Saturday, August 28, 2010

WINNER OF MY 1ST GIVEAWAY!



I would like to thank all of the people who entered my blog giveaway! My very 1st one! I will have another when i hit 100, and i will have 2 winners on that one!
But, now for the winner!

 Bailey H
Twitter- @angelgirl122193

I will be sending you an e-mail with additional information.
Please get back to me as soon as you can!
Thanks, & Congrats!!! :)



Friday, August 27, 2010

Blog Hop Friday

Book Blogger Hop

Blog hop friday is hosted by Crazy For Books.


This week's Question is:
Do you use a rating system for your reviews and if so, what is it and why?

 
Yes I do. I use from 5 very good. all the way to 1 Not good! I think it helps the ppl who look at your review know how much you really liked the book, and it will help them decide if they want to read it or not.
 
 

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

The Demon's Lexicon Review.


HARDBACK: 322 Pages
PUBLISHER: McElderry BooksISBN: 978-1-4169-6379-0 [hardcover]
RECEIVED BY: Purchased myself.RATING: 4 Stars











Summary:

Sixteen-Year old Nick and his family have battled magicians and demons for most of his life, but when his brother, Alan, is marked for death while helping new friends Jamie and Mae, Nick's determination to save Alan leads him to uncover a devastating secret.

My thoughts:

The book was told from Nick’s perspective, using third person limited narration.. The supporting characters, from the people at the Goblin’s Market, the gang Nick hung out with at school and the Magicians.They were all well, drawn. I think that they will be in the next book, as there was allot of care for these characters.

This book was good. I will have to look into getting the 2nd book. Although i will have to read this one again i feel before i read the next. I think this is maybe a 2 read book, to actually suck it all in... This is one of those books that will probably get better after reading it a couple times.. I don't know if that's good or bad. BUT i liked it. I don't know how to explain that part. Like you knew something was going to happen. As it was leading up to something. I had to go back and reread a couple scenes to make sure. LOL, I think that may have been the 4 rating.. Although i loved this book. Was very good. Just may have to read again to soak up every little detail, :)


Tuesday, August 24, 2010

TEASER TUESDAY

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read


  • Open to a random page


  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser:

"I can be a sensitive intellectual type as well," he said at length. "If the other option is drowning under your sink."
"Save us all from a watery grave or cook your own dinner. It's entirely up to you."

The Demon's Lexicon by; Rees Brennan (chapter 1, page 1)









THE DEATHDAY LETTER BY SHAUN DAVID HUTCHINSON REVIEW





PAPERBACK: 240  Pages
PUBLISHER: SIMON PULSE, 2010
ISBN: 978-1-4169-9608-8[pbk.]
ISBN: 978-1-4169-9671-2[e-book]
Received From: Purchased Myself.
RATING: 4 Roses


The Clock Is Ticking...
Ollie can't be bothered to care about anything but girls, until he gets his Deathday Letter and learns he's going to die in twenty-four hours. Bummer

Ollie does what he does best: nothing. Then his best friend convinces him to live a little, and go after Ronnie, the girl who recently trampled his about-to-expire heart. Ollie turns to carloads of pudding and over-the-top declarations, but even playing the death card doesn't work. All he wants is to set things right with the girl of his dreams. It's now, or NEVER....


My Thoughts.
This was a good book. I mean at the very beginning the author lets you know, that Ollie is going to die. There is no miricale or magic to keep him alive. He IS GOING to die. And he does, it's so very sad yes. I am glad that he got to get things right. With everyone. Before he died. BUT, I want to know what the heck's up with this Deathday Letter thing. Where's it comming from? & why are people recieving letters? IDK, but, that would be crazy to recieve one of thoes in the mail. What if you don't check your mail that day? Wow, hopefully its marked as "urgent mail" and deliverd right to the door.
Ollie is your "typical" 15 year old... and theres really one thing on the boys mind.... Yeah, you know. But, With in his 24 hr journey he realizes somethings. That maybe everything isn't always about him. Even though this is his "day". Sometimes it's about how other people feel. & ollie realizes this, and fixes things with Ronnie. This book was good, fast read. Something to read, I enjoyed it while i was reading.

   

Sunday, August 22, 2010

IN MY MAILBOX



In My Mailbox is hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren and is where we get together to talk about all the books we got through the week.



This week was a pretty good book week.


SOOOO. I Got;

From a Friend;

The Vampire Diaries: The Fury and Dark Reunion by L. J. Smith


The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening and The Struggle by L. J. Smith

**I got Vampire Diaries from Reading Angel :) [thank you]**

The Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares


 BookMooch;

Honeymoon By James Patterson


Diablo:Legacy of blood (book 1) by Richard A. Knaak<-- For my Husband ;)


The Hobbit by J. K. K. Tolkien


The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks :)

Bought;



Graceling By Kristin Cashore


The Demon's Lecixon by Sarah Rees Brennan


The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson




Friday, August 20, 2010

TELL ME A SECRET BY HOLLY CUPALA REVIEW

Hardcover: 292 Pages
Publisher: Harper Teen
ISBN: 978-0-06-176666-4 (trade bdg.)
Released: 2010
Received From: Purchased myself.
Rating: 5 Roses



TELL ME A SECRET BY HOLLY CUPALA

After two perilous minutes, I peered at the little window. One pinkish-purple line was strong. I looked closer for a second line-- so faint it seemed ti shadow the first. I read the direction again, to be sure. "Lines may not be the same strength of color," it taunted. "Over 99% accurate," proclaimed the bold letters. And as I watched, the line darkened to a grim pink. My stomach was the first to respond.
__________________________________________________________________

In the five years since her bad-girl sister Xanda's death, Miranda Mathison has wondered about the secret her sister took to the grave, and what really happened the night she died. Now, just as Miranda is on the cusp of her dream-a best friend to  unlock her sister's world, a ticket to art school, and a boyfriend to fly her away from it all--Miranda has a secret all her own.
When the two lines on a pregnancy test confirm her worst fears, Miranda is stripped of her former life. She must make a choice with tremendous consequences and finally face her sister's demons and her own.


My Thoughts
This is a great story. The material that this story deals with is moving. I felt allot while reading this book. And I can relate as a teen mom myself. Although i didn't have to deal with all the things as bad as Rand, man this book was heart touching. & left a place in my heart. I cried. Not just shed a tear, i cried. You have a scared teenager, Rand, who though she was in a relationship. Of course 1 out of 10 times it doesn't happen. She gets in with the wrong crowd! And her life changes forever. Not to mention while she is dealing with this, she is also dealing with her sisters death, that leaves so many UNANSWERED questions. But in the changes that come, Rand finds herself. And the love, she's always longed for!! Great tale. Great story line. Fast-paced. The writing was smooth, you could keep up, and understand what was going on. Holly Cupala hit it head on when she wrote this book. & I am honored to have read it. I will forever remember this story.


BLOG HOP FRIDAY!

Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy For Books Go & Sign up.

This week's question comes from Libraryscatbooks.

HOW MANY BLOGS DO YOU FOLLOW?

So far i follow 26 Blogs! And I love everyone of them! :)

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Waiting On Wednesday!




Although it's Technically Thursday, I'm going to go ahead and do this since its only 12:04am! But, this is my very first waiting on Wednesday! yay!!

Waiting On Wednesday was created by Jill over at Breaking The Spine. It's a weekly post for you to share what upcoming books you can't wait for!








Sooo here's what I'm waiting for:

Halo By Alexandra Adornetto
Pre-Order your Copy Here
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
MOCKINGJAY (the finial book in the HUNGER GAMES series)
By Suzanne Collins.
Pre-Order Your copy here
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Review

Paperback: 374 Pages
Publisher: Scholastic, Scholastic Press
ISBN 13: 978-0-439-02352-8
ISBN 10: 0-439-02352-1
Received From: I purchased myself.
Rating: 5 Stars

The Hunger Games By Suzanne Collins
WINNING MEANS FAME AND FORTUNE.
LOSING MEANS CERTAIN DEATH.
THE HUNGER GAMES HAVE BEGUN....

IN THE RUINS of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all the send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.
Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to the her sister's place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to death before--and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

__________________________________________________________________

My Thoughts:
This book is amazing. Absolutely incredible!!! 1st you have this world. that once was North America!!!! And the controlling people in the Capitol. You have to fight for your life. Rather is killing your food, or trading things for better. Sometimes even that isn't available. I couldn't imagine.
Then you have the "Hunger Games"! What kind of crap is that? You have a game, a real-life game that you add humans in and sit at home, and watch them.... FIGHT FOR THERE LIVES... Killing, hunting, trying to survive through hunger, dehydration, and the fact that there in a GAME. Last one alive wins.. I mean wow. This girl Katniss volunteers herself. Taking her sisters spot. What a brave, girl she is. & she is a figther, that's for sure. Then she's up against from her district Peeta.
I mean i don't want to sit here and give away a bunch of spoilers. For those who haven't read it. BUT that's so hard for this book. Because its so amazing i just want to type all the pages up for you to read. NO, not really :)
But, in this book there's love. hate. anger. all that. every emotion you can think of you read about in this book. and you feel as well.
So, who does she choose??? Peeta the one she's "forced" to pretend to love, but the boy who says he's loved her since she was 5. Or does she love Gale. Then boy whom she hunts with, and spent many countless days talking, and getting food for there families...
Well, I DON'T KNOW.... The book is made that way.. so that you will run out to the store at 1am with you tattered pj's and flip flops on and buy Catching Fire!!!!
Bottom line..
IF YOU HAVEN'T READ HUNGER GAMES. YOU NEED TO.

My husband caught me in some sort of Hunger games trance.:)


Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Teaser Tuesday



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.

Anyone can play along! Do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)


Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers.


My Teaser:
 
I hate Effie Trinket's comment so much I make a point of eating the rest of my meal with my fingers. Then I wipe my hands on the tablecloth. This makes her purse her lips together.
 
The Hunger Games Pg 45
 
 
 
 
PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either a link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your two 'teasers' in a comment here (if you don't have a blog). Thanks and Happy Reading!!!


 
 

Monday, August 16, 2010

FROSTBITE BY RICHELLE MEAD REVIEW


PAPERBACK: 327 PAGES
PUBLISHER: PENGUIN GROUP
ISBN: 978-1-59514-175-0
RECEIVED FROM: MY DAD, AS A GIFT.


WHEN LOVE AND JEALOUSY COLLIDE ON THE SLOPES, WINTER BREAK TURNS DEADLY.....

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harassing the earth's magic. She must be protected at all times form Strigoi; the fiercest vampires-- the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa's best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigo, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

Rose has serious guy trouble. Her gorgeous tutor, Dimitri, had his eye on someone else, her friend Mason has a huge crush on her, and she keeps getting stuck in her best friend Lissa's head while she's making out with her boyfriend, Christian.

Then a nearby Strigo attack puts St. Vladimir's on high alert, and the Academy whisks its students away on a mandatory holiday ski trip. But the glittering winter landscape and posh Idaho resort only provide the illusion of safety. When three students run away to strike back against the Strigo, Rose must join forces with Christian to rescue them. Only this time, Rose--and her heart--are in more danger than she ever could have imagined...

http://www.vampireacademybooks.com/


                                           5 STARS


My Review:
OMG---really if that was all I could get away with putting; I would. This books was so good! This book had me going through so many emotions as i read it. First you have Rose. poor Rose. Who is madly in love with Dimitri. And Dimitri who, is TRYING to do the "right" thing... and in the process is being a major butt head. He loves her. You can tell. Then the explanation to the Badica attack; that was horrible. The torture they endured.
Then you have these 3 idiots, :( who run off trying to off the strigoi. What the heck. In result of the Mason dies. DIES.. I shed a tear or 2 in that chapter. OK, I CRIED! then you have Rose, and that moment she bonded with her mom. Something she has always wanted! They had there moment! Then, MY FAV PART, the LAST chapter...... "Roza" I can hear Dimitri saying that. Finally, Finally.. they are together! :)
I can't wait to read the rest of these books. I am hooked!

OH, yeah and Adrian, he was freaking me out. Cool to find out that he wasn't a psychopath, and was just curious about Lissa's "spirit" powers!  :)

Sunday, August 15, 2010

IN MY MAILBOX!


In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by the STORY SIREN where we get to see what great books eveyone got in for the week.




OK, I've looked at allot of blogs. And I see that IMM actually means what comes in your mailbox. so my 1st IMM was a little off, it was of what I bought, but hadn't actually ARRIVED YET!... oops :) OK, so this next one is going to be on ACTUAL things I have gotten, bought, or won! :) So, Take 2! :)


I bought all these! Hopefully I will win some soon! :)
I got;
Tell Me A Secret by Holly Cupala
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Infinite Days by Rebecca Maizel
The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

Friday, August 13, 2010

GIVEAWAY!!!

THIS CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED

I am very excited to have my very 1st giveaway!!!
I am at 20 Followers! I Thank you all for taking the
time to read my reviews; and leave me comments!
So, here we go;

I am going to be giving away "If I Stay" By Gayle Forman.


On a day that started like any other…
Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the one decision she has left—the most important decision she’ll ever make.
Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.


I will also be giving away WINNERS CHOICE of either EDWARD, OR JACOB bookmark! (only one)!





This Giveaway will be U.S ONLY!
You must be 13 OR OLDER TO ENTER.

Since I am new, and i have so few followers you can post
your entries in Comment Form.

Please include:
_______________________

Your Name (+1)
Your Email Address (+1)
And FOR extra.

+2 for following me on here!
+2 for following me on twitter. (leave twitter name)
+1 For each place you *PIMP* this contest. (YOU MUST LEAVE A LINK FOR EACH PIMPIN U DO)

Include the Extras in your comment as well.
Make sure to look over your comment before you post to make sure you have everything.

Add up your extras for me! :)

THIS GIVEAWAY WILL BE OPEN TILL AUGUST 27th, 2010 11:59AM (any posts made after 12 wont count, sorry). WILL POST THE WINNER AUGUST 28th, 2010

WINNER WILL BE CHOSEN AT RANDOM FROM random.org

GOOD LUCK!!

My Discovery!

Ok, not to mention I've had this book forever. It was my great grandmother, she gave it to me one day and its been on my shelf ever since. I was looking in it. It's old & very fragile. If you turn the pages it can tear. the paper feels like so soft. SO i'm looking and on it is stamped 1909. WOW, thats when the book was stamped. For the library it came from.I called her and asked her where she got it from and she said it was her's from school. She's in her 90's.. 97 to be exact. So, its older than her.  The book doesnt even have like a page to tell the date it was released. Or the ISBN: #.
The Book is threaded together!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Like string! LOL. Here are some pictures that i've taken today! It has The old Kids stories in it. Really really interesting!





Thanks For Viewing

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead REVIEW

VAMPIRE ACADEMY BY RICHELLE MEAD
PAPERBACK: 332 Pages
PUBLISHER: Penguin Group (2007)
AUTHOR: RICHELLE MEAD
SERIES: VAMPIRE ACADEMY(BOOK 1)
ISBN: 978-1-59514-174-3
RECIEVED FROM: MY Dad :)
4 Stars, :)


Only A True Best Friend Can Protect You From You Immortal Enemies...

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi Princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth's magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires-- the ones who never die. The powerful blend of humans and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa's best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to the dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After 2 years of freedom, Rose & Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir's Academy, a school for vampire royalty and there guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger....and the Strigoi are always close by.

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, and confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let there guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever...

MY REVIEW:
So, the beginning of this book was just a tad slow. Now, i say JUST A TAD. about 20 some pages worth of information. WHICH, I must say I am grateful for. Because it helps you understand the people in the book. Who they are; What they do; Why they are that way! Which is something that is great! This books gives you all that. The writing is great. Easy to read. Although I am sitting around trying to figure out how to Pronounce Moroi, and Strigoi.. etc, Other then that.. LOL, I loved this book. IT had it action, it's love.
Rose is a kick ass best friend. WHO doesn't want that? The bond that she has with Lissa is so wonderful. The loyalty that she has for her, and the drive she has in protecting her. And never wanting her to feel pain, or discomfort.
NOW, i don't know about you. But i wanted to slap miss MIA allot... ALLOT. she's just one of those annoying girls you had to listen to in High school. UGH.
Now, on Rose & Dimitri, AWWWW, Man, i hope that they end up getting together. When i picture him when I'm reading it's this hot hot hot man with his dark hair and taught body, ha ha! And at the end it started to get steamy a bit. I don't think that you could have ripped the book out of my had at the moment! I was glued!
All in all, this book was good. Good way to start a series. It can only get better from here! I LOVED IT!!!

Blog Hop Friday


Book Blogger Hop
Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy For Books Go & Sign up.

This weeks question is:



How many books do you have on your 'to be read shelf’?

I have 123 books on my TBR list. And i am happy to day I just finshed one. SOOOOO, 122 :) Nexttttttttttt; LOL

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Teaser Tuesday



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 
My Teaser:
 
"You smell good, you know" he suddenly said.
I stopped walking again and gave him a puzzled look, which only made his sly smile grow a little bigger.
"I..um, what?"
"You smell good." he repeated.
"Are you joking? I've been sweating all day, I'm discusting."
 
FrostBite, Richelle Mead pg 135/136!
 
 

Sunday, August 8, 2010

The Boys Next Door By Jennifer Echols

ISBN-13: 9781416918318 (2n1 book, with Endless Summer)


CUTE, AVAILABLE, AND ONE CABIN OVER...
Lori lives for summertime at her family's lake house. She spends all season wakeboarding, swimming, and hanging with her friends--including the two hotties in the cabin next door. With the Vader brothers, Lori's always been one of the guys.
But while Lori and the "baby" brother, Adam, are inseparable friends, she can't deny a secret crush on Sean, the older Vader boy. This year Sean's been paying Lori a lot of attention, and not in a brotherly way.
But just as Lori decides to prove to Sean she's girlfriend material, she realizes that her role as girl friend to Adam may be even more important. And by trying so hard for the perfect summer romance, she could be going way overboard...



                                               
                                        
                                                  5 Stars!
MY THOUGHTS:

THIS BOOK IS HOT You will possiably do some drooling when reading this book :)
Jenn Echols the author has the talent of getting you into a story! And hoping for a sequel. WHICH THANK YOU THAT I HAVE THE 2in1 book!!!!!!!
Adam, a 16-year-old wakeboarding friend with a golden tan and ripped biceps with the power to make you forget your own name.


This book has more going for it then the boys. The main character Lori, the girl who lives next door to the Vader brothers, She's a tomboy girl.
The Boys Next Door is an absolute must-read for fans of YA, romance or just a downright addictive story. The book that I have includes both stories, so I am ready to read the next part of this good book. IF you haven’t read it. READ IT. :))

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs