Thursday, June 30, 2011

Cover Reveal: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Wow, this cover is beautiful. I loved the 1st one. Now I love this one even more.
I cannot wait to find out what happened.

Here is the cover & blurb!


For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning. 
Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.

Here is the 1st cover if you haven't seen or read *gasps* it.




Here is my REVIEW of Unearthly that I read in November 2010


Here are also a couple paperback covers that I have seen online.
The one with the red, is Harper Collins Australia - The other is Perfect Paperback US.





REVIEW: Dark Swan Volume 1 (Storm Born Comic)

Dark Swan Volume 1 (Storm Born Comic)





Hardcover120 pages
Expected publication: September 20th 2011 by Sea Lion Books 
ADULT Graphic Novel
Received: From Sea Lion Books for review


Blurb:
Eugenie Markham never asked for any of this. Until now, she''s been content with her job as a freelance shaman, battling and banishing Otherworldly creatures. When a prophecy suddenly makes her the Otherworld''s most popular bachelorette, Eugenie finds herself fighting off unwanted supernatural suitors, as well as the evils that begin emerging from her past...
My Thoughts:
 Eugenie is able to send evil bad things back where they belong. To the otherworld, where also she can travel. She is contacted by someone wanting her to go find there sister, in the otherworld. She considered it. But, on her own time. You don't tell Eugenie she has to do anything! She then meets Kiyo and, they have a pretty hot and heavy night.. until something is in the room. But what? 

I enjoyed this graphic novel. The artwork was very good. Bright colors. Eugenie is a kick ass woman. Who means business.
I am going to go read Vol. 2 now because I want to know what happens!! This graphic novel was a win! If you like reading them. Read this one! You will love it.

*Thank you Sea Lion Books, for contacting me to do a review!






Review: The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder

  • The Day Before by Lisa Schroeder
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 455 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse (June 28, 2011)
  • Received: Bought on Kindle

Blurb:
  • Amber’s life is spinning out of control. All she wants is to turn up the volume on her iPod until all of the demands of family and friends fade away. So she sneaks off to the beach to spend a day by herself.
    Then Amber meets Cade. Their attraction is instant, and Amber can tell he’s also looking for an escape. Together they decide to share a perfect day: no pasts, no fears, no regrets.
    The more time that Amber spends with Cade, the more she’s drawn to him. And the more she’s troubled by his darkness. Because Cade’s not just living in the now—he’s living each moment like it’s his last.

    My Thoughts:
    I have never read a book by Lisa Schroeder. After this book It won't be my last. What is another Lisa Schroeder book that you love?
    I feel in love with this book. I bought it the day it came out on my Kindle. I read & finished it the same day. In 2 hours. I could not stop reading this book. From 1% to 100% I was hooked. Pulled into the words so tight that I couldn't let go! 
    All Amber wants is for things to go back to the way they were.
    Before she knew..
    She goes tho the beach, The Day Before... and
    meets Cade. Who is hurting as well. But doesn't want to be.
    As soon as she meets Cade it is like they are there, for each other.
    With Cade she is happy,
    Safe.
    There are no words to describe the bond that they developed over there day together.
    In the end, I was yearning for MORE. One more letter, One more word.
    This book was a win for me. & I hope that you read it, so it can be a win for you!!!




    Find out more about LISA SCHROEDER







Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Winner Of The Sky is Everywhere

Thank you to all that had entered my THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE giveaway!





Thank you again for entering. Look for my 1 year blog birthday celebration coming up in less than a month for a week of celebrating, and giveaway fun!

The winner has been contacted and will have 48 hours to contact me back before another winner is chosen!



Monday, June 27, 2011

Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry





The Giver (The Giver #1) by Lois Lowry
Received: Bought on Book Depository 

  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Mass Market Paperback: 192 pages
    Published: May 11th 1999 by Bantam Books for Young Readers (first published March 29th 1993)
  • ISBN-10: 0385732554
  • ISBN-13: 978-0385732550



From GoodReads
In a world with no poverty, no crime, no sickness and no unemployment, and where every family is happy, 12-year-old Jonas is chosen to be the community's Receiver of Memories. Under the tutelage of the Elders and an old man known as the Giver, he discovers the disturbing truth about his utopian world and struggles against the weight of its hypocrisy. With echoes of Brave New World, in this 1994 Newbery Medal winner, Lowry examines the idea that people might freely choose to give up their humanity in order to create a more stable society. Gradually Jonas learns just how costly this ordered and pain-free society can be, and boldly decides he cannot pay the price.


My Thoughts:
I was unsure I would like this book when I 1st got it. Because I am not really a big fan of "classics" but, this book is a Utopian, for Young Adult readers. It met all my expectations. I loved this book. I really likes Jonas. His determination, drive, his heart. He had courage, even though he wasn't given that memory from The Giver. He, had courage I could never imagine. 
My heart broke when he found out what the release was. It was at that time, when his father said that Gabe would be released that I knew in my heart, that Jonas would not let that happen to that sweet baby, with the light eyes! 
I had hope for Jonas. This book is full of hope. It makes you cherish your own memories. Because the life that Jonas lived in, only sameness was filled in it. No love, No hope, everything was the .. same.
In the end, Jonas has love, and he doesn't have to worry about hiding it anymore. For I believe that he will be ok, safe, happy and loved! He will love. He loves Gabe.


This novel was a win for me. Please if you haven't read it. Read it. It is a fast read too. So if you have a read a thon coming up, add The Giver to your list. Add it to you TBR list anyways! 



Thank you for taking the time to read my review! Hope that you have a blessed day!

Ready to read this book!!
YOU REALLY SHOULD!
IT IS GREAT!


Quote It (3)

This is a little thing I like to do. You can call it a weekly thing I am going to start doing now. So, Quite It is hosted by me Loretta @ Between The Pages. It is where I put some of my favorite quotes from books that I read. Also, Inspirational ones, because sometimes, we all need a little inspiration right? 

Books:
"So it's not gonna be easy. It's going to be really hard; we're gonna have to work at this everyday, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, forever, everyday. You and me... everyday." 
Nicholas Sparks- The Notebook

"Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?"
Stephanie Perkins- Anna & The French Kiss

"I'm always leaving, but I never have anywhere to go."
Courtney Summers- Fall For Anything

"So often we only do what we think is expected of us, when we are capable of so much more."
Cynthia Hand- Unearthly


Life: 
"You've gotta dance like there's nobody watching, 
Love like you'll never be hurt, Sing like there's nobody listening, And live like it's heaven on earth." 
William W. Purkey

"I believe that everything happens for a reason. People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they're right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together." 
Marilyn Monroe

"That which does not kill us makes us stronger." 
Friedrich Nietzsche

What are some quotes that you love? Maybe we have some of the same ones that we love! Let me know. What book. What page even. Because I do mark them with post-its in my book ;)

~Happy Reading~

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Sunday Stew (3)

Sunday Stew is a Weekly Meme hosted by Books Devoured

Bookmark(s) of the Week:
*I am using this bookmark signed by Beth Revis. It is a bookmark for Across The Universe. Which I have not read yet. But it is getting closer & closer up the list. Angela from Reading Angel gave it to me!

Around The Web:
*Allot of great things are going on around the web in the blogosphere this week. Allot of bloggers are at ALA right now.. picking up books that I want to read. I hope you guys are having fun, and I cannot wait to see the IMMs that you all are going to have.

*Another thing that is going on is Zombie Craze. Do you love Zombies? Just can't get enough of the flesh eating living dead things? Oh, I can't. So, in that case you will love Zombie Craze. Going on now over at The Bookish Brunette!
Zombie Craze includes: Giveaways, interviews, Zombie book talk. All that & more. So, hop over there are take a look, you wont regret it. 
And, in the spirit of ZOMBIES! Look at these shoes. Sold by Iron Fist. 


I really love shoes! 

Around Me:
*Nothing is really happening around me this week.
Mar & my family are just enjoying summer. 
My husband goes on Vacation July 4th week, so I will be glad to have him home!! 
Other than that, just reading. 
And trying to get caught up on my posts!! 

*Tomorrow is the End of my THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE giveaway. So, if you haven't entered yet. Please do so!*
Click *HERE* to enter!
Here is my IMM post for the week.

I hope that you have a good weekend. A good book week. 
~*Peace.Love.God Bless*~




Friday, June 24, 2011

REVIEW: Divergent by Veronica Roth

  • Reading level: Young Adult
  • Hardcover: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (May 3, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062024027
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062024022



In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself. 

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her. 

Debut author Veronica Roth bursts onto the literary scene with the first book in the Divergent series—dystopian thrillers filled with electrifying decisions, heartbreaking betrayals, stunning consequences, and unexpected romance.



My Thoughts: 

***MAY HAVE SPOILERS! JUST SAYIN***

This book was more than I expected. At first I was scared to read it because of all they hype on it. From the ARC, to when the book was released! Was I at the store getting my copy when it was released? Yes, because I was kinda excited to read it. I wanted to let all the talk die down a little before I devoured it. And that is just what I did. Devoured it. This book was amazing. 
Beatrice's world is very different. You live in factions. You might be born into one faction, but that might not be the faction that you spend the rest of your life in. You have Candor, they are honest.  Abnegation, they are selfless. Dauntless, they are brave. Amity, they are peaceful. and Erudite, they are intelligent.
Beatrice is Abnegation. But she will soon have to choose what faction that she wants to move onto or stay in Abnegation. Whatever the case she will have to do through a simulation to determine which factions that she would do well in. What her choices can be. Her results though... they are inconclusive... Beatrice is very different. Not from many, because there are many out there like her. People she never thought were.  Beatrice has to choose. Stay with her family. Or choose a place where she feels that she belongs.
In her faction Beatrice, now Tris, has to fight. Survive. They are tough, rough, and fearless. Or that is what they are trying to make you. She meets Four. A tough instructor, who helps Beatrice. She starts to have feelings for Four, somethings take a turn, for the worse. 
I could really go on and on about this book. But, I will leave off with this. This book was amazing. Something that you should read. The hype has died. And it yes, is as amazing as it seems. 

Veronica Roth, with her debut novel, Divergent. Really did an amazing job. Keeping you on the edge of your seat. Hoping for things to go one way and just when you thought there was no hope. Veronica added it. Amazing!




Blog Hop (6/24-6/27)

Book Blogger Hop

“When did you realize reading was your passion and a truly important part of your life?”


I have always read. My mom said I would tell this long story out of a picture book when I was little. Then when I was in school. They were reading the grade you were in level books. I couldn't get into them. They were about war. Or slavery. Then every now and then we would have one on something different. Like, "The Outsiders". My thoughts on reading changed in the 9th grade. When my best friend at the time brought one of her mom's sultry adult books to class.. The name of it was Secrets by Brenda Joyce! It took me one day to read it and I was hooked after. Reading everything that I could. When I was younger I loved Adult genre. Now, that I am older (25) <--lol, I read more YA genre books. So, every since 9th grade I have been a reading machine! :)

What about you?
When did you start Reading?


Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Winner OF A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL

That you to all who entered my A Need So Beautiful Giveaway!


CONGRATS! 

An Email has been sent & you will have 48 hours to contact me before another winner is chosen!

Don't forget I still have another giveaway going on. Click HERE to see about that one.

Thank you all again. Look for more giveaway's coming up as I reach my 1 year blog birthday! :)


Tuesday, June 21, 2011

US vs. UK covers

So I noticed that Bloodlines has a UK cover reveal out now.


US COVER


UK COVER



                                                                                                                                                                         
So, which one do you like more??
I love the US cover.
I like the UK cover.
So, for me US wins!
WHAT ABOUT YOU? I WANT TO KNOW WHAT YOU THINK!



Monday, June 20, 2011

Quote It (2)


This is a little thing I like to do where I post Quotes that I like: Book quotes, and Inspirational Life Quotes.

Life:

"In three words I can sum up everything I've learned about life: it goes on."
— Robert Frost

"A room without books is like a body without a soul."
— Cicero

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent." 

"If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything."
— Mark Twain

Books:

"Eventually I realize that I am holding on to him just as tightly as he holds on to me. And here we are: two small dying things, as the world ends around us like falling autumn leaves."
— Lauren DeStefano (Wither)

"I was gonna be super pissed in the afterlife if I died a virgin in this crap hole."
— Jennifer L. Armentrout (Half-Blood)

"The heart is a compass, steers us back to the thing we loved the most."
— Holly Schindler (Playing Hurt)

What Quotes do you love? Please share them with me. 


Sunday, June 19, 2011

Review: Afterlife (A discovery of vampires #1) by Isabella Kruger

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 207 KB
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004ZZM9E6


When Fleur and Louisa are orphaned and forced to stay with their horrible aunt Petiniua their lives are turned upside down. Aunt Petiniua a witch of a woman sends the sisters off to Miss Madisons Academy for girls where they endure physical pain and violence . However Louisa escapes with a dashing magician who happens to be a vampire and leaves Fleur to look after herself . Fleur vowing revenge on Jacques St Cloud leaves Miss Madisons house of horrors and finds herself faced in the midst of a dangerous romance with a dashingly handsome young vampire Daniel. 

My Thoughts: 
Well, this book was ok. I  mean I am going to read 2, and 3 because I want to know what happens to Fleur. But this book was fast. And by that I mean, everything felt rushed.  I have no idea what happened to the sister. Or why she never came back. ???????? I am just left with allot of questions that I hope are answered in book 2. 
All in all it was a ok read. Kinda twilight-ish. My rating is a 2/5
Want to read your copy? I paid 99 cents 
for the kindle version. Tell me what you 
think of this book :)


In My Mailbox VLOG

In my mailbox was created by Kristi @ The Story Siren.
It's where we show the books that we have received for the week, and in showing them, hope that I inspire you to get a copy too. :)

This week I got:






All links will take you to Goodreads.

Review:

Bought:

RAK:
n/a

Borrowed/Traded:
n/a


I hope that you had an awesome book week. Happy reading! See you back here next week!


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs