out what to do with himself after a stint in a mental hospital. Then Nicki barges into his world, brimming with life and energy, and asking questions about Ryan’s depression that no one else has ever been brave enough—or cared enough—to ask. Ryan isn’t sure why he trusts Nicki with his darkest secrets, but that trust turns out to be the catalyst that he desperately needs to start living again.
Jennifer R. Hubbard has created a riveting story about a difficult but important subject.



Can't wait!! Comes out January 19th, 2012




In sixteen-year-old Felicita’s world, magic is strictly controlled—or so those in power like to believe. After her dearest friend, Ilven, kills herself to escape an arranged marriage, Felicita chooses freedom over privilege. She fakes her own death and leaves her sheltered life as one of Pelimburg’s magical elite behind. Living in the slums, scrubbing dishes for a living, she falls for charismatic Dash while also becoming fascinated with vampire Jannik. Then something shocking washes up on the beach: Ilven’s death has called out of the sea a dangerous, wild magic. Felicita must decide whether her loyalties lie with the family she abandoned . . . or with those who would twist this dark power to destroy Pelimburg’s caste system, and the whole city along with it.


:D - Comes out February 28th, 2012 
All of these AWESOME sounding books won't come out until 2012~ Well, I am not going to say I want WINTER to be here super fast.. But, I am looking forward to reading these!



What are you waiting for?

Teaser Tuesday 8/23

Teaser Tuesday

Here is my teaser for the week:




"You're asking me if I come here often?" She giggled, covering her mouth with her hand. There was some sort of bracelet around her wrist, just under the cuff of her dress--then, as he neared her, he saw that it wasn't a bracelet at all but a pattern inked into her skin, a matrix of swirling lines.
He froze. "You--"
He didn't finish. She moved with lightning swiftness, striking out at him with her open hand, a blow to his chest that would have sent him down gasping if he'd been a human being.


City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare



What are you reading? I want to know! So, link me in your comments so I can see your Teaser Tuesday!!
Happy Reading!

Monday, August 22, 2011

Review: A Kiss Remembered by Sandra Brown

Hardcover: 192 pages
Published: April 1st 2002 by Grand Central Publishing (first published 1983)
ISBN0446529788 (ISBN13: 9780446529785)
Received: Purchased for myself (had for YEARS)
Rating: 4 HEARTS

Blurb from Book:
Shelley Browning is finally getting her life together. At 26, she's survived a failed marriage and is going back to school to finish her degree. Except history is about to repeat itself.

My Thoughts:
This was a fast read. I love Sandra Brown. Espically the older books. I have some of her newer work, I just haven't gotten to it....yet
In this book you have, Grant & Shelley. Grant is Shelly's High School Teacher... he kisses her. (a little, eh, but he was way young, so it takes a little eh, out for me... ?)  Ok, now move forward 10 years. They meet again. Shelly is taking some classes in, you guessed it, Grant's class..
Will they be able to be together now? All these years later? Or will a terrible scandal be more than any of them can bare? Read this book.... Scandals, Love, hot hot hot LOVE ;). You will find this book hard to put down. I love Sandra's writing. I always have. I have been sneaking and reading her books, since I was in 9th grade! Love it!

Sunday, August 21, 2011

In My Mailbox 8/21



In my mailbox was created by Kristi over at The Story Siren.

This week I got:

Bought:
Jealousy (Strange Angles #3) by Lili St. Crow (Goodreads | Amazon)
Naomi & Ely's No Kiss List by Rachel Cohan &David Levithan (Goodreads | Amazon)
Infinite Days (Vampire Queen #1) by Rebecca Maizel  (Goodreads | Amazon)
Kindle Books:
My Soul To Lose (Soul Screamers #0.5) by Rachel Vincent (Goodreads | Amazon)
Becoming (Daughters of Saraqael #1) by Raine Thomas (Goodreads | Amazon)
Central (Daughters of Saraqael #2) by Raine Thomas (Goodreads | Amazon)
Foretold (Daughters of Saraqael #3) by Raine Thomas (Goodreads | Amazon)

Review:
Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard (Goodreads | Amazon) [March 13th, 2012]
Double by Jenny Valentine (Goodreads | Amazon) [Feb 27th, 2012]

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs