Saturday, April 30, 2011

IMM (4/30)


I am posting this on Saturday because tomorrow is the kick off to the Spring Blog Carnival! So, I want to have this already up. So that it can get 'some' love!

Ok, so this week I got;




Bought:
It's Not Summer Without You (Summer #2) by Jenny Han
Forever Summer (Laguna Cove & Cruel Summer) by Alyson Noel
Something Borrowed (Darcy & Rachel #1) by Emily Griffin
Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel #2) by Emily Griffin

For Review:
The Girl in the Steel Corset (Steampunk Chronicles #1) by Kady Cross 
The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab
Thanks Netgalley!


Hey guys I have a giveaway that ends tomorrow! Enter HERE for a chance to win Wither by Lauren DeStefano.
Also The Spring Blog Carnival starts tomorrow. If you haven't signed up. Do so! Lasts from 1st-8th!

Well that is all for me this week! What did you get? What are you reading?
Happy Reading. Happy Weekend 


Thursday, April 28, 2011

Blog Hop Friday (4/29-5/2)

Book Blogger Hop

Blog Hop Friday is a weekly meme created at Crazy For Books

This weeks question is:
"Summer is coming quickly - what 2011 summer release are you are most looking forward to?"

Well, my 2011 summer relase would have to be:


A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young
(I have read this. Will review it closer to release date, BUT I loved it!!! And I cannot wait to have my very own finished, [ and hopefully signed ] copy of this master piece! 

Also I want to read:

Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake
(this cover is amazing. And I cannot wait to see what it is going to be like)

What about you? What are you wanting to read that is coming out this summer?!






Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Teaser Tuesday



Grab your current read! Open up & give a couple sentences.
BUT be careful NOT to include spoilers!!!!!!!!!!!



My Teaser:




So why was there no movement in the street? No disgruntled party goers heading to other clubs in other areas?
And why did the wind hold the fragrance of blood?
I hitched my bag to a more comfortable position on my shoulder, then stepped from the stations half lit platform and 
ran up the stairs leading to Sunshine Avenue. The lights close to the platforms exit were out and the shadows 
closed in the minuet I stepped onto the street.

Full Moon Rising by Keri Arthur 




What's your Teaser???



Review: Anna & The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins





Hardcover, 372 pages ( I read Kindle Version)
Published December 2nd 2010 by Dutton
Read in April 2011




From Goodreads:
Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets √Čtienne St. Claire: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he's taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.
As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near-misses end with the French kiss Anna—and readers—have long awaited?

My Thoughts:
Anna & the French Kiss was a good, hot read! 
Anna is sent to a boarding school in Paris. Where she is alone. And outcast. An American. So goes to SOAP, and meets some friends there. She has a hard time at 1st. Not knowing what the menus say. Or the people mostly. She lives off bread, for the 1st couple days. Then learns the cook... speaks a little English :)
She meets √Čtienne St. Claire. And she's instantly swooning! I mean who wouldn't? The way that he sounded in the book, was very dreamy!! But, Mr. Dreamy is taken. 
I found my self feeling sorry for Anna. Here she is.. alone. Caught in many love triangles through out the book. In many conflicts, with her friends. I found myself wanting to help Anna!! But, Anna was a smart girl. Some times clueless. But she would eventually get it. Figure it out. St. Claire kept her confused. And he was making me mad there for a while. I was like WHY is he leading her on? Why is he with this twit Ellie? WHY WHY WHY! Anna and The French Kiss was a cute book. It was full of laughs, heartbreak, steamy kissing moments :) This book was a win/win for me! 


This is a must read!! You will love it. SO ready to get your copy??

Thursday, April 21, 2011

REVIEW: The Goddess Test by Amiee Carter



I read the Netgalley.
Release Date: April 19, 2011
Received From: 
NetGalley
IBSN: 9780373210268


From Goodreads:
It's always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.
Kate is sure he's crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess.

My thoughts:

I feel in love with this book from 1% (I read an egalley). The way that the story pulled you in you wanted to keep reading. You had to find out what happened. 
The characters, made up this story. I mean, there was no like cutting edge action. There was some tests, but.. not what you would think. All that didn't matter one little bit. The story's characters were awesome. 

Kate's world feels like its crashing around her. With her mother dying. She is trying to figure out what to do. How to confront this situation. But Kate isn't ready. She's not ready to say goodbye to her mother. 
Kate is a determined girl that is for sure. She wasn't whiny. Which I am THANKFUL for :). She took this role in her hands, and did great with her 'task'. It's allot of crazy things that you find out in the end. Witch makes that ending so better. The love in this story between Henry & Kate is genuine.  

I don't want to give away any details. Because this is a book you SHOULD read. I say get it. Read it. You will LOVE it. All in all this was a good read. I was satisfied with the story. The Characters. Everything.

So this is on my top reads for sure. I am glad that I read the galley from Netgalley! Now, for a finished copy. Because the cover is beautiful :). 



You need a copy? 
You should have one !! :)





Sunday, April 17, 2011

Sunday Stew





This is my very 1st Sunday Stew post. This meme is hosted by Shannon @ Books Devoured.
So, I hope that I do this right. 


Please click here for Shannon's Sunday Stew and more information on it!

Book Mark of the Week:

I am reading 2 books right now, so I need 2 book marks right?
\
1st one is the Serenity Prayer. 
2nd one is my Sex & The City one I got at Borders, before they closed.



Around The Web:


Spring Blog CarnivalWell starting May 1st there is going to be a Spring Blog Carnival. Hosted by some pretty awesome bloggers!! You will want to sign up for that. Because, it is going to rock :)--->






Book Soulmates



^^Another thing that is going on is RAK. If you haven't heard about it, it's Random Acts Of Kindness. The lovely duo over at Book ♥ Soulmates made up this lovely Idea.





I have been attending the BBP 2011 this year!
I have had such an awesome time. They have had some awesome Panels, and I have learned so much about blogging. I have met some pretty awesome Bloggers, Authors, & Publishers. Awesome 5 days it was. Sad it is ending today. I will be attending next year for sure!!-->


Around Me:

Well, I am currently reading The Goddess Test by Amiee Carter on Netgally. It is awesome. I love it so far. I have not been getting much reading done the past 5 days because of the conference, but I am also reading Where She Went by Gayle Forman. I have been reading a couple pages here and there of The Twilight Saga: The Illustrated Guide. It is very good information so far, allot of pages that's for sure!
My kids are on Spring break too. SO, that leaves little time for no noise. & my name not being called every 5 seconds :)
Next week I hope to start Playing Hurt. And my netgally choice will be Starcrossed!
I hope that you have had an awesome week.



Saturday, April 16, 2011

In My Mailbox [IMM]


IMM is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren.

I am doing pictures this week. I only received 2 books.
I bought one and I got a RAK gift.


I bought:

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen




My RAK gift:
This RAK gift was from Angela @ Reading Angel - thank you








Wither by Lauren DeStefano Giveaway + Author Interview

*GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED*


What if you knew exactly when you would die? 

Thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb—males only live to age twenty-five, and females only live to age twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out. 
When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden's genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust among her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape—to find her twin brother and go home. 
But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant Rhine is growing dangerously attracted to, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limited time she has left.





How amazing does that book sound? Well, I tell you... IT IS AMAZING! So, I want one lucky winner to have this lovely book on there book shelf. So today I am having a giveaway! 
So, I am going to get to the rules of this giveaway!! THEN I am having a INTERVIEW with Lauren!! I am very honored that I got her on my blog!!! 
So, here we go!


The Rules of The Giveaway:

  • This is a US Giveaway - I do not have the money to ship international. Sorry.
  • You must be 13 or Older
  • You DO NOT have to be a follower, but you know it's always appreciated ;)
  • Fill out the WHOLE form. It's only 4 things to fill out.
  • April 16th - May 1st (11:59pm) is the length of this giveaway!
  • Winner will be chosen from Random.org
  • Winner will have 48 [2days] hours to respond, before another winner is chosen.
Click HERE to fill out the form!





Q&A


A Conversation with

Lauren
DeStefano
 Author of

Wither

a
 Simon & Schuster

Children’s Publishing




Q: Your novel combines genetic engineering, polygamy, and low life expectancies to create an awesome storyline. How did the idea come to you?

A:
I may never know exactly where it came from. This story is the culmination of many strange factors. I was bedridden with the flu, for starters, and I was getting frustrated with an adult writing project I had going. My agent suggested that I try something out of my comfort zone, something that I would normally never write, and she also linked me to a site that was taking short story submissions. I began Wither with the intention of making it a short story, and I had no idea where it would take me. Page one began with a girl in a dark place; she didn’t know where she was going, and she was scared. That girl turned out to be my protagonist, Rhine, and at the time she knew about as much of her story as I did.

Q: Describe your debut novel, Wither, in three words.

A: A broken fairytale.

Q:  If you could pair Rhine, Linden and Gabriel with any character from any book, who would your pick for each be?

A: I probably wouldn’t do that. It’s hard to imagine the characters in this world entering another world. But for Rhine, I would say that being paired up is the last thing she’d want. She’s a strong-willed girl who values freedom above all else; love is not something she’s ever thought to look for.

Q: Can you tell us why you chose the title Wither, and how it correlates with Rhine’s story?

A: It was a title that the publisher and I generated from a long list, after the story had been through copyediting. It can be interpreted any number of ways, but for me it describes what’s happening not only to my characters, but to everything around them. Flowers, trees, crumbling buildings—it’s a world where everything is slowly dying.

Q: How long did it take you to write Wither?

A: The first draft took about a month, which isn’t typical for me. I have some unpublished stories that have taken years to complete.

Q: What can we expect from future books in this series?

A: For some big questions to be answered, and for some bigger questions to arise.


 Q: Is there any certain person who instilled the passion for reading and writing in you? A family member or a teacher maybe?



A: I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. It’s something I’ve always enjoyed, and when I was young I didn’t give much thought to why I loved it, nor did I share it with anyone. I saw it as a private thing, like keeping a diary, except all the entries were fictitious. In fifth grade I was assigned to write a short story for school, and I remember my teacher pulling me aside and asking if I had ever considered writing books when I grew up. Before that moment, publication had never occurred to me, but as I got older I began to take the idea more seriously.

Q: Were you inspired by other dystopian stories, such as The Handmaid's Tale? What other dystopian would you recommend we read?

A: I have seen a lot of comparisons between my story and The Handmaid’s Tale which frankly surprises me. I am a huge admirer of Margaret Atwood and would absolutely recommend her dystopian, but I think her story and mine focus on different topics and paint different worlds. As far as recommending dystopians, it would really depend on what the reader is looking for. The beauty of dystopian fiction is that it breaks the boundaries we’re used to; it makes us uncomfortable, and it makes us see our own world in a new light, and so I would only recommend, whatever dystopian each reader chooses, that it’s met with an open mind.

Q: What are some of your favorite books that have had the biggest influence on your writing?

A: I’m not sure that other books are any more or less influential as anything else that might inspire me, such as a conversation or a crime documentary—I never really know what will trigger something. I once wrote an entire scene because of a shape I saw in a puddle.

Thank you Lauren for the Interview. 


Want to know more about Lauren DeStefano?

Wither by Lauren DeStefano Review












Hardcover, 356 pages
Published March 22nd 2011 by Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
ISBN 1442409053 
ISBN 13: 9781442409057
SERIES: CHEMICAL GARDEN #1






What if you knew exactly when you would die? 



Thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb—males only live to age twenty-five, and females only live to age twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out. 

When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden's genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust among her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape—to find her twin brother and go home. 

But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant Rhine is growing dangerously attracted to, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limted time she has left.

My Thoughts:
Where do I start? I have thought about what to say in this review! How I could express my love for this book! I keep saying.. 'wow'. I loved this book. Wither (chemical Garden #1) was such an awesome read. The world that Rhine lives it. It's eerie. The males live until the age 25. Females live until 20. How could you deal with knowing when you were going to die? That would be a hard something to swallow. 
Rhine and her twin brother Rowan lived on there own. There parents had passed. So, they had to work together. To live. Survive. Until one day the Gatherers take her. Kidnap her. Take her away from her brother. She was sold, to be a bride. Rhine was a very determined girl. When she got it in her mind what she was going to do, she set her mind to it. Escaping. Freedom. Rhine played the part well, as wife. But she would never, ever allow herself to let her 'husband' Linden lay with her. Linden. The character relationship that I built with linden was a love/hate one. It was easy to hate him. Knowing what he was doing to these...'children'. Making them his wife. But in the book you will find that near the end, it is hard to hate Linden. What did he know about this arrangement. The one is father, Housemaster Vaughn made. Was he kept in the dark? Did he know?  Rhine and her 2 sister wives, Cecliy & Jenna were in this together. No matter what. The illusion of this life was not enough for Rhine. Being in a cage was not enough for her. She became friends with the attendant Gabriel. Through the time of talking to him. Getting to know about him, his life, Rhine became to like him. love him even. 
They made a plan. 
I easily imagined this world as I read. Page after page I was pulled into the world. The author made the writing have so much detail, that you could easily imagine what Rhine was talking about, what she and the other sister wives were feeling. Housemaster Vaughn was the one character I would never in my life want to meet. He was a vicious man. Was he hurting Jenna? Will he hurt Bowen? What was he doing in that basement? It is the eerie face that I most likely don't want to know. 
The ending of this book kept me wanting more. Excited for the 2nd book to be released! 
I cannot wait to see what comes of the final pages of book 1. I want so much for Rhine to be.. Free!

*Thank you Lauren DeStefano, for this beautiful book! Another thing I loved, was the cover. It is BEAUTIFUL, and how the design goes all through the book, that is awesome.

*If you have not read this book, please do. This 2011 debut author has a gift of writing!





Thank you for reading my Review! 


Ready to buy your copy? Yes, you are! :)

Friday, April 15, 2011

blOg hOp

Book Blogger Hop


"Pick a character from a book you are currently reading or have just finished and tell us about him/her."

Rhine Ellery
From Wither by Lauren DeStefano.
I just finished this book yesterday!! 
I loved it. The characters. all of it. 
Rhine, for being in her situation ( i don't want to give spoilers ), is a VERY strong girl. She is 16. She is very determined. I love how the author made her that way. But, she was very good at pleasing others. She wasn't pleasing for fun. She very much had a plan. 
She is someone I'd love to have as a friend! :)


Happy Reading!!


Review Policy

My REVIEW POLICY
-I AM currently not accepting books for review, thank you for understanding.- 

Genres I Read:
  • Young Adult: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Romance, Contemporary. 
  • Adult: Paranormal, Romance, Historical Romance, Urban Fantasy, Erotica, Contemporary,
  • New Adult
  • Historical Fiction
(Really: a little of this & a little of that)
  • I do accept  self published novels! Shoot me an email and I will gladly take a look into your book! If it doesn't appeal to me, I will let you know. I would appreciate after that, you do not ask again. No, usually means no the 2nd time around for me to. 
I will only accept books that I really think I will enjoy.  I always try to post my reviews in a timely manner, but if it's awhile before the book is released than I will wait until closer to release date. I generally post the week of the books release date unless you request otherwise. If you want your review posted sooner, or later please specify.
  • If the book Does NOT appeal to me. I will let you know & I will tell you why. I will not finish, nor will I write a review for a book that I DNF'd. Only if I finished and rated the book, accordingly.
I will post a very honest review. (honest being the key term here. I will not sugar coat my review. This meaning, if I did not like the book, but I strongly like you as an author. I will tell you the truth [even if I don't know you] I feel that is what we are here for. To rate. Sometimes we might offend. I mean nothing in a negative way to you. I will be honest.)  I will take the time to read, and love your book. To get the best review that I can. And promote it as well. But, if I do not like it. I will not bash your book, or you. I understand that this is your work. Your time. Your love. I will honestly state why I did not like it. Or why I did not finish it. Honestly. Sincerely.
  • PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE ME A BOOK TO READ IF I HAVE SAID NO. I WILL NOT READ IT. I SAID NO, FOR THE REASON I WOULD NOT LIKE IT. I WAS HONEST. I FEEL DOING THAT IS A LITTLE PUSHY. I WILL NOT READ IT.
I post every review I write on Goodreads & Amazon/Amazon UK, Book Depository. I also use Twitter. Where I post links to my blog. Where the review can be seen. @Loretta_Lynn86
  • I am also a member of Book Blogs 
  • do not read outside of the five genres stated above. If I do, ever. It is not a review book I try new genre's on. I think that would be unfair to you as an author, because I had not read that genre, or liked it before!
  • Any books that I receive are from promotional purposes. I should not be charged any fee's. 
  • I will never sale your arc. ever.
  • If this book, is used for a tour, I will very much take care of it. 
Some things to consider when you email me for a 'Review Request':
  • Courtesy. Remember I am a person too. I have a life outside of blogging. This is not my JOB, but it is my Passion. I love reading. Understand - I do have life to live as well.   
  • Please include links to your book. Amazon | Goodreads | Something. Please It helps when I want to look into your book more.
  • Deadline: If you NEED your book reviewed by a specific date SAY so. Or I will not be reviewing it until I have the other review books, that were before you, read. This will also help me in deciding to review it or not! Example: You book may sound like something that I want to read. BUT you need a review by ____ date. I would look at my schedule. Factor in Life, and then make my decision. I would also state WHY I will not review your book. RATHER it be your -time frame- or I am just not -interested-. PLEASE do not be offended if I say NO, due to not thinking I would like it. I mean, I would not want to read it, even though I would not be interested in it just to NOT LIKE it. I stick to my genre mainly. So please understand this.
  • Contact me via EMAIL for a REVIEW REQUEST: I will not answer Goodreads Comments | Twitter @Mentions | FB Wall Posts | No. I will ignore you. Email me. Personally.
  • MY NAME: My name is not: Hey | Blogger | What's up Blogger Girl (YES, this has happened) | Yo, | It is: Loretta | Between The Pages | Mrs. Davis - Respect & courtesy. I would NOT address you as "Hey you author that wrote this book".
If you would like for me to review your book, or have any questions, PLEASE contact me at:
Lorettadavis@suddenlink.net
Please use MY NEW Blog account Email.
BTP_Reviews@yahoo.com

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs