Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.
Grab the book you are currently reading and randomly post a couple sentences.

My Teaser:
I remember lying in the snow, a small red spot of warm going cold, surrounded by wolves. They were licking me, biting me, worrying at my body, pressing in. Their huddled bodies blocked what little heat the sun offered. Ice glistened on their riffs and their breath made opaque shaped that hung in the air around us.



Page 1 of Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Fall For Anything by Courtney Summers: Review

Fall For Anything by Courtney Summers
Paperback, 230 pages
Published December 21st 2010 by St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 0312656734 (ISBN13: 9780312656737)
Rating: 5of 5 stars
Bought: Myself

From GoodReads:
From the author of Cracked Up to Be and Some Girls Are comes a gripping story about one girl’s search for clues into the mysterious death of her father.
When Eddie Reeves’s father commits suicide her life is consumed by the nagging question of why? Why when he was a legendary photographer and a brilliant teacher? Why when he seemed to find inspiration in everything he saw? And, most important, why when he had a daughter who loved him more than anyone else in the world? When she meets Culler Evans, a former student of her father’s and a photographer himself, an instant and dangerous attraction begins. Culler seems to know more about her father than she does and could possibly hold the key to the mystery surrounding his death. But Eddie’s vulnerability has weakened her and Culler Evans is getting too close. Her need for the truth keeps her hanging on...but are some questions better left unanswered?




My Thoughts:
Wow! If that's all I could put to sum this book up in one word that would be it... wow.
Simply amazing. This book was sad, the topic was really hard to read about. BUT it pulled you in with the writing of the book. It was compelling. Now this is a book, that has impacted my life. It's very crazy the emotions I felt for Eddie. I mean her only question, the whole book was WHY? & just when you think she's going to get her answers, your have that __________________________ (put whatever you want here... my word isn't nice) Culler, who just RUINED everything for her. Her mission. Her heart. Just why, HOW could someone do that? I don't get it. I really likes Milo, and I hope... that in the book "after life" they are together.. (yes, the after life to me is the thoughts you have after you read a book and you don't know what to think, you want to think the best outcome for the characters ;]) I know, I'm silly :)!
But, I felt really connected to Eddie. I felt so much pain & compassion for her. Just what she went through. And if that were me, I don't know. It's hard to kind of put yourself in situations like that. Because that would be something that I would never want to deal with... ever.
Overall this book was.......... AMAZING! Yes it's a tuff topic. Yes, it's hard to READ. But the writing, and the Characters PULL you in, so deep.. It's very hard to put the book down. Because you want for everything to work out, you want her to find what it is that she's looking for. You want all that and more when you are reading this book.
I hope that you read it. Because it's something you will walk away from reading, and think "WOW"


Where you can find out more about the author!
Courtney Summers





This book has an amazing 
story behind the the hard topic!
You should read this one! 
Get your copy today!


Saturday, January 15, 2011

Flawless by Sara Shepard Review

Paperback: 330 Pages
ISBN: 978-0-06-088735-3
Published:March 15, 2007 (2008 paperback edition) Harper Teen
Bought Myself
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Stars

From Goodreads:
Spencer stole her sister's boyfriend. Aria is brokenhearted over her English teacher. Emily likes her new friend Maya . . . as much more than a friend. Hanna's obsession with looking flawless is making her sick. And their most horrible secret yet is so scandalous that the truth would ruin them forever.

And why shouldn't I tell? They deserve to lose it all. With every crumpled note, wicked IM, and vindictive text message I send, I'll be taking these pretty little liars down. Trust me, I've got enough dirt to bury them alive.


My Thoughts:
May contain some spoilers!!

This was good. I thought we was getting somewhere with this one, in finding out who -A, was!! BUT NO.. I thought it was toby. I was sure it was def toby when him and Emily was in the car... with the things he was saying.. NO it wasn't.. and why? Because Toby died. And left a note. Toby had a secret too. One only Spencer and Ali knew. And then Toby thought everyone knew.. But they didn't until AFTER he was dead. He commited sueacide. wow. Then there is another text.. -A, whoever this is, knows EVERYTHING about these girls. I can't believe about Aria's mom... wow. Her dad totally sucks. And Hanna, poor hanna. Really wow. Then Spencer falls in LOVE with Wren... WHO was her sisters boyfriend. Who is now apparently back with her sister Melissa. That's just weird..
All i want to know is... WHO IS A?

NOW FROM THE BOOK ON:
What Happen's Next...

Did you really believe I was Toby? Puh-lease. I would have killed myself too. I mean, honestly--ew. He totally had it coming. Karma's a bitch, and so am I-- just ask Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer....
Let's start with Aria. The girl's so busy getting busy, I can barely keep track of her boyfriends. First Erza, now Sean, and I have more than a sneaking suspicion she's not done with Ezra yet. That's the irritating thing about arty girls; they can never make up their minds. I guess I'll just have to help Aria out and make the choice for her. I'm sure she's just going to looooooove that.
Then there's Emily. Sweet, clueless Emily. Alison and Toby would probably say that kissing Emily is pretty much the kiss of death. But....oops....they can't say anything--they're dead. I guess Em should watch where she puts her poisonous little lips. She's two for two, and superstitous Emily knows better than anyone that bad things always happen in threes.
Lonely wittle Hannakins. Sean dumped her. Her dad dumped her. And her mom probably would if she could. Being unpopular kind of makes you want to throw up, huh? Or is that just Hanna? At least she has her new BFF Mona, to hold her hair back. Wait a second, No she doesn't. I wish I could tell you it couldn't get any worse for Hanna, but no one likes a liar. Least of all me.
Finally, there's Spencer: Sure, the little overachiever knows her SAT words by heart, but her memories kinda fuzzy when it comes to the night Alison disappeared. Don't worry, she's about to get a refresher course courtesy of yours truly. Look at me--so eleemosynary! That's SAT for "nice"!
If you were as smart as me, you'd probably  have figured out who I am by now. OMG, not being a geinus mst be so annoying. And I can't help you with that one--I've got my hands full with four pretty little liars at the moment. But since you've been so patient, I'll give you a hint: Spencer may have a 4.0, but I've got As to my name, too.
Kisses!
-A





This is a great read!
Ready for your copy?

Friday, January 14, 2011

Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop

Blog Hop Friday is hosted by Crazy-For-Books

This weeks Question: "Why do you read the genre that you do? What draws you to it?"

I love reading all different genre's! But, my absoulte favorate is YA! All YA, paranormal YA! Everything about it is great. The characters, The writing.. WELL, in some books, I have found some -duds- but, for the most part i just love them. You connect really well with the characters. They hit that inner -teenager- in you. LOL.

What about YOU?!

Happy Reading Fellow Bloggers


Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Teaser Tuesday


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.
Grab the book you are currently reading and randomly post a couple sentences.


My Teaser:

They fell into an edgy silence. They'd been on their fair share of Ali pranks, but those had been innocent-- sneaking into the saltwater hot tub at Fermata spa or putting droplets of black dye into Spencer's sister's shampoo. But something about this made them all just a little....uneasy.
BOOM!

I am reading FLAWLESS ( #2 Pretty Little Liars) by Sara Shepard








Sunday, January 9, 2011

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard Review


Author: Sara Shepard
Title: Pretty Little Liars (book 1)
Pages: Paperback, 286 pages
ISBN: 978-0-06-088732-2
Publisher: HarperTeen
I bought this book, for myself :)
Rating- **4.5 out of 5 stars**








From Goodreads:
Everyone has something to hide—especially high school juniors Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna.
Spencer covets her sister's boyfriend. Aria's fantasizing about her English teacher. Emily's crushing on the new girl at school. Hanna uses some ugly tricks to stay beautiful.
But they've all kept an even bigger secret since their friend Alison vanished.
How do I know? Because I know everything about the bad girls they were, the naughty girls they are, and all the dirty secrets they've kept. And guess what? I'm telling.
-A

My thoughts:
I liked this book. I really liked it. The girls were funny, and did some crazy things. But it was interesting to see what happened to Ali.. (Alison) WHAT HAPPENED? They found her body.... but how in the crap did it get there? Well, That's why I am now reading flawless.... hopefully I FIND out.. :)
You have these 4 teenage girls. Spencer, Aria, Emily & Hanna. They have secrets. They have allot of secrets with Ali, who has now been missing for 3 years... until they start getting these texts, and emails by -A! Who is A? Is it Alison? Or someone else? Well, whoever it is knows EVERYTHING! All there secrets. AND SHE'S GOING TO TELL! WHO is this? & why is she doing this to these girls? No, there not innocent, not with "The Jenna Thing", and there own little dirty secrets that they have kept. But, come on. Who ever is doing this is MAD. lol, and they want the world to know... there pretty little secrets!

(From the book)

What Happens Next.......

I bet you thought I was Allison, didn't you? Well, sorry, but I'm not. Duh. She's Dead.
Nope, I'm very much alive....and I'm very very close. And for a certain clique of girls, the fun has just started. Why? 'Cause I say so.
Naughty Behavior deserves punishment, after all. And Rosewood's finest deserve to know that Aria's been doing some extra credit smooching with her English teacher, don't they? Not to mention the nasty family secret she's been hiding for years. The girls a train wreck.
While I'm at it, I really ought to tip Emily's parents off to the reason she's been acting funny lately. Hey there Mr. & Mrs. Fields nice weather, hu? And by the way your daughter likes kissing girls.
Then there's Hanna. Poor Hanna. Just free-falling into dorkdom. She may try to claw her way back to the top, but don't worry-- I'll be there waiting to knock her rapidly growing behind back into a pair of stonewashed mom jeans.
Oh my god, I almost forgot about Spencer. She's a total mess! After all, her family thinks she's a completely worthless skank. That's gotta suck. And just between us, it's about to get much worse. Spencer's keeping a deep, dark secret that could pretty much ruin all four of their lives. But who would tell such an awful secret?
Oh, I don't know. Take a wild guess.
Bingo.
Life's so much fun when you know everything.
Just how do I know so much? Your probably dying to know, aren't you? Well, relax. All due in time.
Believe me, I'd love to tell you. But what's the fun in that?
I'll be watching!
-A



Don't miss out on this book.
Get your copy today!

Giveaways

None at this time, check back later though.

Saturday, January 8, 2011

Blog Hop

Book Blogger Hop



Q: "What book influenced or changed your life? How did it influence/change you?"

A: There are many books that I love, many books that have made me think.. about life or love.. or family & friends.. But there is only ONE book that has changed my LIFE.. since the 1st day I picked it up. And that was the Bible! Hands down.

:)

In My Mailbox





IMM is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.
It's where us bloggers can get together and show off what new reads we got the week,
& hopefully influence someone else to purchase them.

OK, So I am finally Back in action. It has been a hectic week after Christmas break. With the kid back in school, as well as myself.. and then end of the semester coming.. oh my! :) But all is well, and I hope that everyone had a very Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year. I know I did! :)
I got books, who couldn't be happy about that? I still have some REVIEWS I need to type up. The reading part is Easy, It's the sitting down and typing part that was hard this week.. But, I am glad that things are finally slowing down!!
So, how is everyone? And what are you reading? What did you get this week?

So, this is what I got:

BOUGHT/OR A GIFT :)

I read Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard, and went to the store to get the rest.
So I got:
Flawless by Sara Shepard
Perfect by Sara Shepard
Unbelievable by Sara Shepard
Wicked by Sara Shepard
Killer by Sara Shepard
Heartless by Sara Shepard
(bought all pretty little liar books)
I have one more of those to get.. Wanted.. But, I do believe that will be for my birthday :) Which is Jan 30th :)

Crank by Ellen Hopkins -bought
Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (Is this a good one?) -gift
The Morganville Vampires Vol. 1 by Rachel Caine - bought
Dexter by Design by Jeff Lindasy -gift


I also got this pretty pink nifty book light.. So, I can read while my hubby sleeps, and I wont disturb him. :)


Then, I found this.. isn't it adorable..
What book is this from?? You better know! :-P


Then, my sweet sweet hubby bought me this barbie. We're on the hunt for the other 4! I want them ALL :)

REVIEW:
none

TRADED:
none

So, What did you get?
Happy Reading


Friday, January 7, 2011

Angelfire: Review

Angelfire Review:

Hardcover, 464 pages (I read a E-book, from Netgalley)


Expected publication: February 15th 2011 by HarperCollins / Katherine Tegen Books

ISBN: 0062002325
(ISBN13: 9780062002327)













From GoodReads:


When seventeen-year-old Ellie starts seeing reapers - monstrous creatures who devour humans and send their souls to Hell - she finds herself on the front lines of a supernatural war between archangels and the Fallen and faced with the possible destruction of her soul.

A mysterious boy named Will reveals she is the reincarnation of an ancient warrior, the only one capable of wielding swords of angelfire to fight the reapers, and he is an immortal sworn to protect her in battle. Now that Ellie's powers have been awakened, a powerful reaper called Bastian has come forward to challenge her. He has employed a fierce assassin to eliminate her - an assassin who has already killed her once.
While balancing her dwindling social life and reaper-hunting duties, she and Will discover Bastian is searching for a dormant creature believed to be a true soul reaper. Bastian plans to use this weapon to ignite the End of Days and to destroy Ellie's soul, ending her rebirth cycle forever. Now, she must face an army of Bastian's most frightening reapers, prevent the soul reaper from consuming her soul, and uncover the secrets of her past lives - including truths that may be too frightening to remember.

My thoughts:
This book was good. I liked it. You have a girl, Ellie, living her everyday life, a high school student, having fun. Hanging out with friends. NIGHTMARES! Why is she having these nightmares? What are they about? Why do they feel so.. REAL?
Then one day, she sees a boy she's never seen on school campus before. Who is he? Did she imagine him standing there, because when she turns back, he's gone! And why in the world does she feel so Close to him?? Then she runs into him again. He seems.. strange.. Weird really. Will, he follows he everywhere it seems. Then Ellie goes for a walk,, and some really CRAZY things happen!
Through all the CRAZINESS, she finds out who she, ELLIE is..
What she is..
And what she has to do, and what she has already done. For she is much older than her age.... MUCH older.
Well, this story was a mix of mystery. action. love.
This was a winner for me.
Hope that you read it & love it, as I did.


Ready for some real kick butt action?
Get your copy of Angelfire today!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs