Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page.
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
(make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.


My Teaser:

"A buddy of mine is doing community service at the mourge for a DUI, and he heard it was messy. Like he was in pieces, man. I don't think a bar fight would have gotten that far unless the chick was smoking hot. I'd tear a guy up if he got between me and Angelina Jolie"
I am reading Angelfire, and e-ARC from Netgalley! Thank you netgalley! :) 
Book Information from Goodreads.
 
Hardcover, 464 pages (I read an e-arc from netgalley)

Published: February 15th 2011 by HarperCollins / Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN 0062002325 (ISBN13: 9780062002327)
Primary Language: English
Original Title: Angelfire
Series: Angelfire #1
Setting: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan (United States)





READY TO PREORDER YOUR COPY?

Sunday, November 28, 2010

DEMON'S FALL REVIEW

Demon's Fall by Karalynn Lee


Kindle Edition (Net Galley)

Published October 25th 2010 by Carina Press
(first published September 15th 2010)


RATING: 2 of 5 Stars!





Review from Good Reads:

When Kenan, an incubus, finds a caged angel for sale in the Hellsgate marketplace, he sees her as a challenge. Certain that his skills in seduction will work as well on a heavenly creature as they do on mortal women, he buys Jahel, intent on having her soul as a novelty in his collection.


Knowing he must gain Jahel's trust if she is to come to his bed willingly, Kenan treats her more as his guest than as his slave. When she reveals what brought her to the mouth of Hell in the first place-retrieving the soul of a young girl she was guarding-he even offers to help her complete her mission.


Though he has promised Jahel freedom, Kenan soon realizes she has captured his heart instead. And as their passion for one another grows, they find themselves caught in a struggle between Heaven and Hell, one that will lead them to the very edge of the apocalypse.

My thoughts:

This book was 'short' and I mean like maybe less than 100 pages..So in that case you had no time to bond with the characters!! AT ALL. It was like the author was letting you in, then bam you was on to another topic, or something else was going on you had no time. And that is one thing that makes me really like a book.. the relationship we as readers build with the characters in a book. There was NO connection from Jahel and Kenan UNTIL the very end.. maybe there will be book 2!? Idk, it just didn't wow me. I feel it was going somewhere though.

Rating: 2 of 5 stars.






Wednesday, November 24, 2010

HAPPY THANKSGIVING BLOGGERS

I want to take a minute from cooking... whew.. to say HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!
I am so thankful for so much!! 1st and for most, GOD! & my wonderful loving, caring Family & Friends!
I hope that you all have a great thanksgiving.
EAT allot :))






Friday, November 19, 2010

Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop

Blog hop Friday is hosted by Crazy For Books!
A little about the blog hop:
In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!  This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read!

This weeks question is:

"Since Thanksgiving is coming up next week, let's use this week's Hop to share what we are most thankful for and what our holiday traditions are!"
I AM MOST THANKFUL FOR: GOD, MY KIDS, HUSBAND, FAMILY & FRIENDS. & MY WONDERFUL BLOG & TWITTER FOLLOWERS!!!!! ;) 
Well we make dinner, and watch football! and just enjoy our family!!!!!!! :)
I make crafts w/ my babies to! They love the hand turkeys ;)
While your here at my blog, take a look around! I hope you like~
Check out my ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS give-away here
AND my 100 + followers give-away here
 

This week I reviewed:
Unearthly by Cynthia Hand : Review
Gracling by Kristin Cashore : Review
Pegasus by Robin McKinley : Review

HOW was your week?!?!!?

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!


ALSO.. THIS WEEK WAS "GRANDPARENTS" WEEK! :) HERE IS LANDON, AND MY MOM AT HIS SCHOOL FOR GRANDPARENTS DAY BREAKFAST! HOW SWEET <3!!



Monday, November 15, 2010

IMM

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren
This week I got:

For Review: (from NetGalley)
_______________
My Soul To Steal
Bounded By Blood
The Iron Queen
The Vespertine


Bought:
______________
Pegasus (read, read REVIEW, here)
Wuthering Heights By Emily Bronte
Fairy Tales Every Child Should Know By Hamilton Wright Mabie

What did You Get this week?




Thursday, November 11, 2010

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand Review

Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 978-0-06-199616-0
I GOT THIS BOOK FROM NETGALLEY IN RETURN FOR A HONEST REVIEW!!!
Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Downloaded on Kindle


Hardcover, 448 pages

Published January 4th 2011 by HarperTeen



From Goodreads:
In the beginning, there's a boy standing in the trees. . .

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she's part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what it is, though, isn't easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place--and out of place, at the same time. Because there's another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara's less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she'd have to make--between honesty and deciet, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?


My thoughts!
This book was good! THERE HAS TO BE A SEQUEL! I want to know what happens with Clara and Tucker!! And Clara and Christian! AND Clara's MOM!!!! And what exactly was Jeffery doing?!?!
I want to know all these answers now!
Here you have Clara.. a regular girl? No, Clara is 1/4 Angel. She is moving w/her family to.. To fulfill her 'purpose'... and what is her purpose? TO save Christian... The 1st day at school. She sees the truck that she sees in her visions parked there. Then when she sees him...she faints! She thinks that she LOVES him.. until she starts hanging out with TUCKER.. who is her friend Wendy's brother.. Then she finds herself caught in the sort of love triangle! Woo... this book is awesome.. This book drew me in the moment I started reading it. I loved it, and I will read many more from the author. Very good writing.
The sadness you felt for Clara.. who just wanted to understand her "purpose"! Who wanted to understand why these things were happening to her. And what it was that she needed to do! All i can say it get it. buy it. You have to read this book it was so good! I am on TEAM Clara and tucker though ;)!


_______________________________

I want to start with a sincere apology to my fellow bloggers.

. I haven't been as active lately. I HAVE been reading. Just haven't been ON the computer! I have been so busy w/ my kids & family and school.. and some personal things that I haven't even been able to "schedule" things to be posted! I am truly sorry! I am sitting down right NOW writing up posts.. and scheduling things to happen on here! Thank you for your support. and for Following me on here! I appreciate it allot! I love all my followers! And now to go back and get caught up on your posts!! Happy Reading guys! ;)


READY TO PREORDER YOUR COPY?

Monday, November 1, 2010

In My Mailbox



In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren
I got some things in my mailbox for my kindle this week.

OK, so here we go:

From Netgally for Review I got:

Chrissie's Shell By Brooke Keith ( a kid book ) already read a reviewed. Click HERE to read the review.
Kiss Me Deadly by Michele Hauf
Adios, Nirvana by Conrad Wesselhoeft
Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton
The Lying Game by Sara Shepard (which I am reading NOW)
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Once in a Full Moon by Ellen Schreiber
Unearthly by Cynthia Hand (which i have read and it's wonderful, review to come soon)

That's what I got... what about you?!


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs