Friday, October 29, 2010

Chrissie's Shell by Brooke Keith Review

Title: Chrissie's Shell
Publisher: Warner Press
Imprint: Warner Press Kids
Pub Date: 07/01/2010
ISBN: 9781593173982
Author: Brooke Keith

Category: FICTION - JUVENILE: Concepts & Readers: Readers: Beginner
Contributors: Illustrated by: Mary Bausman

(RECEIVED FROM NET GALLEY in EXCHANGE FOR HONEST REVIEW)







I GIVE THIS BOOK 5 Roses!


Product Description:
Chrissie is a little turtle with a big problem: she believes her shell is empty. She spends her days comparing herself with other animals in the forest and imagining what it would be like to be them, only to end up disappointed again and again when she finds she cannot transform herself into someone new.

At last, when Chrissie is ready to give up all hope, she has a conversation with God. She begs him to make her into a creature like the wonderful animals she has seen, but God has something better in mind. Will Chrissie finally see herself as God sees her? Will she realize that her shell is not empty after all and that God loves her just the way she is?

My thoughts:
This book was the cutest book ever! I read it, then I read it to my 2 kids. (6 & 2 ages) My son LOVED it. My daughter was running around! ;) This books gives such a WONDERFUL message to little ones! (and us adults as well)! BE your self.. Never want to be anything or anyone else... Because we are who god MADE us to be! *(Psa 139:14 NIV) I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.* This was on the last page.. And I loved that she added a verse, like this, and I was so glad that she Incorporated GOD into her book! Here you have Chrissie who wants so badly to be FASTER, STRONGER, and BETTER than she thinks that she is herself. She wants to be like all these animals, and she tries, and daydreams about being them. Until she says.... "God, if you are up there, could you make me into a real someone?" awwwwww; I ABOUT cried! Then God answers her..and continues to tell her HOW special she is... and WHY he made her the way he did!!!! I love it. My son loved it. I refer this book to you if you have kids! It has a great message. & your kids will LOVE it... I know mine did... (and I did as well)









Blog Hop Fridayyyyyyyy

Book Blogger HopThe Blog Hop is hosted by Jenn at Crazy-For-Books. Each week Jenn also picks a question to be asked, and answered (it's always nice to have more to say in the comments!) and this week she asks:

"What is the one bookish thing you would love to have, no matter the cost?"

WELL, I JUST BOUGHT A KINDLE. AND THAT WAS THE ONE BOOKISH THING THAT I HAVE BEEN WANTING FOR A VERY VERY LONG TIME! I AM SO PLEASED WITH IT. AND LOVE IT SO MUCH, I'VE ADDED A GOOD COLLECTION OF BOOKS ON IT SO FAR FOR ME TO READ. SO I AM EXCITED!
I GUESS I COULD SAY NOW, I WAS A WALL TO WALL BOOK SHELF!!!!!!!!!!  ;) THAT WOULD BE SO NICE.... BUT THEN I WOULD JUST KEEP BUYING BOOKS TO FILL IT UP.... AND I AM SOOOO ON A BOOK BUYING BAN! ;-o

LEAVE ME A COMMENT W/ YOUR ANSWER. I HOPE U STAY AND TAKE A LOOK AROUND MY BLOG. I HOPE YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE ;)



Saturday, October 23, 2010

Willow Smith - Whip My Hair

OK! She is 9! And I have this song as a ring tone! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS SONG!

Blog Hop

Book Blogger Hop
the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!  This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books! 

This weeks Questions is....

"Where is your favorite place to read? Curled up on the sofa, in bed, in the garden?"


Answer:
I read WHEREVER I can. Literally! I have 2 kids, WHO are loud! and Crazy ;-)
So, I read in the bathroom, kitchen, living room, bedroom, doctor's office, while driving....(just kidding, seeing if your paying attention ;-] ), in the bed. While cooking, (no wonder I burn allot of things... ha ha), BUT my favorite place to read is in my bed... all cozy and warm, the kids are asleep.. husbands at work, and it's just "peaceful!" What about you!?
 

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday

Waiting On Wednesday was created by Jill over at Breaking The Spine. It's a weekly post for you to share what upcoming books you can't wait for!

What am I waiting For????????
hmmm; lets SEE.

















Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.
Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
Grab your current read
Open to a random page.
Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
 (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.

 
My Teaser:
"No touching!" The merchant coiled the whip back under his arm, but Kenan had no doubt that it would flick out again at any transgression.
"How much?" he asked.
The merchant studied him, calculating a price.
"she's going to waste away soon anyway," Kenan said. "She clearly hasn't the will to live on in that cage."


DEMON'S FALL
BY KARALYNN LEE
releases: October 25, 2010
I'm reading the Kindle Edition, via NetGalley

Friday, October 15, 2010

Ciara - Speechless

Ok, I have to take a second to let you hear my NEW FAV SONG!!!
Besides a book-a-holic, I am also a music-a-holic!
;-)



Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop
Blog Hop Friday is hosted by Crazy For Books.

This week's hopping ? issssss;

"When you read a book that you just can't get into, do you stick it out and keep reading or move to your next title?"

Answer:
OK, I TRY to read it. Because some books start out slow then turn out to be really good books. BUT then there are some books that I just don't feel.. I cant get into, and if I am atleast 1/2 way through the book and I still am not "feeling" it. Feeling connected to the book, rather it be the topic, or how it's written.. or even the characters, I have to set it aside! I try to read reviews on books before I read them, OR ask friends.. etc! But, sometimes this does happen. And I do feel guilty.. like I just didn't give it my all.. BUT i'd rather read something I will enjoy other than something I just.. can't at all. This hasn't happened often. But, I have read some dud's.


In My Mailbox!


In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.

Well, I've been on a BOOK BUYING BAN! That was until I got my new Kindle.... & I seen how much the books were.... SOME free, SOME 99 cents, etc... & my ban broke for a short day! :)
So, all the books I have received are Ebooks. But, I LOVE them!! :)

So, what did I get you ask?!
Let's see;

OK FOR REVIEW FROM netGalley;

Butterflies In May By Karen Hart

ebook (kindle)

The Cellar By A.J Whitten

ebook (kindle)

&
 Haint Misbehavin' By Maureen Hardegree

ebook (kindle)

_________________________________________________

Bought/Trade:

Mockingjay By Suzanne Collins

ebook (kindle)
______________________________________________

Actual Book ;)...

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy


I have had this book for about 3 weeks... and IT TOOK ME 2 WEEKS TO READ IT! ;-)

SO, what did you get this week?!




Saturday, October 2, 2010

Texas! Lucky by Sandra Brown Review

Paperback: 336 pages


Publisher: Bantam (January 1, 1991)


Language: English


ISBN-10: 0553289519

ISBN-13: 978-0553289510

MATURE RATING! : ADULT



Lucky Tyler attracted trouble—and women—like a lightning rod. But the night he stepped in to rescue a mysterious redhead in a seedy bar, he got more than he bargained for!

The lady excited him, challenged him, drove him wild with desire—then vanished without a trace. Lucky was desperate to find her, to brand her with his heat—and when the police were called in to investigate a suspicious fire at Tyler Drilling, his family business, he needed her for an alibi!
Torn between anguish and ecstasy, Devon Haines tried to refuse Lucky's pleas for help, but the reckless blue-eyed devil wouldn't take no as an answer from her... not when his touch could make her burn, could make her his.
Framed by old enemies, Lucky knew his only hope to clear himself rested on solving the crime, but Devon feared when his innocence was proved, she would lose the handsome cowboy who possessed her heart and soul Would the tragic vow that made their love forbidden cost her forever in his arms?


My Personal Thoughts:
This is a triliogy (texas!) that i have re-read over and over. I LOVE THESE 3 books. These are more mature. Not YA. More ADULT ;)
This is a story about love! and this is for sure a romance series! Lucky surely falls hard for his readhead. And she was in the bar getting much uneeded attention from the bar patrons.. and who to the rescue? oh you guessed it.. Mr. Lucky Tyler ! :)
Devon Haines was not pleased by this gesture. Infact she was pissed. She got in her car and took off. Lucky set out to find her and that he did, ending in one of Brown's famous "night scenes". Despite this pleasure Devon disappeared again. As it happened a fire broke out at Tyler Drilling at the same time Lucky and Devon were making the earth move. He needs an alibi and she needs to keep a secret.
 
5 of 5 stars.
 
 

Friday, October 1, 2010

Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop


The Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy-For-Books.com.

"How do you spread the word about your blog?"

mostly twitter!!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs