Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Teaser Tuesday



Grab your current read. Write a couple lines, aviod spoilers.
Share what your reading!
Happy Reading!

My Teaser:
I was an animal- Not quite a wolf or bear or gorilla or dog, but some horrible species that walked upright, that was almost human, yet not. Fangs grew from my mouth, my fingers clawed, and hair grew from every pore. I, who looked down on people with zits or halitosis, was a monster.

Beastly by Alex Flinn



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, March 28, 2011

Living Dead In Dallas by Charlaine Harris -Review-


Mass Market Paperback, 279 pages

Published April 1st 2004 by Orbit (first published March 2002)
ISBN 1841493007 (ISBN13: 9781841493008)
Living Dead in Dallas [series] Sookie Stackhouse #2

Book info via Goodreads:
Waiting tables, sweeping floors, reading minds and solving mysteries for the undead. It's all in a day's work for Sookie...

Cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse is on a streak of real bad luck. First, her co-worker gets murdered and no one seems to care. Then Sookie is attacked - and poisoned - late one night by some weird and apparently mythical beast. She only survives because the local vampires roll up and graciously suck the poison from her veins (like they didn't enjoy it). But in return the blood-suckers need a favor.
Which is why Sookie ends up in Dallas, using her telepathic skills to search for a missing vampire, on the condition that her undead friends don't do anything, well, vampiric while she's there. Easier said than done. All it takes is one delicious blonde and one small mistake for things to turn deadly...

My Thoughts:
I loved this book! I love Sookie. She is hilarious! This book was just as satisfying as the 1st! Sookie & Bill have the most crazy "relationship" with the vampires, and the shape shifters, were wolfs. I love the TV series too.
The Fellowship is crazy people. They are weird. and freak me out. I cannot believe what they did to Sookie. I am glad that all turned out well. I will be reading the 3rd book for sure. As I have all the books that are published so far!
Sookie + Bill = :)
Are you an Eric fan??
me, NO! ;)
Sookie & Eric with the bullet. LOL. wow! He's so crazy. I would have vomited. really.
I am so NOT over vampires, YET! Can't get enough!!
Eric -rents- out sookie for her telepathic ability to Stan.. so they can find a missing vampire. The fellowship where they end up, is very ANTI VAMPIRE and sorta CRAZY.
Lafayette turns up dead, from a Maenad, that has been hanging around the woods. Sookie is DETERMINED to find out who killed him. This book was action packed, and had it's laughs! :)








Get your Sookie book #2! You will
Fall in love with this series!

Sunday, March 27, 2011

IMM -Vlog-


 
IMM is a weekly meme created by the Story Siren.
It is where we show others what books we have got! & Hope to influence then to buy them TOO! :)
What did you get this week!? This is what I got!
Sorry for the hair.. it was being mischievous today ;)










RAK:
Firelight by Sophie Jordan (Goodreads) Thank you Angela @ Reading Angel
Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (Goodreads) Thank you Shannon @ Books Devoured
One Foot in the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (Goodreads) Thank you Shannon @ Books Devoured
The Scorch Trials [maze runner #2] by James Dashner (Goodreads) Thank you Shannon .P @ Stalkin The Books

Bought:
The Maze Runner by James Dashner (Goodreads)
Beastly by Alex Flinn (Goodreads)
The Dead-Tossed Waves [the forest of hands & teeth #2] by Carrie Ryan (Goodreads)

Review:
A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young (Goodreads) - Read this one already! -Amazing- [will post review closer to release date ;)]


                                          Me & My FAVE book this YEAR :)






Friday, March 25, 2011

Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop

This weeks Question is:

"If you could physically put yourself into a book or series…which one would it be and why?"

Oh my. What good questions lately! :)
This is a HARD question too!!! Because there are so many books, and series that I have read that I absoutly adore!! Ok, so I will do a book.. (the book is possibly going to be a series, but as of right now, its a book :) shhh, lol) Ok.. so the BOOK I would be in would be:
A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL by Suzanne Young
I just read that book, maybe a week ago. And I am so in love with it. I think about it all the time! It was AMAZING!! & The guy in the book, is OH SO DREAMY!! So, that's the BOOK I would place myself right in.. and I would have absoutly NO problem being in there ;)
Now:
The Series
(I will pick one that is out, that has more than one book ... :])
SO, this would be:
 Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris
Cannot resist this. I love this series, even though I am only on book 2. Well, 3 I just finished book 2 last night. BUT I love the show too.. THE books are even more amazing.. But you have ALL these mythical creatures, I just love the characters. And Sookie is OH, SO, Amazing :)

SO,
Where would you place your self?? & Y! Link me I am so interested in your answers! :)
Happy Friday!
Happy Reading!
:)





LOOK AT THIS CUTE LITTLE NIFTY THING I MADE IN PHOTOSHOP CS5!! ADORABLE I KNOW! JUST THOUGH I WOULD SHARE :)




Monday, March 21, 2011

Matched by Ally Condie Review

Information:
HARDBACK: 366 PAGES
PUBLISHER: DUTTON BOOKS
ISBN: 978-0-525-42364-5
PUBLISHED IN: 2010


From Good Reads:
Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander's face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham's face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it's a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she's destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can't stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society's infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she's known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

My Thoughts:
Cassia is a 17 year old girl, who lives in a town where the Society chooses when they should do. Who they are MATCHED to. What songs they listen to, poems they read, music ecsetra...
Cassia goes to her Matched Banquet, looking forward to this day for a long long time. She is going to find out who her mate is going to be. Who she will marry. Have children with. Make a family. The screen goes blank...
Then Xandar is there, her best friend. This hasn't happend much in the Society. Matching with someone who lives in the same place as you, let alone your best friend! How lucky is Cassia! Or, so she thought....

They are given Micro cards, Of there matched lives. What they have accomplished. Done. everything about them.Cassia and Xander already know everything there is to know about each other.. They are best friends.
But out of curosity, Cassia puts the card in. There he is Xander. Her Match. Her friend. Her future.
....
....
Then, he's gone.
A new face is on the screen. What is going on. I was like OMG, this isnt happening. It's Ky... wow
So the Society conacts Cassia, tells her it was a mistake.. big pooey, And give her the card with Xandar in it. Saying that Ky cannot be matched because he is an Abbreation. Someone who has basically done something bad. Well he DIDNT. his family did. Now, he's the one who has to carry the burrden.
Well, Cassia starts to talk to Ky. He teaches her things. And in the end she falls in love with him.
Very sad ending. Because I wanted to know what happens. But We will have to wait for Crossed!!!!!!!!
But the love that her and Ky had. Is something so... beautiful. How the books is written is perfect. And I cannot wait to read the 2nd book in the Matched series!!
I hope that the Society Falls. And that people can do as they PLEASE!!! :)
But one thing Cassia knows for sure is..
do not go gentle........






This is a really good Dystopia novel
Click here to get your copy from Amazon!

Friday, March 18, 2011

Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop

Blog Hop Friday

This week's Question is:

"Do you read only one book at a time, or do you have several going at once?"

Good Question:
Usually I read 1 book at a time.. But lately I have been reading 2. Or 3. LOL, But I really like just reading one! Because you can give your full attention to ONE book.
But either way, I love reading. And ALLOT of good books have came out. AND, I am now reading an ARC of: A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL. I am about 75 pages deep, and LOVE it so far :))
I just finished reading Matched!!! Omg, so good. And I am also reading Other Words For Love <3.
One is book form, and other Kindle.. so when I am out, and have a second I will whip my kindle out and read that book. At home I read the paper one.
Confusing?
Noooo
:)
Happy Reading !!






Thanks for Hopping by to my blog!
Take some time, Take a look around.
I hope you like what you see.
 
Loretta L. Davis
Blogger

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesday

Grab your current read. Write a couple lines, aviod spoilers.
Share what your reading!
Happy Reading!



"But if you were Matched," I say softly, "What do you think she'd be like?"
"You," he says, almost before I've finished. "You."


Matched by Ally Condie















Saturday, March 12, 2011

IMM -Vlog-








Review:
(all links go to amazon.com)
Girl Wonder by Alexa Martin
Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini
Die For Me by Amy Plum
Hearafter by Tera Hudson
Shine by Lauren Myracle

Bought:
(all links will go to amazon.com)
Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
Impossible by Nancy Werlin
The Locket by Stacey Jay
Clarity by Kim Harrington
Betrayals by Lili St. Crow (book 2)
The Flapper's Vixen by Jilliam Larkin
Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler (book 1)
Tracking The Tempest by Nicole Peeler (book 2)
Rumors [a luxe novel] by Anna Godbersen
A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole
Cracked Up To Be by Courtney Summers
Sean Griswold's Head by Lindsey Leavitt
A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford
Flip This Zombie by Jesse Petersen
Prey by Rachel Vincet
Shift by Rachel Vincet
Alpha by Rachel Vincet

Kindle Books Bought:
(all links will go to amazon.com)
Other Words For Love by Lorraine Zago Rosenthal
Hollowland by Amanda Hocking [99cent Kindle book 99CENTS]

Gift:
(from my dad)




Hollowland by Amanda Hocking Review


Paperback: 312 pages ( I READ KINDLE BOOK)

Published: October 6th 2010 by Fraggin Aardvark (first published 2010)
ISBN: 139781453860953.

From Goodreads:
Hollowland - the first book in the young adult dystopian series The Hollows...
"This is the way the world ends - not with a bang or a whimper, but with zombies breaking down the back door."
Nineteen-year-old Remy King is on a mission to get across the wasteland left of America, and nothing will stand in her way - not violent marauders, a spoiled rock star, or an army of flesh-eating zombies.

My Thoughts:
I really loved this book. I am really into zombies. They have always been faves of mine. I don't know why, but I love them :)
So, this book was good for me.
The author Amanda Hocking wrote this book well, it was easy to follow, and you characters you could connect with well.
The book started off with Remy in a government quarantine, that was once a High School. Remy lived in a room with 25 other people. Zombies were the reason for this.
as the book said:
Zombies weren't really "zombies" at least not the kind that rose from the dead and only wanted to eat brains. They were regular people who had been infected with the lyssavirus genotype 8. A mutation of the rabies virus, it only infected humans, and it turned them into something completely monstrous.
____
Remy leaves the compound, after a zombie attack. She leaves with Harlow, a 13 year old girl, who has allot of questions, and Sommer, who was bitten mearly moments after leaving the compound. Not knowing if she was infected or not, Remy had to leave her out in the desert. To die. Alone.
They are on a quest to find Remy's brother Max, who is 8. The government has taken him off somewhere, and she wants to find him. He's not sick. He's something much better.
Throughout the book they pick up along the way a Lion. Who Remy names Ripley.
They meet 2 other people Lazlo, and Blue in an abandoned house. And they join them along the way to another compound. They fight some zombies, meet some crazy people. kill some people. They are in the mitts of a zombie fight. and Remy was bitten.
They found a guy who said they can help them, they have to stay in a cell for 3 days to make sure that they are not infested with the virus before they can cross over into the compound. No one ever changes into a zombie. So they cross, they have a "home" they meet people. Then Remy find out her brother is inside the medical ward of the hospital. She has a plan with someone she met. and one of the people she was on a journey with. Then she sees Max. Hes being used as a "medical lab rat". Remy doest like this so she has a plan conjured up and breaks him out. But, only she stays behind. Because the same reason that her brother was kept in there, is a reason for her to stay also. To help the human race not go extinct.
The book was amazing to me. I enjoyed every page. And i cannot wait for book 2 to come out. Which I hope is soon.
This book was full of action. A little romance, and a heart breaking ending that keeps you wanting more..



About the author:
Amanda Hocking

Book Trailer








This is a good read!! Do you like Zombies?
Get your copy today!

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine and is a fun way to see what books other bloggers just can't wait to get their hands on!







Allot of these are 'repeats' but I can not wait to READ them!! Excitement!! What about you... What are you Waiting for??

 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs