Thursday, September 30, 2010

THE winner


The winner of my giveaway! (give away #2. for Torment) Chosen from random.org issssssss:

Candace!!! @ Candace's Book Blog

Congrats!

The winner has been emailed and will have 48 hrs to respond with the information needed before a new winner will be selected! :)


DEAR BLOGGERS

I am so sorry, i have been MIA! I am trying to end this 6 weeks of school with a A GPA. and it's so hard with the kids, and family to take care of to write reviews every day! BUT, i love my fellow bloggers.. and I STILL am on here reading your reviews. I am about to post my past reviews i wrote up on here! and get caught up!!
Again, I'm sorry!!!


Saturday, September 18, 2010

BLOG HOP FRIDAY (on a saturday) ;)

Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy For Books Go & Sign up.

In honor of Book Blogger Appreciation Week, let's take time this week to honor our favorite book bloggers and why we love them!




I LOVE Reading Angel. Her blog is so much fun, and she has some really great giveaways & her reviews are so amazing. If you want to know how a book really is good or bad. ask her!! she will tell you the Truth! LOL. SHE knows her books! She was my 1st follower, and she helped me out alot w/getting my blog set up! She's awsome.. go check her out!!

The Story Siren is on i like too! The blog layout is beautiful, the review are always wonderful. Just a great great blog.

I love all the blogs that I follow !!! And I read your posts all the time! Thank you to all who follow me, and I really enjoy you!!!

Monday, September 13, 2010

IN MY MAILBOX



IMM was started at The Story Siren
The idea behind IMM was not only to put new books on your radar but to also encourage blogger interaction. IMM explores the weekly contents of my mailbox & books bought. And sometimes other fun goodies.
Anyone can participate in IMM and you are not limited to only sharing books that arrive via your mailbox. You can also share books that you've bought or books that you've gotten at the library.

This week I got ( the naughty list I got Last week but I didn't do a IMM):

BOUGHT:
The Naughty List By Suzanne Young- read my review HERE 5/5 stars

WON:
The Adoration of Jenna Fox By Mary E. Pearson
FIRELIGHT SWAG!
THANKS CANDACE!!

GIVEAWAY #2!!

*THIS IS NOW CLOSED*


TORMENT BY LAUREN KATE





summary from goodreads.
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for? In the aftermath of what happened at Sword & Cross, Luce has been hidden away by her cursed angelic boyfriend, Daniel, in a new school filled with Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans. Daniel promises she will be safe here, protected from those who would kill her. At the school Luce discovers what the Shadows that have followed her all her life mean - and how to manipulate them to see into her other lives. Yet the more Luce learns about herself, the more she realizes that the past is her only key to unlocking her future...and that Daniel hasn't told her everything. What if his version of the past isn't actually the way things happened...what if Luce was really meant to be with someone else?



This Giveaway will be a preorder. That comes out the 28th. When the winner responds to me, I will purchace it that day! This giveaway will be going, now-sep 29th! TORMENT: A FALLEN NOVEL by Lauren Kate!
Want this book?
Here's how to enter:
THIS GIVEAWAY ISN'T INTERNATIONAL!! SORRY, FOR U.S ONLY
MUST BE 13+ TO ENTER
SINCE I HAVE NOT MANY FRIENDS WE WILL STILL BE DOING THIS CONTEST THE SAME AS LAST. TO ENTER THIS CONTEST YOU WILL HAVE TO LEAVE A COMMENT ON THIS PAGE. IN COMMENT FORM.
THIS BOOK WILL BE RELEASED SEP 28TH. SO THE CONTEST WILL GO ON UNTIL 11:59 SEPTEMBER 28TH! CONTEST WINNER WILL BE CHOSEN AT RANDOM.ORG, AND WILL BE CONTACTED, HE/SHE WILL HAVE 48 HOURS TO RESOPOND BEFORE I CHOOSE A NEW WINNER.

  • LEAVE ME YOUR NAME  +1
  • LEAVE ME YOUR EMAIL +1
  • BE A FOLLOWER ON THE BLOG (NEW +2, OLD FOLLOWER +3)
  • FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER. (NEW +2, OLD FOLLOWER +3)
  • PIMP THIS CONTEST! (SIDEBAR, TWEET, FACEBOOK, MUST INCLUDE LINK IN YOUR POST.) +3 EACH LINK.
  • AND THEN, FOR WRITING ALL THAT AND POSTING YOUR LINKS GIVE YOUR SELF ONE MORE +1 FOR BEING SO AWSOME!!!
  • please add up your totals!
  • one entry per person!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
& YES, I DO CHECK YOUR LINKS, TO MAKE SURE THAT THINGS WERE REALLY POSTED!



This title will be released on September 28, 2010.

THE NAUGHTY LIST- REVIEW

Reading level: Young Adult

Paperback: 272 pages
Publisher: Razorbill (February 4, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1595142789
ISBN-13: 978-1595142788
Rating: 5 Stars




Summary from Goodreads:

As if being a purrfect cheerleader isn’t enough responsibility! Tessa Crimson’s the sweet and spunky leader of the SOS (Society of Smitten Kittens), a cheer squad–turned–spy society dedicated to bringing dastardly boyfriends to justice, one cheater at a time. Boyfriend-busting wouldn’t be so bad . . . except that so far, every suspect on the Naughty List has been proven 100% guilty! When Tessa’s own boyfriend shows up on the List, she turns her sleuthing skills on him. Is Aiden just as naughty as all the rest, or will Tessa’s sneaky ways end in catastrophe? The Naughty List. Is your boyfriend on it?


My Thoughts:
Very creative and imaginative plot. Imagine a group of cheerleaders being part-time secret spies to catch boys cheating on their girlfriends.  Just the idea of cheerleaders catch cheating boyfriends makes me laugh because, if you think about it, it's pretty ironic that cheerleaders are doing the catching.

The plot is definitely fast-paced and within a few chapters, you'll find yourself completely hooked by the hilarious antics the cheerleaders go through, the adoring relationship between Tessa and her boyfriend, Aiden, and just the sheer cuteness of the whole thing. I wasn't sure what I was expecting but whatever it was, this book definitely exceeded my expectations.
Tessa was a very lovable character. Her aversion to cursing was definitely ironic yet interesting and her random shouts of food was extremely funny.
Some of the other characters have a lasting impression as well. Even though the role they played might have been small, the impact to the plot is great.
I also enjoyed reading about some of the cases that SOS had received.
The Naughty List was a fun read and I would like to read the second book despite the weird cheerleader behaviors that are depicted here.

Sunday, September 5, 2010

The Eternal Ones- Review



Hardback: 411 pages
Publisher: Razor Bill (Aug, 10th 2010)
ISBN-10: 1595143084

ISBN-13: 978-1595143082
Language: English
Reading Level: Young Adult
Author: Kirsten Miller
Rating: 5 STARS! :)










The Eternal Ones By Kirsten Miller

Haven Moore has always lived in the tiny town of Snope City, Tennessee. But for as long ans she can remember, Haven has experienced visions of a past life as a girl names Constance, whose love for a boy called Ethan ended in a fiery tragedy.
   One day, the sight of a notorious playboy Iain Morrow on television brings Haven to her knees. Haven flees to New York City to find Iain and there, she is swept up in an epic love affair that feels both deeply fated ad terribly dangerous. Is Iain her believed Ethan? Or is he her murderer in a past life? Haven asks the members of the powerful and mysterious Ouroboros Society to help her unlock the mysteries of reincarnation and discover her secrets hidden in her past lived, and loves, before all is lost and the cycle begins. But what is the Ouroboros Society? And how can Haven know who to trust?



________________________________________

My Thoughts/Review:

I absolutely loved this book. From page 1 to page 411. This book is on my top list for the year!!!
Here you have Haven Moore. A 17 year old girl who lives in this small town. Snope City. Haven has this "gift".
When one day she sees a boy on television. The famous Iain Morrow. She calls out Ethan. And faints... That's when the visions start again. Haven has a past life. She has had many. "Constance" and "Ethan" were lovers, who keep coming back for each other.
She travels, and finds Iain. There love is instant. She can't resist him. As, he can't her. Although it's had for her to trust Iain. He told some small lies when they were in Rome. And she thinks that he is responsible for some serious crimes that he has been accused of actually doing. Haven don't know WHO to trust. She don't know which way to turn. So she goes to visit the Ourborous Society. They give her information that. Every one is out to get Haven.
So many things went on in this book, This book was so amazingly fantastic. The love, THE LOVE is what keeps you flipping the pages. I could feel what Haven was feeling. And her hope to find someone that she could trust. And wanting to trust the man that she loved. This is an amazing book, with a bunch of twists, and full of love, and hope, and faith. This book keeps you glued until your at the very last page!

This book so really be on your TBR list. Near the top for sure!! :)



"So how does it work?"
Haven asked. "How do people find each other again?"
"All I know is the we're drawn to the people we've loved before."
"And do we find each other in every life?"
The sorrow on Iain's face gave her the sense of how little she knew.
"I look for you in every life, but I don't always find you. And sometimes I find you too late."

Friday, September 3, 2010

The Time Traveler's Wife- Review


Paperback- 536 Pages
Publisher- Harcourt
ISBN- 978-0-15-602943-8
Received: My Dad bought for me.
Genre: Fiction
Rating: 4 Roses.















The Time Traveler's Wife By Audrey Niffenegger

A most untraditional love story, this is the celebrated tale of Henry DeTamble, a dashing, adventuresome librarian who involuntarily travels through time. Clare Abshire, an artist whose life takes a natural sequential course. Henry and Clare's passionate affair endures across a sea of time and captures them in a impossibly romantic trap that tests the strength of ate and basks in the bond of love.

My thoughts:

I loved this book. As well as the movie. This book has been on my self a while. I kept wanting to read it. Until last week I decided to dig into it to get my TBR list down a little. I am working from the top down now.
This book is so romantic. I mean you have this girl Clare who meets Henry when she was 6 years old & he was 43 in the meadow.
    Clare20-year-old art student. He's a 28-year-old librarian. Clare is overjoyed to see Henry – she tells him she has known him since she was 6. Clare reveals to him that she knows about his time travel disorder and that they met for the first time when she was 6 years old and he was 43. She shows him a diary that holds all dates for his visits. & that he told her to act "normal" on there 1st visit... which of course she kinda doesn't BUT, who would.. come on!! :)
They start a relationship.
      Clare brings Henry to meet her family for Christmas. Shortly after, Henry proposes to Clare. Both families give their blessings to their marriage. During the wedding ceremony, Clare exchanges vows with an older version of Henry, because present Henry has time traveled.Faced with Henry's frequent absences, Clare starts to wish for a baby, so that a part of Henry will stay with her when he's gone. They experiences six miscarriages, because Henry's condition appears to be hereditary, causing the babies to time travel and Clare's body to abort them. The miscarriages put a strain on Henry and Clare's relationship.
     The story does end sadly. very sadly. I loved this book. It does bounce around, you have to keep up... because he will travel all of a sudden and it talks about another topic. But, I loved it. It's a part of the book, seeing as how he is a "time traveler".

READ IT, OR ADD IT TO YOUR TBR LIST!! :))


Pride & Prejudice- Review




Paperback: 334 Pages
Publisher: Bantam Classic Edition 1981, Reissue in 2003
[the 1st published book was in 1913]
ISBN: 0-553-21310-5
Rating: NR- No rating. (didn't finish)

Pride & Prejudice-

My thoughts:
OK, now I really hate to give this book a NR.. But, I will explain why I had to do that. I loved THE MOVIE. loved it. so like another book that's been made into a movie I thought that I would get the book.. Mistake. FOR ME, I have enough time trying to figure out what the heck there saying, and not enough time enjoying it. If it takes you 15 min. to read one page... then, no! I love the idea of the book. This is a classic yes. But, again I veered off my Genre and i wasn't happy. That's the only reason I didn't finish it. I love to read. And I really want to enjoy my reading time that I have. And my mom was like you have to read it. It was my grandmother's Fav. book. Well, that makes sense. It's not mine. and I think that I am going to stick to YA, for now on.... Because, "I know little of the game, at present, But I shall be glad to improve myself - for in my situation of life." To me, that was a mix up of words thrown together. ;) well, I wanted to post my feelings. I will watch the movie later. I LOVE IT, AND RECOMMEND THE MOVIE :))))


Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop


              Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy For Books Go & Sign up.

This weeks question is:
Do you judge a book by its cover?

Well, the cover sometimes influences me to purchace it. But i have bought some books with beautiful covers, and the story not been the greatest. SO, now I read reviews before I buy, or ask my friends, fellow bloggers & twitters, if they have read it. Because, you never know what lies between the pages, of that Beautiful cover! :) I bought Halo, because the cover was absoutly breath taking. I haven't read the book yet. But i hope its good :)

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Waiting_On_Wednesday

Waiting On Wednesday was created by Jill over at Breaking The Spine. It's a weekly post for you to share what upcoming books you can't wait for!


 
 
 
  ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS
 
  PREORDER IT HERE
 
 
 
 
  
 



TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


My Teaser is going to be on The Eternal Ones. Because I am starting another book later. This is one I think everyone should read!! I loved This book. Check out my review HERE! :)



                                                     *    *    *            
She was in the familar room again. The flames were getting closer, and she could smell her hair beginning to singe. She crashed through the room, knocking over fruniture, searching through the smoke. She caught a glimpse of movement out of the corner of her eye. It took her a second to reconize the blonde girl with the soot-covered face as her own reflection in the vanity mirrior.
The Eternal Ones, By Kirsten Miller

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs