Sunday, July 31, 2011

Sunday Stew

Sunday Stew was created by Books Devoured
Here is my Sunday Stew for this week (7/31)

Book Mark of the Week:
MY camera cord has been misplaced so I cannot upload my picture at this time. Maybe I will find it. Eeeek
BUT, I am using the Shattered Souls bookmark this week. It is beautiful :)

Around The Web:
The Only thing I know of that is going on in our blogosphere is MY BLOGOVERSARY!
Yes, that's right. My blog turned 1 today!! 
So, would you like to come celebrate with me? Of course you do!
Click HERE to go join the party. It's my Blogoversary, I'll have a giveaway if I want to!!!

Around Me:
Me, I have been reading. Posting more. & Just enjoying my kids.. and SUMMER! Because sadly, it is coming to an end sooner then I wish. :( 
So, enjoy your time now. It wont be to long and we will be wearing those boots again, Freezing :|
My daughter recently turned 3! So, that was fun. She LOVES Toy Story. So she had a cowgirl Toy Story birthday. She loved it. She was surprised. I am so very thankful for my babies! They make each day so much fun. 
My Princess in her new wagon! :)

Me & Lilah taking a stroll :)

 Thank you for stopping by. I hope that your day is as beautiful as you :)! What is going on in your world. Tell me about it. Until next time:
Peace | Love | Books

Blogoversary Time

*CLOSED*




Let's Celebrate!!



Today (July 31st 2011) makes one year that I have been book blogging. 
Wow, I cannot believe that this year has already passed!
This has been one crazy year. With school & kids & blogging & life. I some how managed to keep it all together and get this blog rolling. It is still a learning game. 
But, I want to take this time to thank you all. All the bloggers who have followed me. All the bloggers who have helped me! All you of! We really are a very close blogging community. We come together from all over the world. I have made some great blogging friends. I have chatted with bloggers that are even from my own state! I will finally get to meet them in October, at the book festival! 
A special thanks to:
Angela @ Reading Angel | Lori @ Pure Imagination | Candace @ Candace's Book Blog
They we're my very 1st 3 friends!! They have helped me out so much.
From reviewing. Design. Becoming a .com :). & they have just been there for me, whenever I have needed a little help!
And for that I thank you very much. 
So, I am going to have a blog recap. My fave books that I have read in my year. Random blog love.
Stick through all this, for the giveaway! Yes, there will be a giveaway! So, stick around!
Review: Forget You by Jennifer Echols (My very 1st blog review)
 Very 1st VLOG: I even CALLED it a V Log! Take a look HERE (Man, my hair was so much shorter!)

My very Favorite book, This year for my blog & so far of 2011.
A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
My 2nd Favorite book is:
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (ARC- Read July 2011)

I started a little thing I love to do called Quote It
Where I Quote some of my favorite quotes from books. I even add some life quotes, because I find them very inspirational!

I really had no clue what I would be giving away. 
So I have made it simple. I am going to be having 2 winners.

What the Winners will get:

1st place winner will get a $30 GC to Amazon
2nd Place winner will be getting a $20 GC to Amazon

Each winner will be chosen from Random.org

  • You MUST be a GFC follower of this blog.
  • You must fill out THIS FORM

(Comment entries will not be counted)
  • 1 Entry PER PERSON

(If you have entered your name 2x "ACCIDENT", that is ok. If you have 3+ entries you will not be entered to win) 
  • This giveaway is NOT International. 

This is how you can get Extra Entries ( You will be able to check them on the Form.)
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO DO THESE TO ENTER: THEY ARE JUST FOR EXTRA ENTRIES!
  1. Twitter Follower of: @Loretta_Lynn86
  2. Facebook Liker of: Between The Pages
  3. Friend on Goodreads: εїзLorettⓐ Davis


This giveaway will go on from July 31st 12:00am Until August 12th 2011 11:59pm
Again, Comment entries will not be taken.

Good luck!! :)



Saturday, July 30, 2011

July Wrap-Up


July:
This month I have read:
The Beginning After by Jennifer Castle (ARC; Netgalley; Review to be posted in Aug)
Where She Went by Gayle Forman (Review)
Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma (Review)
Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn &David Levithan (Review)
The Lonely Hearts Club by Elizabeth Eulberg (Review Scheduled for Aug)
I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder (Review)
Crank (Crank #1) by Ellen Hopkins (Review scheduled for Aug)
Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder (Review scheduled for Aug)
The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (Review)
Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris (Review)
Ravenous Decay by Rebecca Morsman (Review scheduled for EARLY Aug)
Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison (Review scheduled for Aug/Sep)
In June I read the Heist Society by Ally Carter (Review) was posted in July.

Books I Bought This Month:
Married with Zombies by Jesse Petersen (Kindle)

The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder (Kindle) -READ, AMAZING
Twisted by Sara Shepard (Pretty Little Liars #9)

Original Sin (Personal Demons#2) by Lisa Desrochers
My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland
Spellbound by Cara Lynn Shultz
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1) by Sara Shepard
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
Ten Things We Did (And probably shouldn't have) by Sarah Mlynowski
Hold Still by Nina LaCour
Demonglass (Hex Hall #2) by Rachel Hawkins 
Bad Taste in Boys by Carrie Harris
I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder (kindle)
Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder (kindle)
Family by Micol Ostow (kindle)
A Need so Beautiful by Suzanne Young
Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
Jenny Pox by J.R Bryan
Tristan und Isolde by Richard Wagner

Won:
Exposed by Kimberly Marcus
I won this book from the Once Upon A Read A Thon.
Thank you Candace @ Candace's Book Blog

RAK Gifts:

Book Soulmates

Random Acts Of Kindness:

Stephanie @ Paper Cut Reviews bought me:
The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross
Possession by Elana Johnson

Shannon @ Stalking The Bookshelves bought me:
The Revenant by Sonia Gensler - EVEN GOT IT SIGNED :)

Grace @ Words Like Silver gave me:
The Geek's Guide to Cheerleading by Charity Tahmaseb and Darcy Vance
Adurey, Wait by Robin Benway

Alexa @ Pages of Forbiddin Love sent me:
Going to Far by Jennifer Echols
The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott
Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Carrie @ Stalking The Bookshelves sent me:
Jane by April Lindner

Bailey @ IBBookBlogging sent me:
Haunting Violet (ARC) by Alyxandra Harvey
Falling Under by Gwen Hayes
Along with some pretty awesome swag :)

Thank you SO much. I am beyond appreciative of the gifts that I have been sent & the kindness of the generosity of the bloggers who thought of me!


Ashley @ The Bookish Brunette made the coolest #bookbabes button. @ twitter, you can find us via #bookbabes :) We like to Party, Party.



Thank you all for everything. I love my fellow bloggers! We are a team! 

IN MY MAILBOX (7/30)

In My Mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren

This week I got:




Review:
Everything We Ever Wanted by Sara Shepard (Netgalley Review book)

Bought:
Jenny Pox by J.R Bryan
Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
The Help by Kathryn Stockett

RAK:
Haunting Violet by Alyxandra Harvey
Falling Under by Gwen Hayes
THANK YOU BAILEY @ IBBOOKBLOGGING! <3

What did you get this week? I want to know! Link me!

Happy Reading
Peace | Love | Books

Review: Heist Society


  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (February 9, 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 1423116399
  • ISBN-13: 978-1423116394
Book Summary:

When Katarina Bishop was three, her parents took her to the Louvre...to case it. For her seventh birthday, Katarina and her Uncle Eddie traveled to Austria...to steal the crown jewels. When Kat turned fifteen, she planned a con of her own—scamming her way into the best boarding school in the country, determined to leave the family business behind. Unfortunately, leaving "the life" for a normal life proves harder than she'd expected.
Soon, Kat's friend and former co-conspirator, Hale, appears out of nowhere to bring her back into the world she tried so hard to escape. But he has good reason: a powerful mobster's art collection has been stolen, and he wants it returned. Only a master thief could have pulled this job, and Kat’s father isn’t just on the suspect list, he is the list. Caught between Interpol and a far more deadly enemy, Kat’s dad needs her help.
For Kat there is only one solution: track down the paintings and steal them back. So what if it’s a spectacularly impossible job? She’s got two weeks, a teenage crew, and hopefully just enough talent to pull off the biggest heist in her family’s (very crooked) history—and, with any luck, steal her life back along the way.
My Thoughts:
This was a very cute, fast, fun, adventurous read. I enjoyed reading it very much. 

This is the 1st book that I have read from Ally Carter. It for sure isn't the last one. I enjoyed her writing very much. I liked the characters, the plot was great . The book just flowed in all the right places. 
The main character Kat has experienced a lot in the time she has been alive. I mean come on she was planning the biggest heist, so I would say that she is very mature for her age.. RIGHT?! All Kat wanted to do was to be normal. I loved all the characters in the book.
I will be reading book #2 Uncommon Criminals that has already came out thank goodness! Because I am so excited to pick up from where this book left off. 
Have you read The Heist Society? What did you think!? Link me.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Blog Hop Friday (7-29/8-1)


Book Blogger Hop
Blog hop is brought to you by Crazy For Books

“Highlight one book you have received this week (for review, from the library, purchased at the store, etc.) that you can’t wait to dig into!”

I bought Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer 
I want to really read this. Everyone is making me want to read this book...BUT,
I should read Nightshade 1st :) I am reading that one here next week, so then I can read Wolfsbane. 

This thrilling sequel to the much-talked-about Nightshade begins just where it ended-Calla Tor wakes up in the lair of the Searchers, her sworn enemy, and she's certain her days are numbered. But then the Searchers make her an offer-one that gives her the chance to destroy her former masters and save the pack-and the man-she left behind. Is Ren worth the price of her freedom? And will Shay stand by her side no matter what? Now in control of her own destiny, Calla must decide which battles are worth fighting and how many trials true love can endure and still survive.
^ I love this green cover. I LOVE it. I wish, WISHED they would have left it like this, so that the hardback's would have matched. I think, personally that the Hardbacks should match, then the paperbacks should match. I LIKE my books to match. Really. BUT, oh well. ;-)

What did you get this week that you are DYING to read.. Or at least plan on reading, in the near future? Link me! I want to know your answer!


TGIF: Character Envy

Photobucket

TGIF is hosted by the Lovely Ginger at GReads! Click the image to visit her!
This week's Question is:
Character Envy: If you could be one character from a book, who would you choose & why?

I would be Charlotte from A Need So Beautiful. Charlotte has a beautiful gift to help people. And she has a pretty hot BAD BOY (Harlin) to keep her company! O_o So, yes I would choose her! :)

The Week's Re-Cap of Review Posts & books I have read!
Written Reviews Posted on the Blog:
Reviewed The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
Reviewed Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris
Read: 
Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris
Ravenous Decay by Rebecca Morsman
Tris & Izzie by Mette Ivie Harrison 

Thursday, July 28, 2011

REVIEW: Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris


  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers (July 12, 2011)
  • ISBN-10: 0385739680
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385739689



Someone's been a very bad zombie. 
Kate Grable is horrified to find out that the football coach has given the team steroids. Worse yet, the steroids are having an unexpected effect, turning hot gridiron hunks into mindless flesh-eating zombies. No one is safe--not her cute crush Aaron, not her dorky brother, Jonah . . . not even Kate! 
She's got to find an antidote--before her entire high school ends up eating each other. So Kate, her best girlfriend, Rocky, and Aaron stage a frantic battle to save their town. . . and stay hormonally human.



My Thoughts: 
1st thing that drew me to this book: The cover! 2nd thing: Zombies! Come on, how could you go wrong? Carrie Harris's debut novel was a win for me. 
Kate Grable is an Assistant Trainer to her school's Football team. A normal girl no. Kate is a major science lover. Who aims her goals to be a doctor. 
While in the Coach's office she notices -unmarked- vials. Which the Coach confirms to Kate that these are B12 injections. But, why are they unmarked?
Some of the football team members start throwing up. Black, gunky, poop smelling, black crap puke. *gag*!
Strange things start happening. Something about this injection that the Coach has given the player is having some major effects. Like the craving for brains! *Braaaaaaaaains* So, Kate is now on a mission to figure out what the injection is. Where it came from. And is there a cure? Oh yeah. Kate my dear, turns into a zombie fighting, syringe poking bad ass indeed!
I laughed out loud at this book. Carrie Harris really made me fall in love with all the characters, and want so much more from them in the end. I loved the relationship that Kate & Aaron came to have. *sigh* Super sweet during in the attacking football zombies!! I am so very glad that this is a series! I could write so much more, but I REALLY don't want to give it all away! Just know that this book is a winner. It is a fast read too. From page 1 you will get pulled into Kate's life, & by the last page you will want MORE... *Braaaaaaaaaaains* ok, not really brains, but more of Kate's story! More of her adventures!

Quotes I loved:
"I stumbled into a clearing. In the springtime, it was probably the kind of place you’d like to hang out with sparkly vampires. But it was slightly less attractive in the rain." 

"And then I was running through the yard hand and hand with Aaron. It was very romantic except for the part where I yelled, "Rocky, get the first-aid kit out of my car! And make sure you don't get any puke on it!"

Thats all you get! I do have a Teaser Tuesday up if you want ONE more! Trust me there was so many more.. but again GO BUY THE BOOK AND READ IT... now... get up... go :)

Ready to get your copy? ---> Bad Taste in Boys Click here and GO get YOUR COPY!!! Really! (link will take you to Amazon)

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Cover Reveals

Here are 2 cover reveals! 


Spell Bound (Hex Hall #3) by Rachel Hawkins!


FEVER (WITHER #2) by Lauren Destefano

OMG, I am so excited to read FEVER is isn't even funny! *Squeeee* Love love love The cover!



Waiting On Wednesday


What am I waiting on? 

A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young 

This book's cover is not OUT yet!!! I mean, A Need So Beautiful JUST came out seriously like LAST month!!!! But, I cannot help it. I need to find out WHAT happens! ;) I need a fix.
Suzanne Young is an amazing author. I cannot wait to read any of her future books!! So, I want A WANT SO WICKED!! I am now anticipating an ARC of this one. Which I hope that I get!! :))

SO there you have it. That is what I am waiting on.. patiently.. !!

What are you waiting on? Link me!

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Teaser Tuesday (7/26)





I didn't know how long we kissed. It was even better than I'd imagined.
I heard a sound from the hallway, but I was busy. I'd get back to my usual hyprervigilance later. But then I became aware of a familiar, fetid scent. It smelled like toasted poop, but with a new undertone of corruption, like the poop had been left in the sun for a couple of days and got all slimy and putrid.
The doorknob rattled and we froze, staring into each other's eyes.


Bad Taste In Boys by Carrie Harris TEASER!








What are you reading? What is your teaser this week? Link me!

Monday, July 25, 2011

REVIEW: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Reading level: Young Adult
Hardcover: 464 pages (I read an ARC of this book)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing 
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1442421762
ISBN-13: 978-1442421769
Book Summary:

Mara Dyer doesn't think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.It can.She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.There is.She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love.She's wrong.



My Thoughts:
Where can I start with this book? What can I say to give it the justice that it deserves? WOW-OMG-WTF-OMG-REALLY-DUDE-WOW! (yes I really did this out loud.. my husband thought I was insane) yeah... I could say those a million times. Because...wow...this book was something else. & by something else I mean Amazing!! The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, is full of mystery. Some that is answered!!! (score) and some that is not (this is a series, so SCORE). The characters are so easy to fall in love with.. *ahem* Noah, :)!
The story starts out with Mara, hanging out with her friends. Messing with the Ouija board. 
Then they die. Jude, Mara's then boyfriend. Rachel, Mara's best friend, & Claire, a girl Mara really didn't like. 
What happened? What is going on? Why did Mara wake up in a hospital bed with only a slight concision?
Mara has no clue either. She has no recollection of anything that happened that day. Nothing. Her family up and move from Rhode Island to Florida, after Mara's accident. Mara has to go to a private school. This is where she meets Noah. Noah is a bit dreamy. Ok, I am lying.. Noah is so dreamy I found myself giggling like a school girl. Noah is the BAD BOY in this story. He was sorta a "have his way and be done" type of guy before he met Mara. After that he was all in for getting Mara. He is also a bit full of himself. Mara tries to fight her feeling for the dreamy Noah Shaw, but she does not win. For Noah says that she is "His girl" so she is. After many failed tries of course. Mara didn't play easy to get at all. Mara starts having nightmares, of the accident. She is seeing thing too, people. People like Jude, who is dead. She is also thinking she wished things would happen, and wow...  She tries so hard to piece everything together. Only to find out some life shattering facts. 
Things that include Noah. 
I really found myself on the edge of where ever I was sitting. This is a nail biting, eerie, psychological thrilling story. 
This story is intriguing from the very 1st to the very last page. I found myself wanting my eyes to read faster & faster. I feel in love with the characters. Michelle Hodkin wrote a very captivating novel. Her debut novel is going to be BIG! This series is going to be so AMAZING! There are so many different ways that this story could go, with a cliff hanger like that. I was so very pleased with this book that I was highly anticipating! I am so glad that I got to read it. Because this book was truly and utterly satisfying



Want to PREORDER THIS BOOK ----> The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer! This link will take you to Amazon! PreOrder NOW! :)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs