Monday, February 28, 2011

Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg - REVIEW

HARDCOVER: 230 Pages
PUBLISHER: Point
RELEASED: January 1st, 2011
ISBN: 978-0-545-24077-2
AUTHOR: ELIZABETH EULBERG (Also author of The Lonely Hearts Club)




From Goodreads:
After winter break, the girls at the very prestigious Longbourn Academy become obsessed with the prom. Lizzie Bennet, who attends Longbourn on a scholarship, isn’t interested in designer dresses and expensive shoes, but her best friend, Jane, might be — especially now that Charles Bingley is back from a semester in London.
Lizzie is happy about her friend’s burgeoning romance but less than impressed by Charles’s friend, Will Darcy, who’s snobby and pretentious. Darcy doesn’t seem to like Lizzie either, but she assumes it’s because her family doesn’t have money. Clearly, Will Darcy is a pompous jerk — so why does Lizzie find herself drawn to him anyway?
Will Lizzie’s pride and Will’s prejudice keep them apart? Or are they a prom couple in the making? Whatever the result, Elizabeth Eulberg, author of The Lonely Hearts Club, has concocted a very funny, completely stylish delight for any season — prom or otherwise.


My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. I love the movie Pride & Prejudice. I never got into the book. Because It was hard for me to read it. So, this was like my 2nd chance to get into that book. In this time. Prom & Prejudice was amazing. I loved the characters. Lizzie was the outcast. She was a scholarship student at Longbourn. Which was not something that the girls at Longbourn took very well. She was hazed. Her life was hell. I felt for her. And I found myself wanting to punch those girls in the face. The things that they did were horrible. But, no matter what she took it. & in the end, Lizzie prevailed.
Then there was WICK... at first I liked Wick. Then he had to turn into a horrible person. The things that he did were not ok. Not at all. And in the end, I am glad what happened to him, happened!
Then you have Darcy. Darcy, Darcy, Darcy. Where can I begin with Darcy? I didn't like him, at all. Then through out the book, my feelings started to change. And I was hoping that Lizzie would lighten up on him. It seemed to me like he was trying.. and he was. But it seemed to Lizzie that he was mocking her. Mocking her status. Her money, that she didn't have. Her scholarship.
After everything with Wick was told to her from Darcy, things started to get better. She understood that he wasn't being snobby. a jerk. He was really trying, because he liked her.
In the end, Lizzie got what she deserved. And I thought that was awesome. I am so happy with the ending.
This book was a quick read. Or more it was that I couldn't put it down.
Cute read.


More from the Author Elizabeth Eulberg



Have you read the classical Pride & Prejudice?
I wasn't able to follow the writing. 
This is a modern day version!!
YOU WILL LOVE IT. Buy your copy today!!



Sunday, February 27, 2011

IMM -vlog-

IMM is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.
It's where us bloggers can get together and show off what new reads we got the week,
& hopefully influence someone else to purchase them.



~This week I got allot of books :)! Which that always makes me happy!
So, here is my weeks IMM.






 


 

Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think?
What did you get this week?


Friday, February 25, 2011

Blog Hop FRIDAY

Book Blogger Hop

This weeks Question is:

"Do you ever wish you would have named your blog something different?"

NO! I love my blog name!! I am happy to say I thought of it, stuck with it, and I LOVE IT..
BETWEEN THE PAGES!
Tell your blogging friends about me! :)

Happy Friday ALL!
Happy Reading



Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.
Grab the book you are currently reading and randomly post a couple sentences.

My Teaser:

Willow shuts her eyes, drinking in the quite. Her breath deepens with each dip of the razor. Silence reigns, not like when she tripped, but perfect and pure.
You couldn't really say that something that hurts so badly feels good exactly.
It's more that's it just feels right.
And something that feels so right just couldn't be bad.
It has to be good.
It is good.
Better than good.
Better than anything with an guy ever.



I am reading Willow by Julia Hoban
 
 
 
 
 
What are you reading!?
Happy Reading
Happy Tuesday
 

~Delirium Review~

Delirium by Lauren Oliver REVIEW:

Hardback: 441 PAGES
Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN: 978-0-06-172682-8
Released: February 1, 2011
Bought for myself.

From Goodreads:
Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love -- the deliria -- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.



My Thoughts:
This book was absolutely amazing. I was so happy with this book, the characters, every word, every page. I LOVED IT! I cannot wait until book 2. And I am serious. I am wanting it now! There was such a cliff hanger.. I mean u assume Alex died... BUT, it didn't actually say that so I AM LIKE OMG, there is still hope!!


But ok...


So you have Lena a 17 year old girl who lives in this world. A world where LOVE is the biggest problem. A disease. Not allowed. BANNED. They have a "cure" for this disease. Where they basically cut out 1/2 your brain. So that you basically wont feel any emotion at all. Your a robot. Nothing but a person who just lives life everyday basically doing the same ol same ol. You don't feel love, hate, sadness, anything. (that's what I AM getting out of this.. because how can you feel anything, all those feelings go with LOVE). The deliria is like the biggest crime to have. You will have an early procedure if you have it. Which is not recommended, because it can cause allot of problems. But even after the procedure some people just are NEVER the same.
I loved Lena. I loved Alex. I loved Lena & Alex together. I don't want to give away to much information. Because I think that it's important for you to go get this book if you don't already have it. Go to your shelf if you do. And read it, now! Because you will love it. OR at least I hope that you will. This is BY FAR my fave book so far in 2011! & I have the feeling it will stay in my top spot.
Have you read this book yet? What are your feelings on the book? I love how it has the little qoutes, or stories at the start of each chapter. And again.. I loved the BOOK!!



Where you can find out more about Lauren Oliver:
(Author of Before I Fall & Delirium)


This dystopia novel is on my top list! I loved it!
Are you ready to read this book? Click to get your copy today!

Sunday, February 20, 2011

In My Mailbox (IMM)

IMM is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.
It's where us bloggers can get together and show off what new reads we got the week,
& hopefully influence someone else to purchase them.

This week I got:
The Vampires Promise by Caroline B. Cooney



FROM GOODREADS:


From master of suspense Caroline B. Cooney, three spine-tingling vampire novels in one juicy volume.

A vampire lives in the tower of the creepy old house in town--a vampire who makes promises and grants wishes. Few know he exists. When Althea, Devnee, and Lacey meet the vampire, he offers them the things they want most--popularity, beauty, freedom.
But his bargains come for a price.
How much are the girls willing to pay? How many lives will they destroy? And is there any way out of a vampire's promise?






 
 
 
 
A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks
 
FROM GOODREADS:
 
There was a time when the world was sweeter....when the women in Beaufort, North Carolina, wore dresses, and the men donned hats.... Every April, when the wind smells of both the sea and lilacs, Landon Carter remembers 1958, his last year at Beaufort High. Landon had dated a girl or two, and even once sworn that he'd been in love. Certainly the last person he thought he'd fall for was Jamie, the shy, almost ethereal daughter of the town's Baptist minister....Jamie, who was destined to show him the depths of the human heart-and the joy and pain of living. The inspiration for this novel came from Nicholas Sparks's sister: her life and her courage. From the internationally bestselling author Nicholas Sparks, comes his most moving story yet....





 
 
  That's all I got this week! What about you?
 
 

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine and is a fun way to see what books other bloggers just can't wait to get their hands on!


I am so excited to read this. If you know me, you know I AM A HUGE sex & the city fan (of the show that is) the book Sex & The City on the other hand fell flat on it's face for me. So, I am so glad that the author decided to go back, and fix that little miss hap, and in the process, give us carrie before new york! then give us carrie IN NY!! :) I am excited :)

Here is my Review for The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell
 

Sunday, February 13, 2011

In My Mailbox (IMM)



IMM is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.
It's where us bloggers can get together and show off what new reads we got the week,
& hopefully influence someone else to purchase them.

This week I only got one book! But, this one book I have been wanting to read FOR A WHILE! So, that's why I am reading it now. And I AM ALMOST finished! I am Loving it too!!

I got:
Delirium by Lauren Oliver







READY TO GET YOUR COPY?
ITS OH, SO GOOD!!!















Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Teaser Tuesday


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.
Grab the book you are currently reading and randomly post a couple sentences.

My Teaser:


That night, I have the dream again. I'm at the edge of a big white cliff made out of sand. The ground is unsteady. The ledge I'm standing on is starting to crumble, to flake away and tumble down, down, down--- thousands of feet below me, into the ocean, which is whipping and snapping so hard it looks like one gigantic, frothing stew, all whitecaps and surging water. I'm terrified I'm going to fall, but for some reason I can't move or back away from the cliff, even as I feel the ground sifting away from underneath me.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, February 7, 2011

It's Monday, What are you Reading?


OK this week I have completed 2 books...

Perfect by Sarah Shepard (review posted)
Unbelievable by Sarah Shepard (review coming soon)

And I am now reading..

DELIRIUM by Lauren Oliver

(I know I was on a mission. To finish all the Pretty Little Liars books, before I moved on to a new book, BUT I knew this book was coming out in FEB. But it really slipped my mind with my massive stack of new ones I just bought, and my homework that needs to be done. But when I went out the other day, I did a DOUBLE take when I seen this. I was at Walmart. And it was in my buggy ol' so fast. Then when I got home I placed it very beautifully on my new shelf. Then I finished Unbelievable. Went up to mark it, and place it back on my shelf.. and I kept staring at it.. it was literally saying "read me". Well, that's my story & I'm sticking to it. Now, I'm 100 pages in and Love it so far.)

So, what are you reading this week?

This is what I HOPE to read this week
1. Finish DELIRIUM
2. Wicked (#5 in Pretty Little Liars)
3.Killer (#6 in Pretty Little Liars)

That's my goal.. 3 this week. Hopefully more.. we're supposed to get some snow, so maybe More ;)

Well, I hope that everyone has a good week. I know I will try. Have a couple tests this week. But it's not much longer until April. When Clinical's start. Then June I GRADUATE! ;) Whew, such hard work.

Happy Monday
&
Happy Reading



Sunday, February 6, 2011

Perfect by Sara Shepard - Review

Author: Sara Shepard
Paperback: 298 pages
Publisher: Harper Teen (2007)
ISBN: 978-0-06-088738-4
Bought!
Rating: 4.5 Stars



Back of the book:

In Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four perfect-looking girls aren't nearly as perfect as they seem.
Aria can't resist her forbidden ex. Hanna is on the verge of losing her BFF. Emily is freaking out over a simple kiss. And Spencer can't keep her hands off anything that belongs to her sister.
Lucky me. I know these pretty little liars better than they know themselves. But it's hard keeping all of their secrets to myself. They better do as I say....or else!

My Thoughts On the Book:
Rating 4.5 Stars-
I love these books..
The characters I like, & I have connected with them all. Which is something I think is awesome. This person A, is slowly but surely ruining these girls lives... but why? Why is she doing this? And is A Spencer?? Because Spencer has turned out to be a little... um, crazy! Yes that's the word. A little loco! And Hanna, omg, I hope that she's ok!! SOMEONE has ran over this girl.. and as the text said.. It was because she KNEW TO MUCH... wow.
Now, I am reading Unbelievable. The 4th book, because it has become to the point I cannot read anything else because I really want to know what is going on. And why. And who this crazy person is.
Well, I hope to find out soon.

What happens next...

Ooooops! So I made one teensy slip-up.
It happens.
I've got a busy life, things to do, people to torture. Like four pretty Little ex-best friends.
Yeah, yeah. I know you're upset about Hanna. Wah. Get over it. I'm already planning my outfit for her funeral: appropriately somber with a touch of flash. Don't you think little Hannikins would want us to mourn in style? But maybe I'm getting ahead of myself- Hanna does have a history of rising from the dead....
Meanwhile, Aria just can't catch a break. Her soul mate is in jail. Sean hates her. She's homeless. What's a girl to do? Looks like it's time for a little makeover-- new house, new friends, maybe even a new name. But watch out Aria-- even if your new BFF is blind to your real identity, I've got 20/20 vision. And you know I can't keep a secret.
I wonder how CONVICT is going to look next to CLASS VP on Spencer's college apps? Seems like Little Miss Golden Orchard is about to trade her Kelly-green Lacoste polo for a scratchy orange jump suite.Then again, Spence wouldn't have that perfect GPS is she didn't have a few tricks up her sleeve- like, say, finding someone ELSE to blame for Ali's murder. But know what? She just might be right.
What about Emily, off to live with her wholesome, Cheerios-eating cousins in Iowa? Hey, maybe it won't be so bad- she'll be a girl-loving needle in a big old sexually repressed haystack, far, far away from my prying eyes. As if! She's gonna go haywire when she realizes she can't hide from me. Yee-haw!
And finally, with Hanna out of commission, it's time for me to take on a new victim. Who, you ask? Well nosy pants, I'm still deciding. It's not like it'll be hard: everyone in this town had something to hide. In face, there's somethings even juicier than the identity of moi bubbling beneath Rosewood's glistening surface. Something so shocking, you wouldn't believe me if I told you. So I won't even bother. Ha. You know, I kind of love being me..
Buckle up, girlie's. Nothing is as it seems.
Muah!
-A


This is an awesome series no matter what your age.
Ready for your copy?

Saturday, February 5, 2011

In My Mailbox -VLOG-

This is my very 1st VLOG! Woo. So forgive me because I WAS nervous.. I couldn't think of what to say. But, I made it through it.


And on the book "A Blue so Dark"....that is what I meant... ;)




Friday, February 4, 2011

Blog Hop Friday :)

Book Blogger Hop

"What are you reading now and why are you reading it?"


I am reading UNBELIEVABLE by Sara Shepard.
I love this series and it is LIKE MY MISSION now to find out
who -A is.
SO, I am reading like crazy.
I have all the books so I just keep reading and reading, In between my MASSIVE
AMOUNT of homework...
*help*
;-)

WHAT ARE YOU READING?


 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs